Ratings based on 3,296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Very central location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Short break, excellent location of hotel in central location, this is reflected in the price of the hotel. Worth every penny as close proximity to shops, bars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

First class location - superb staff

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: The breakfast and the breakfast restaurant,
2/3 minute walk from Grand Central station - which is 15/20 minutes from Schipol Airport - and only give euros so forget taxis. Perfect location for canal tours, trams and buses. Literally hundreds of bars, restaurants, coffee shops Etc on your doorstep. We had room 374 - a spacious, quiet, air conditioned modern room with excellent free wifi, only disappointment was breakfast. The restaurant is a mess, and the breakfast at 24 euros a head is a joke - eat out!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Örnsköldsvik

Toppenläge

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Bra läge nära Centralstationen och startpunkter för kanalbåtar, nära Red light distrikt och Damtorget.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The hotel is opposite the central train station so very convenient spot for any tourist visiting for the first time. We were unable to check in on our first day due to issue with our flight and easily refunded us for the one night. When we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They're facilities are amazing with sauna, gym and swimming pool so always had something to do without leaving the hotel. Worth the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Teresa, Thank you very much for your kind words and review regarding your most recent stay with us. It is a real pleasure to read that your stay was most pleasant and enjoyable, thank you for your compliments towards our location, our staff and our Active Club. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Warm regards, Marieke
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
An amazing Location and really easy to find. Neat rooms with all the bits you expect. Only negative been an old building you can see the wear and tear. Also thin walls means you can hear alot more than you should. Other than that I would say an amazing place and recommended to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, Thank you for your review. It is a great pleasure to learn that you have had an amazing stay with us! Both your compliments as well as your improvement points are highly appreciated and taken into consideration to improve in the future. We hope we may welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Marieke
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leamington Spa, UK

Amazing hotel - and 1 idiot

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The pool and gym facilities, as well as the amazingly convenient location.
Cons: The one rude guy.
Location: It's Amsterdam...
Overall the hotel was beautiful, well placed and a reasonable price. The pool and sauna are lovely, the rooms were magnificent and I would definitely stay again. On our arrival however, we got lost trying to find our room, (something which is easy given the layout of the hotel initially). A member of staff seeing us wondering aimlessly (with our luggage in tow and having very clearly just arrived) offered to "show us out of the hotel" fairly assertively, perhaps because we didn't look like we belonged? My companion corrected him, and said we were looking for our room, to which the man looked at us skeptically and then proceeded to show us to the lift and then wondered off without apologizing. However do not let that detract you from this hotel, we had a wonderful stay and would be my first choice upon return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your most recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and you describe us as an amazing hotel, thank you very much. I do apologize for the inconveniences caused regarding one of our colleagues. We always aim to provide the best services and standards towards our guests and I am sorry that you did not experienced this. I have shared your feedback so we can take proper actions. We do hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Marieke
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and near hop on hop off station.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Great yao stay, convenient to shop and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and especially our perfect location. Hopefully we may welcome you again soon. Warm regards, Marieke
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

Perfect Central Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
To start off, the hotel staff are as friendly as can be, warm, smiley and there to help without consideration which was lovely. The hotel itself, after being moved into an urban room, was lovely and modern. Warm and large shower, comfy beds (like honestly so comfy) and plenty of wardrobe space. Location wise, fantastic, you're so close to Dam Square and everything touristy. Also the hotel restaurants food was so tasty. Overall, would definitely go to this hotel again. If I had to nitpick, my only problem was the fact there wasn't a plug by the mirror in the bedroom but honestly didn't bother one bit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Eleanor, Thank you for your positive review. It is a true honor to learn that you had a perfect stay with us. All of your feedback has been shared among our teams, which is highly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Warm regards, Marieke
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was not as clean as it seemed

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel was a very old style hotel and the carpet in the room was so old it had a very heavy smell that was very uncomfortable. The bad had worn out and i could actually feel the springs in my back. I think generally its a over rated hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Burak, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the fact that your stay was not according your expectations. I have shared all of your feedback with the appropriate persons involved so proper actions can be taken. For future references, I kindly advise you to always inform our Reception if your room and stay are not according your expectations. We have also a modern wing, the Urban Wing, and we are happy to move you to a different room, if available. We hope to be able to reinstall your trust and we may welcome you again so we can show you the level of services and standards you may expect from us. Sincerely, Marieke
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Short walk to the red light district and the shopping area. Museums are a little further but still easy to walk and the scenery is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure welcoming you and I hope we may welcome you again soon in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. Kind regards, Marieke