Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Utilitarian hotel in the suburbs

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The receptionists and bar personnel were lovely - felt really sorry for them as they were in the firing line of peoples' complaints
Cons: Make hotel/room decor more imaginative - add flowers, biscuits etc. Get the manager out of his office to answer complaints! UPGRADE HOUSEKEEPING
Location: Shops and transport local and absolutely wonderful. Cafes local and ok but nothing special. Centre of Amsterdam about 25 mins away
Very disappointed with our stay. In a country famed for its flowers, there were precious few to enliven a drab hotel interior. We had booked a twin bedded room. We were allocated 512 - a double-bedded room - in fact, twin beds with a single mattress that was like a trampoline! Also, the aircon was ineffective. Next morning, we asked for the matter to be resolved. This had not been done when we returned in the evening , neither had the crockery been washed nor teabags etc replenished. We asked for a change of room and for clean facilities. We were given the keycard to 511 - twin-bedded but smaller than the original room. When we went to collect our things from the original room, the keycard had been neutralised - so yet another journey to reception from the 5th floor. Next day, once again, crockery was left dirty and no replenishment of teabags etc. When we complained - gently and with kindness - the manager offered a cup of coffee by way of recompense! The hotel decor was tired and bland - very much in need of more than a little tlc - a picture or two in the room would have been of benefit - there are plenty of galleries from which to acquire inspiration! The expensive hotel shuttle could not guarantee when it would arrive at the airport - 'it depended on how many passengers there were to pick up'! This hotel is expensive but totally NOT value for money - AVOID IT. NB - a deposit required on registration in case you use the minibar - ridiculous as no check made!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
The room was incredibly cold and it was a nightmare to sleep there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
5 minute walk to tram/metro or bus stop outside the hotel door. A good 20/30 mins away from city centre but the trams/metros are every 5 mins or so. Buy a pass when you get there it will save you so much money and you can use it on trams/metro & buses. Definitely would stay here again, in a nice quiet part
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for rate

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: The only small critique is that the service in the lobby restaurant seemed very slow even when there were very few patrons.
Stayed for 5 nights. Very comfortable rooms, quiet, close to VU Amsterdam university where I was attending a conference. Can rent bicycles for easy transportation in area. A few restaurants close by - had a good meal at the El Panelazo Colombia family-style restaurant - but the location is a business area. Close access to trams and Uber is very convenient anyway. Staff were very good, friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was also very good - not sure of price as it was included in my room rate. As mentioned, the room rates were very reasonable for this quality of hotel. Would certainly recommend to business travelers and tourists who want to be in the area.
5 out of 5
by Michael from New England

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel for the price with easy access to Amsterdam center.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Marcel Wijnberger, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ madam, thank you very much for staying and thank you for your feed back. we all hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel Marcel Wijnberger Hotel director
1 out of 5
by AMGED from UAE

Very bad experience

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
Was so bad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice quiet comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Lovely clean big room, very comfortable beds. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Hotel in quiet location a short ride from the city centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by m.wijnberger, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ madam, thank you very much for staying and thank you for your feed back. we all hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel Marcel Wijnberger Hotel director
5 out of 5
by Neil

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
great staff, really good breakfast, good location, but no "close by" restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Marcel Wijnberger, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ madam, thank you very much for staying and thank you for your feed back. we all hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel Marcel Wijnberger Hotel director