Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central to everything and public transport .

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very centrally located a big plus .Was not aware that booking a twin room ,was in fact two small rooms adjacent to each other .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, USA

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Cons: we got biten by mosquitos while sleeping
good choice for 2 friends traveling together because of 2 small separate rooms. Remember to close windows before sleeping. Cozy, warm comforters and beautiful fresh breakfast. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Miserable experience

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Good location right on the canal, and the staff was very accommodating, and willing to come and try to fix all the problems.
Cons: Those problems should not exist in the first place.
Location: Great location right on the canal. Great walking city, easy to get to all the attractions. Very near a tram stop that takes you to the Central Stati
At check in we were told that we could have a "room upgrade" if we wished--that we could have the "garden house", situated n the back yard away from the hotel. We liked that it would likely be quieter than the hotel, which faces the street. It consisted of two large rooms, one with a queen-size bed and one with two twin beds--so, lots of room, too. Well, we could not operate the safe. We finally called reception, and it was explained that the instructions for the safe inside the closet door were not correct. We were told what to do, and then it worked. The "free wi-fi" was not working in our room. It took visits from three people and several hours to get that ironed out. It took several hours to figure out how to operate the windows. Then, when I got into the shower that evening, there was no hot water--again, another call to reception and another visit from them--we were told that they had forgotten to turn on the water heater. The coffee machine was extremely difficult to operate, and did not have any instructions. When we finally go it to work, they charged us for two additional pods (1E each) for the second day of our stay. The bed was about 8 inches off the floor, the bed fame was not solid, and the mattress was horribly uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on a nice canal, near everything & quiet.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Liked the location, the high ceilings, the breakfast, the flowers.
Cons: Bathroom while very well appointed could be a bit bigger...
Location: We walked from here to every site in the central amsterdam area (we like walking)... 10 minutes to RijksMuseum, 12 to Van Gogh, 10 to Rembrandtplein.
we had a cozy room (with a king bed) overlooking the Canal. Really liked it. only complaints would be the bathroom was a bit tight, and we were there during an unusual hot spell (in mid September). Room got very hot during the day. Loved the flowers on the window outside our room. Good Free Wifi. our breakbast was included, and it was good. included smoked salmon, and the usual European breakfast items.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Exceeded expectations, authentic Amsterdam

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: The hotel was definitely older but charming with character. Beautiful, historic building and grounds, just as we imagined Amsterdam to be.
Cons: There were no parking facilities but the location was within walking distance of all the attractions and areas we wanted to see.
Location: The Prinsengracht is a great place to be, day and night, busy but not overcrowded or too noisy. Plenty of nice eating places and bars along the canal.
This was a find, a spacious double room with King size bed, canal view and breakfast included for under £80. The staff were quietly accommodating, helpful, professional and friendly and all spoke good English, luckily for us. Breakfast was decent, continental, plentiful and served in a breakfast room opening out onto a lovely patio garden which doubled as a bar in the evening. Great value and wonderful weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was nice, but the shower drained very slowly and that's kinda gross.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Decent hotel close to everything

Posted May 17, 2016 on Orbitz
This was my first solo trip to Amsterdam and I chose this hotel based on location and it was great. I was able to mostly walk everywhere I wanted to go. The hotel staff was always great to speak with and answer questions. I also liked that I had to leave my room key with them and I didn't have to keep up with it. It was nice that they automatically recognized me when I returned to my room. This actually made me feel safer! The breakfast was nice and sufficient. It was good that it was included in the price I paid. As for the room, I was definitely paying for the location. I chose a single room which is tiny compared to American standards, but this didn't bother me because I wasn't there to stay in my room anyway. I was also on the bottom floor which didn't help matters either. There were a few cleanliness issues but nothing to complain to management about. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. All things considered, I would stay here again. It's a little expensive for what you get in the hotel, but it's all about location and Hampshire is in an awesome area!