Ratings based on 2,168 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from England

A high-end hotel in the museum district

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: You can hire bikes and scooters directly from the hotel.
Cons: Breakfast was very expensive and the restaurant for us young tourists too pricey (though looked good).
Location: It was only two minutes from the Rikjsmusuem and five from the Van Gogh museum. There are trams nearby if you want to go further in town.
My partner and I booked this hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam and overall I am satisfied, however there are a few things that prevent me from screaming: BOOK NOW, BOOK NOW. On a positive note: the staff were excellent (very reflective of the Dutch people). They were polite, spoke excellent English and immensely helpful. For instance, on our final day I felt very unwell but they were more than happy to extend our stay for a few hours in order to let me rest before our flight ... for an additional 20 euros that is. And here in lies the (potential) problem. Amsterdam is not cheap. It is for this reason that I shall not be too harsh, but the hotel extras were expensive. If you're looking for somewhere cheap but clean, where you only intend to merely sleep and wash then this might be an unnecessary expense for you (it was for us). Breakfast for one (bearing in mind this consists of your typical continental buffet - no truffles) cost 18 euros EACH! There is a restaurant at the hotel (a high-end sushi restaurant) where we planned to relax a few hours away on a couple of nights, however one look at the price tag and we were running for the hot dog stand. The location however is excellent IF you're looking for fashion, shopping and museums. Two minutes from the Rijksmusuem and five from the Van Gogh museum if you looking for slightly less red-lighted culture and don't mind paying a little more then this is the hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Nice hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Great location, easy access to camels, trams and in a great area. The tram to central station is #1 or #5. The beds are incredibly amazing. I only have two criticisms, the lighting in the room was dark and the momo restaurant is far too expensive for breakfast. $50 euro for two people and it wasn't that great. We went across the street to the Aron pub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Park Hotel Amsterdam

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: Location was great. Close to everything we needed. Transportation, restaurants, museums.
Hotel was far better than I expected and was in a nice area. Close to transportation etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, Tennessee

Updated hotel, close to museums and a canal.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location and proximity to interests.
Cons: Front desk service, check in process, follow up.
Location: It's in the museum district, across from one of the canals & a casino. There are lots of restaurants close by.
We arrived at 8:30am on a Saturday and requested an early check-in (normal is 3pm). I was asked for my cell # and they stated they would call when a room was ready. We went for a walk and returned at 12:30pm. Since I had not heard anything, I checked at the front desk - no room ready yet. So we found a seat in the lobby and waited, and waited, and waited. I checked back again, still not ready. So we continued to wait. 3pm, still no room. So I inquired again at the front desk and was told they needed a credit card # before they could give us a room. Really?? I have been in the lobby for 2 1/2 hours and they had my cell #. I expressed my dissatisfaction at this point to both the front desk and the manager. The manager apologized and told me they would make it up to me. They did not. I hoped this was not an indication of how our week would go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

First & Last Try

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Can add complimentary water - noise isolation for windows - bed & pillow must be more strong since they are so soft, you sleep like no pillow
That was first & last chance for this hotel since there are many other alternatives around similar daily budget. Pros : Location Cons: Low Sleep Quality (Noisy rooms & uncomfortable bed & pillows) No complimentary water Pricey P.S: Looks like VIP Hotel, they didn't offer any VIP facility and there were negative points.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chichester UK

Great location, lovely hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Location: In the museum quarter. A short walk to everywhere else. Very close to bus and tram stops. Easy to get to from the airport ( bus 197 )
The staff were friendly and the room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Room layout a little strange. Looked nice but in reality not so practical. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and nice hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Lots of great restaurants and museums
Hotel is in a great location for exploring central Amsterdam and further out. We were able to walk most places and there are a lot of good restaurants 5 minutes away. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. They have a room where you can keep your bags if you're early to check in etc which is extremely helpful and thoughtful. It seems quite secure too as there is someone manning the room and tags that you hand in to retrieve your bag. The breakfast is 18 Euro per person which I feel is quite steep, the quality is average with few hot options (which weren't good quality) and some croissants, bread, fruit etc. Quite normal for European hotels but average quality. The room was nice with comfortable beds but it wasn't clean, the floor was covered in dirt/mess when we first arrived so clearly hadn't been hoovered which seems ridiculous! The surfaces weren't particularly clean either but the bed seemed clean enough thankfully. We also had an issue with the "minibar" service, every night we would have to ask for clean mugs, teabags and spoons in order to make a cup of tea - the used mugs were just left in our room and not replaced. Overall good hotel and glad we chose to stay here because of the location but think they could do a bit better for the price and 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salford

Hotel in a great location

Posted May 12, 2017
Good hotel with friendly and helpful staff in a great location for bar's, restaurants and public transport, get the 197 bus from the airport only 5 euros, bus stop just round the corner from the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Location near major museums just as we wished

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: An adult lounge bar. There was a "trendy" bar attached to the hotel but for relaxing drinks there was a unacceptable scratch bar in the entrance
Location: Museum district.
Expensive for what you receive. Always take breakfast outside hotel unless you have Euro20+ to fritter. We walked 100m and had omelette, toast, fresh juice and coffee for Euro 5. Hotel is convenient (500m) to major museums and is a 30 minute walk from Dam Square (or get the 2 or 5 tram at Euro 2.90)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for leaving a review after staying in Park Hotel. We are happy to hear you were pleased with the location of our hotel. It is indeed just around the corner of the Museum Square and also not too far off from Dam Square. We will discuss your feedback regarding the bar and breakfast within our team. We hope to see you back in the future! Kind regards, Suzanne de Zwaan Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel on central location

Posted May 8, 2017
Lovely stay, friendly staff. Room rather on the small side. Breakfast expensive so ate else where. Would stay again.