Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Friendly and helpful staffs

Posted May 27, 2017
A short walk from the Amsterdam Central Station. A cosy hotel at a quiet part of the canals. Staffs are friendly and helpful. But there are steep staircases to the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, England

Nice hotel overlooking lovely Canal

Posted May 10, 2017
Great hotel, lovely quiet location. Hotel staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good location in quieter part of canal district.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Location, size, friendliness and quirkiness. Comfortable beds and pillows.
Cons: Maybe a small lift but probably not possible.
Location: Located in quieter part of canal district. Plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars, shops, and attractions within walking distance, and central station.
Found the Max Brown Hotel to be quite well located, not too far way from Central Station. Small and friendly with lots of interesting quirky decor. Welcoming, helpful staff, comfortable room with usual facilities, and quiet. The steep stairs up 3 floors could be a problem for some people but manageable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg MB Canada

Great location for walking around Amsterdam.

Posted May 1, 2017
Friendly, competent staff welcomed us with an early check in and a breakfast we weren't expecting. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. Breakfast was hearty and included a good selection of cheese, cold cuts and breads. The room was small but that was what we expected. We had everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Fantastic place to stay !

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Perfect location
We were made to feel at home the minute we arrived. The staff were so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Superior Deluxe Room with fantastic canal views

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great location - 5 mins walk from Central station. On beautiful Jordaan district. Wonderfully attentive welcoming staff. Would definitely return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
It was a bit quirky not good dining facility for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Amazing hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Just returned from Amsterdam after 3 nights staying at Max Browns. Bed is the most comfortable I've ever slept in, friendliest staff and so welcoming. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woking, UK

Nice hotel on one of the canals

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Arrived early but were able to leave our luggage in the hotel. Very welcoming staff. Breakfast was good and you can have as much as you like. Room was small but clean. We'd definitely go back there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location Staff very helpful with helping with directions, etc. Did provide limited breakfast
Cons: Reassessment of room furniture and providing more user friendly space Replace mattresss
Location: Situated on one of the canals, picturesque neighborhood Easy access to all tours
Within 10 min walk to Central Station, 15 min to Red Light district and a little longer to Anne Frank house Staff exceptionally helpful but broken light in our room unrepaired and shower soap container never filled despite requests Room clean with quirky decor but extremely small with 1 chair, bed and wall mounted shelf but only 1 luggage rack and no other means of holding 2nd suitcase. Barthroom also small with free standing sink and no shelving for items except "medicine" closet. Also too soft, lumpy mattresss. Would recommend with provisions