Ratings based on 3,720 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but dated rooms

Posted May 27, 2017
The hotel is well placed near Centraal Station, but is undergoing renovations (May 2017) and is somewhat dated, including our room. Staff were friendly. I'd try a different hotel next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. First allow me to thank you for the compliments about our location and friendly staff, it is highly appreciated. However, I regret to see that your stay was not according to your expectations. For future reference I kindly advise you to let us not during your stay, if you are not satisfied with the room, because in that case we can see if we can move you to a different room. At the moment we are indeed refreshing the hotel to bring a new and enhanced look to the hotel. Guest satisfaction and experience is the primary focus and we will always do our utmost to keep our guests satisfied. We hope we may welcome you back in the future in our new beautiful hotel. Kind regards, Marieke
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Amsterdam central station

Posted May 25, 2017
Do not stay at this hotel. will be under modernization the next couple of years. Current conditions and are terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Expedia. I regret to see that your stay wasn't according to your expectations. At the moment we are indeed refreshing the hotel to bring a new and enhanced look to the hotel. I can assure you that this will not take a couple of years. The first phase will be done in July this year and that is when we will open our wonderful new bar and restaurant. Throughout the refreshment guest satisfaction and experience is the primary focus and we will always do our utmost to keep our guests satisfied. I am sorry if you may not have experienced this. We hope we may welcome you back in the future in our new beautiful hotel when your travel brings you to Amsterdam in the future. Sincerely, Marieke
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel helpful polite staff.

Posted May 23, 2017
Delighted with our stay, staff were friendly and polite, the hotel itself was extremely clean and easy to get to, right in the centre close to all of the main attractions. only issues we had was that we wasn't explained there would be a £75 deposit to pay on arrival, which wouldn't credit the account until 3 days after not great when it's part of your spending money and also we bought a film at €7 which we ended up paying twice for and then city tax was added so we ended up with a €30 odd bill. other than that the whole experience was good. would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Rachel, Thank you for this wonderful review! It is great to read this review, and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. Hopefully you took the opportunity to explore Amsterdam to the max with our prime location. Regarding your remarks about the Deposit, city tax and the movie. I was dismayed to learn you had several disappointing incidents during your stay. Firstly allow me to reassure you that we ask all our guests for guarantee of some sort to cover for any potential extra’s during their stay. We highlight this in all the confirmations we send out, just to ensure there are no surprises at check in. I'm sorry to learn that you have missed this in "the small letters". Furthermore, leaving a certain deposit entitles you to make room charges, which is in the guest's convenience. It's a service offered. The city tax is a regular tax maintained by almost every country. The comment about the movie has been noted and at your next stay my colleagues will have a good solution for you. Non the less we understand that this is most inconvenient. It would be wonderful if we got the chance to welcome you again, so we can show you our level of hospitality. Sincerely, Marieke
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Central location, good standard

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Very accessible, convenient for the sights of Central Amsterdam. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Free wi-fi and use of house printer was good.
Cons: Disappointed with our "superior" room (No. 132), which was cramped and dark, with windows overlooking an internal well.
Location: The location is an ideal base for sighseeing - a short walk to Dam square, trams, the piers for boat trips, and a variety of restaurants neaby.
We stayed 4 nights at the Park Plaza Victoria on our first visit to Amsterdam. Despite variable weather, we were sightseeing most of the time and did not spend a great deal of time in the hotel. When we got back to our room each day it had been cleaned efficiently - the cleaning staff were pleasant and obliging. The TV facility in the room was good. The buffet breakfast was of a good standard with plenty of choice, but it was sometimes difficult to catch the eye of a member of staff to bring a cup of tea or coffee, even though, as advised, we avoided the busiest time. Jugs of coffee/ pots of tea would have been better. We had one evening meal in the hotel Brasserie, which was in the modern style and served in a pleasant atmosphere overlooking the busy street scene. The hotel bar was a pleasant place for a night-cap. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and contributed to our positive feeling about Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SIN

Convenient and lovely hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
As with hotels in older buildings, each room is slightly different. Was upgraded to an executive room in the Victoria wing, probably one of the best as I got wonderful views of Amsterdam through the room. Room size was great as are the rooms of my colleagues who stayed in the superior rooms. Friendly service by staff all round. Breakfast was the same every morning, but plentiful options to choose from. Location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. Would certainly stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Everything is great
Excellent location, clean , great staff always helpful ,only issue was no water due to a burst pipe in the area , although inconvenient not the hotels fault , other than that great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Allan, Thank you for this great review! The nice comments about our location, cleanliness, helpful staff are highly appreciated. Thank you very much for your understanding regarding the water pipe burst. It would be wonderful if we may welcome you again when you are in town. Sincerely, Marieke
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff great location rooms a bit out dated

Posted May 10, 2017
Staff made a lot of effort to meet our needs and upgraded us to urban room free of charge. Great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us, - We always try to maximize the experience for every guest and therefore it means a lot to us to hear that you’ve enjoyed it. The next time you’re in town, we would be delighted to welcome you back. Sincerely, Marieke
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: location, staff
I understand that the location and the rate are compatible but not best for the money. The room is old--the bed, floor carpet, hallways, room decors are very old. They need to make serious renovations. Floor carpet looks so old, it looks like nobody is cleaning it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Jey, Thank you for this review. Concerning your feedback about the interior of the room; we are taking this into consideration when looking at options to improve our guest rooms. Of course, this will not take away any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay, for which I offer my sincere apologies. Your comments are of great importance to all of us and will help us in our efforts to continuously maintain and improve the standards to the level you may expect from us. Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated. On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam we thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! Sincerely, Marieke
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Excellent location

Posted May 8, 2017
The best thing about this hotel was the location and the friendly, helpful staff. I was less than impressed with the average 'superior' room and the smell of drains in the bathroom but the location was ideal, with everything we wanted within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear katrina, Thank you for writing a review regarding your most recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your compliments regarding our wonderful location and staff, which is highly appreciated. I regret to hear that your room was not according to your expectations and I can assure you that this is not our standard. For future reference I kindly advise you to let us know about this situation during your stay, so that we can take care of the problem and make your stay more enjoyable. I hope we can reinstall your trust in our services and standards and we may welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Marieke
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Two Wings

Posted May 8, 2017
Try to get your room in the new Urban wing. We changed our original Victoria wing room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Barry, Thank you writing a review regarding your most recent stay in our hotel. We have indeed two separate wings in our hotel; our classic and authentic Victoria Wing and our modern Urban Wing. I am happy that you have enjoyed your Urban Room and I hope we may welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Marieke