Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Excellent value in the center of Amsterdam

Posted Jan 7, 2017
The hotel has a super location near many restaurants and attractions. The hotel faces a plaza that can be loud at night, but we were asked when we checked in if we preferred a room facing the back and decided we preferred the view from the front. The hotel thoughtfully provided earplugs so we slept very well. We will return to this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel and location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We have now gone back to the same spot 3 different Holidays. We stay for most of the time 11 days. Every time we go back it gets better, fresh water durning the days, perfect breakfast to start your day! Staff couldn't be nicer! Lots of shopping and restaurants you can walk to most places or bike it. From the main station it's 2.90 Eros on the 4 or 9 trolley ride. 15 min ride drops you right in front of the square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great Amsterdam location

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Central to everything,rooms clean and the staff are very friendly,can't comment on the food as we ate out....definitely would return to this hotel in a heartbeat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 powdered milk available for whole weekend.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location (apart from noise
Cons: More milk
Location: Close to all museums and tourist attractions
Very dated - dirty carpet - old fashioned shower that was hard to regulate and husband burnt himself! 2 powdered milks were provided for full weekend. Woke up by noise in Rembrant square and realised why the earplugs were provided at the side of bed - the staff forgot to mention this on check in! The bar (which is very nice) is closed Monday to Friday for a TV show.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from united kingdon

Very expensive for what it was!!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Extremely central in Rembrandt Square, very very noisy and vibrant. Hence the earplugs provided either side of bed by hotel.
Extremely expensive, more than a better class hotel in london, no breakfast included for over €200 per night. Loo got blocked and when it was fixed, no one came to clean it whilst we were out. Stains on the carpet and bad lighting in the room, bathrooms, although Art Deco in some parts could do with a repaint. Main areas were clean and staff seemed pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Great location as only half an hours walk to any of the attractions we wanted to visit i.e. Canal cruise, museum square, Ann frank etc. Lots of good
Room was perfect for what we wanted. Was traveling with a friend so wanted two single beds. Room on the small side but very clean and bathroom a decent size. As a city break all we wanted was a base as out most of the time. It's a noisy area as lots of restaurants and bars but we knew this before we went so took ear plugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Clean and well kept. Breakfast was good.
Location: Great location. lots of restaurants, bars & transportation (tram stop) across the street. lots of energy and people having a good time.
After taking the train from Schipol Airport to central station, we walked to are hotel. It's an ideal 20-25 minute walk (with no luggage) which gave us an immediate taste of Amsterdam. We passed right thru the heart of the city to the Shiller Hotel. It was great seeing the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Very central. Easy to walk to sights, museums, canals etc. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby.
Cons: A little old fashion - needs modernisation particularly the lifts
Location: Many tourist sights and shopping streets nearby.
A good choice for a short break, plenty to do and see.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and the towels were fresh.
Cons: Attitude of staff. Value for money, the superior room should been different from other standard rooms.
Location: Not a lot to do near by
We are in 2016!! Why does the TVs have inadequate channels. I feel for a superior room it was just normal. Was woken up to bathroom floor soaked ???? Reported to desk, their reply was, "you are leaving today" Could not believe the attitude. Coffee machine was rubbish.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like three stars

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Very average hotel - more like three stars not four