Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LDN

average

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Basic hotel; literally beds shower toilet, but perfect for us lads who stayed at the hotel as we were always out and about and only was in the hotel when taking a naps, showers or using the toilet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from California

Budget style

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Close to most of famous things in Amsterdam
Cons: Damn noisy doors
Location: It's Amsterdam, so you probably already know :-)
it's a budget kind of hotel. Cheaper than many others in the area but of course at a cost of comfort. Don't expect much: the toilet is outside, as well as shower. On the plus side it's extremely close to the center. It will suite best for young people who came to hangout for a few days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not even hostel standard

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very run down hotel which tricks you into booking with a nice front whih is not actually the entry to the reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, England

Great location, comfy beds!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
At first I was very unsure about this hotel as the previous reviews weren't the best. However, once we got there the man at reception was very friendly and let us store our luggage so we could explore the city before check in. We were in room 211 and honestly the only downside were the steep stairs that makes it extra difficult to carry your bags to the second floor. The room was very nice and clean and had everything we were expecting. The views weren't of the city or anything interesting but perfect for people watching! The coffeeshop opposite, dampkring is very nice and where we spent the majority of our evenings. The beds were unbelievably comfortable and were made for us each day. The location of this hotel was great! We were going to hire bikes but felt like we didn't have to because everything we wanted to see was in walking distance. You're about a 15 minute walk to dam square and on the way the amount of restaurants, bars and shops are endless. You're also very close to the canals which makes walking much nicer and I would recommend to take a walk at night when they are lit up. On our last day, we were late to checkout because we couldn't fit everything in our cases. But the staff were very friendly and told us not to worry. As we had a late flight we were also able to leave our luggage there for the majority of the day in a safe, locked room. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel, and will be sure to book it again when I return to Amsterdam.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Hotel looks ok from the outside!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The hotel appears to be ok from the outside but my single occupancy room was smaller than a prison cell! Even a prison cell has its own toilet. Not this one! Shared toilet at the end of the corridor for the whole floor to use and even worse, the shared bathroom was on the next floor down! One bathroom between two floors!!! Bed was ok ish, room was very noisy with outside passing traffic / people. One coat hanger and one towel in the room. Very expensive for what it is, a hostel would be a better description rather than a hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel close to city center and attractions.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Near the center of town, plenty of restaurants. Room was small but clean. Shared toilet and shower facilities with a private room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredibly hot room and very dusty

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: It was in a relatively central location.
Cons: The cleanliness and overheating of the room.
The room was unbearably hot with little potential for ventilation or ways to cool down. Further to this, there was a power cut which completely stopped the ceiling fan - which all be it did very little but made the room even more suffocating. The room was very dusty and there were even socks under the bed from a previous guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

This place is a dump.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
I only stayed here one night (thank goodness), because my usual place was booked up. It's close to central station on a lively street. The room was very small/cramped, dirty and the entire place is a dodgy dust trap. The walls are paper thin. And all the windows have vents so it's impossible to block out street noise and chatter. Good luck sleeping a wink.... this was a nasty place to get over the jet lag from a long flight. Beware if you book this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bury

Nice hotel perfect for little stays

Posted May 14, 2017
Mattresses was a little hard but that's nothing... it was perfect for my 3 night stay.. very cheap also... not far from cafes etc about 15 min walk to red light... will be staying again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paterson, New Jersey

We were robbed by the hotel staff.

Posted May 11, 2017
I should have known when we entered the room and there was no available safe for storage that something was fishy. Plain and simple don't come here; the staff robbed us. Me, my brother and a couple​ of our friends were leaving for a day trip to Paris. We had reservations on the Thalys train and we left the hotel very early in the morning last Tuesday. As we were leaving the hotel the older man at the desk asked us if we were checking out, where we were going, and how long we were going to be away. Being honest we told him that we would be away for a while. What we didn't know is that we were being cased.(it didn't help that we were all wearing suits). He knew exactly what rooms we where in due to a "security" check the night before and he knew we were going to be away a while so he or someone on the staff helped themselves to $700.00. The door was locked and who ever ransacked our room had key card access. We probably shouldn't have left that money in the room, but that doesn't give them the right to rob us. I felt violated and disgusted by the whole ordeal. I didn't call the police because I sure it would have gotten me nowhere. However, I hope this review can be a word of advice. Please for the love of God do not stay at this hotel. Additionally​, the hotel is a pig stein. Absolutely disgusting, mold, stained sheets, flys, bugs you name it they have it. It's in a good location but seriously spend a little more and get a reputable hotel; I know I should have.