Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, USA

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Cons: we got biten by mosquitos while sleeping
good choice for 2 friends traveling together because of 2 small separate rooms. Remember to close windows before sleeping. Cozy, warm comforters and beautiful fresh breakfast. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Miserable experience

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Good location right on the canal, and the staff was very accommodating, and willing to come and try to fix all the problems.
Cons: Those problems should not exist in the first place.
Location: Great location right on the canal. Great walking city, easy to get to all the attractions. Very near a tram stop that takes you to the Central Stati
At check in we were told that we could have a "room upgrade" if we wished--that we could have the "garden house", situated n the back yard away from the hotel. We liked that it would likely be quieter than the hotel, which faces the street. It consisted of two large rooms, one with a queen-size bed and one with two twin beds--so, lots of room, too. Well, we could not operate the safe. We finally called reception, and it was explained that the instructions for the safe inside the closet door were not correct. We were told what to do, and then it worked. The "free wi-fi" was not working in our room. It took visits from three people and several hours to get that ironed out. It took several hours to figure out how to operate the windows. Then, when I got into the shower that evening, there was no hot water--again, another call to reception and another visit from them--we were told that they had forgotten to turn on the water heater. The coffee machine was extremely difficult to operate, and did not have any instructions. When we finally go it to work, they charged us for two additional pods (1E each) for the second day of our stay. The bed was about 8 inches off the floor, the bed fame was not solid, and the mattress was horribly uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on a nice canal, near everything & quiet.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Liked the location, the high ceilings, the breakfast, the flowers.
Cons: Bathroom while very well appointed could be a bit bigger...
Location: We walked from here to every site in the central amsterdam area (we like walking)... 10 minutes to RijksMuseum, 12 to Van Gogh, 10 to Rembrandtplein.
we had a cozy room (with a king bed) overlooking the Canal. Really liked it. only complaints would be the bathroom was a bit tight, and we were there during an unusual hot spell (in mid September). Room got very hot during the day. Loved the flowers on the window outside our room. Good Free Wifi. our breakbast was included, and it was good. included smoked salmon, and the usual European breakfast items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Exceeded expectations, authentic Amsterdam

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: The hotel was definitely older but charming with character. Beautiful, historic building and grounds, just as we imagined Amsterdam to be.
Cons: There were no parking facilities but the location was within walking distance of all the attractions and areas we wanted to see.
Location: The Prinsengracht is a great place to be, day and night, busy but not overcrowded or too noisy. Plenty of nice eating places and bars along the canal.
This was a find, a spacious double room with King size bed, canal view and breakfast included for under £80. The staff were quietly accommodating, helpful, professional and friendly and all spoke good English, luckily for us. Breakfast was decent, continental, plentiful and served in a breakfast room opening out onto a lovely patio garden which doubled as a bar in the evening. Great value and wonderful weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

central location

Posted Jan 5, 2016
had to cover shower drain, when other rooms have shower the noise comes right thru pipes as does smell, fit some u-bends into plumbing would solve problem(not an expensive fix but a needed one)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Very reasonably priced; clean and well situated for visiting the city centre on foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice calm hotel in mainly residential area..

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: It was small and homely and quiet away from the centre but near enough for everything to be close at hand.
Cons: Just knowing how many people were in a room and knowing they all needed bedding towels etc would have made it perfect.
Location: On a canal, but away from the centre but that's exactly what we were after. Trams stopped nearby with a short walk to the hotel.
Apart from a small hiccup with thee room only being set up for 2 people when there were infact 3 of us, hence the triple room it was a nice pleasant stay in a small calm hotel. Yes the bathroom could have been plusher but it was very clean and the beds were comfy, including the sofa bed. The room overlooked the garden which must be lovely in summer. The guy on the front desk helped print out a booking we made there, for a small fee. English was readily spoken and we felt welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor
Location: good restaurants and shops
I was on the top floor so the lift motor could be heard The bathroom was a bit tired as was the room decor but it was comfortable and well located away from the usual tourist spots
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster England

Nice hotel near centre

Posted Nov 10, 2015
We only stayed one night but we enjoyed it very much. Very nice people and very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Upgrading to a canal view room was the best decision of Our vacation. Nice and comfortable bed ina good size room. Great location