Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Lots of competition in the area. Felt like I overpaid considering to see sites like dam square, old church, etc I had to bike or Uber ( or log many miles every day) The stairs were very steep here and I was on ground level. The noise level was just terrible. Sleep was a pipe dream on these rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WAKEY

Smart intimate hotel with canal view and charm

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Great staff. Clean modern room. Old world charm building in the heart of the Jordaan with canal view. Few minutes walk from Leidesplein and Rijksmuseum. Some road noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Very nice boutique hotel...very steep stairs...

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Location...modern decor...very clean...accomodating staff.
Cons: Rebuild steep stairs....they are similar to climbing a narrow ladder...dangerous to carry luggage. Replace bathroom doors with privacy doors.
Location: Great location.
Excellent location along a canal in Leidesplein...very modern and clean with gracious staff. Room was small with beautiful canal view. The building is a quaint old brownstone...only concern would be the very steep stairs which were difficult for us as seniors and with our luggage. The other concern is the transparent bathroom doors which gives no privacy.
3 out of 5
by Jill from Edinburgh

Adequate but not ideal for a romantic break

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our basement room was adueqate with a very comfortable bed. However, the ensuite had a glass door which wasn't ideal for a romantic stay. The WiFi was free although not always reliable. The rooms were very clean however there was mould on the bottom of some of the walls.
5 out of 5
by Johanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An "unforgettable" experience

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
First of all, there's no receptionists at the reception after 10pm (FYI for late-check-in). Therefore, we had to ring the bell at the door. Besides, we also found that they couldn't receive our request message (an extra bed) from Hotels.com. However, we did the same way for the previous hotels and the request box did work. Therefore, I suggest you to send them an email if you need to request anything. It is better to send them an email to avoid spending over an hour at the reception and paying extra for the room. Lastly, this hotel has a very narrow and steep stairs to access to all rooms, if you have large or heavy luggage, consider another hotel which has a lift. In case you are strong enough. P.S. the receptionist (night shift) is very strong and kind.
3 out of 5
by Jessica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit disappointing...

Posted Jun 14, 2016
NL hotel is a decent hotel in a good location in Amsterdam. Our room was in the basement, which meant climbing down their very narrow winding staircase with our large luggage. Our room was not in the best shape, although doable to just have a place to sleep for a few nights. One of the light fixtures didn't work, so the light bulb kept flashing which was very irritating. They tried to fix it to no avail, so they ended up just taking the light out. One of the floor moldings in the room was also coming off and a ceiling fixture in the bathroom was hanging loose, which left dust all over our towels hanging underneath. The front desk staff was quite friendly and accommodating, although the staff member that checked us out wasn't very friendly and seemed like he really did not enjoy his job. If you need an affordable place to stay for a few nights I'd say this place would do, but don't have very high expectations!
5 out of 5
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels