Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dreadful hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Dreadful hotel, overpriced very small and uncomfortable room. The mattress was awful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good value

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is just on the edge of being seedy. The façade is a pretty - a combination of two old town houses but the interior has been gutted so that everything feels very institutionalized. The hallways are narrow, the carpets are gray and worn, the paint is chipped. The bed was clean and comfortable but the bathroom, while clean itself had odors that came up through the drains. And the towels while clean were gray and thin and worn. The breakfast spread was certainly adequate and the little breakfast room was pleasant if also a bit worn. The promo photos made a lot of a back garden but there didn't seem to be any way to get to it. The clerk insisted on full payment for the entire stay when checking in so you felt captive and couldn't move even if you didn't like it after the first day. The location was great for the museum district and the street was pretty but there was extensive reconstruction of the building across the street and work began at 6:45 am so not the quiet neighborhood we had anticipated. I am certain that there are much better three star hotels in Amsterdam for less.
2 out of 5
by Ian from Curacao

Basic amenities .

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
If you're looking for luxury, check elsewhere . This is just a basic room....two people can barely fit( and we hot a larger one they said) ...breakfast is very simple...but satisfying although it's a very small area so guests are on top each other almost. Was clean nevertheless .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Webster, N.Y.

good location. great staff. very clean.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: location. great staff, breakfast
Cons: regular bathtub or better yet a walk in shower
Location: restaurants
only negative was the bathtub - difficult to get in and out for an old guy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on quiet street

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, nice breakfast is included, nice staff, very secure, beautiful setting with wild parrots flying in the back garden during breakfast.
Cons: The only reason I didn't rate this a perfect 5 was that the price seemed high, but hotel rates in Amsterdam are high in general.
Location: Easy walk to most of Amsterdam, but close to the Leidseplein, museums, Vondel Park. I didn't like the canal tour nearby...try a different one.
We had a triple room on the 3rd floor facing the street. It was very clean and the bathroom was a generous size compared to many European bathrooms. The elevator is also larger than many small hotels have in Europe, which is helpful. The breakfast room was beautiful, looking out on a private garden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good value hotel - well located for Museums

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Value and location
Cons: The public spaces are limited: breakfast can be a bun-fight if everyone comes down at once.
Location: Walking distnce from Rijks- and Van Gogh Museums. We found trams handy to get further afield.
We booked one of the larger rooms and were not disappointed inits sizee and comfort. Big bath and twin basins. View over the back garden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly reception staff, nice location but I had a single room downstairs which was very tired. The hotel could do with a re-vamp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo

NO LIFTS!

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Yes, it is listed somewhere in the description that this hotel has no elevators. It doesn't say that there is no one to assist with your luggage at midnight. Not bad if your on the ground or first floors. But the top floor makes for a schlep! If you have a room facing the Green, you want to be a heavy sleeper, as thr road between the hotel and the Green is busy at all hours...with both vehicle and pedestrian traffic. I would go back to this hotel. The location is ideal and the hotel staff is amazing. The full Irish Breakfast ain't so bad either😆
5 out of 5
by Leslie from Wilsons Mills, Maine. USA

Les Flanders

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great stay. The personnel at the front desk were outstanding. If you have a question they have the answer.