Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I was at a conference at VU.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Friendly staff - very agreeable accomodation! Breakfast was exceptional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

happy out

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
my first time there had a brilliant time will re book agaain
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quaint getaway

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. Very convenient to travel around the city as local transportation was right outside the door. Beautiful views. Our only issue was the steep steps with no lift. But after a few days it was a non issue. Also, the shared shower and bathroom were always clean and not crowded which I was worried about.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect if you're done w/hostels but aren't a wimp

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
I dug this place. Too clean and quiet to be a hostel, but a nice compromise, and Dutch personality. Yes the room was tiny, but you're in Europe. And yes there were 79 steps from the street to the room, but you pay for a gym membership for that back home (and no one made you bring that much stuff). And yes the shower was tiny but if you complain that much, travel might not be for you. The guys who run the place were very nice, the breakfast was above average, and the location was incredible, right there on Museumplain and the tram/bus line for easy access to/from the airport and city. I would/will stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Convenient location.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Very convenient location. Because the hotel was used to be an old Dutch house, the bathrooms and restrooms are very small. Breakfast was very good and staff are helpful. The man in the front desk helped me with my suitcase. Will stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Can't beat the location. Room was simple but comfortable. So convenient to museums and tram 5 that can take you either to the central or south train stations
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Aberdeen

Awesome Hotel 5*

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing location of hotel, in a really nice district, lots of local shops and things to do, so quite and peaceful
4 out of 5
by Martta Elina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Birmingham, UK

Lovely (if you're prepared for stairs!)

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
I was there for 3 nights/4 days, and had an exceptional time. The provided breakfast is nice but not great for those with any dietary requirements (1 of our group was vegetarian and the other was vegan, and the breakfast consists of toast, a boiled egg, cheese, and ham). The room was clean and though the bathrooms and showers are shared they're clean and there are never queues. The hotel is directly across the road from the famous "I Amsterdam" sign and a five minutes walk from a lovely Irish bar, the club Paradiso, a sports bar, several food places, and two museums (particularly the Van Gogh Museum which is just across the park from you and absolutely lovely!). You can get the 5 or 2 teams from Centraal Station to Museumzicht which run really frequently. My only criticism of the hostel is that there is an extremely steep staircase leading up to the front door, and then from the front door to reception, and they are not only steep but also extremely high. If you're okay with walking up loads of stairs (including with your suitcase!) you'll be fine. You can also store your bags in reception for free and they don't mind. No curfew and they have coffee facilities to make yourself some until 6pm which is nice! It's really lovely, honestly check it out!
1 out of 5
by Aleksandras from U.K.

Go and find better one than this.

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
For the price i've paid, this hotel should be much better. Double room without double bed, tv and any table, small and smelly. Breakfast - well that's just toasts with jam and tea. Not worth to pay this money. Not recommend for any one.