Ratings based on 1,244 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Black mold in the room

Posted Jun 15, 2017
We stayed in room 19. There was lots of black mold on the bathroom ceiling, bathroom door trim, windows by bed, part of the room ceiling. Obviously this is a total deal breaker for me saying anything good about the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london england

Basic hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 9, 2017
The hotel appeared to be very nice with a well presented reception area , but the room we were given was awful with a broken window in a rotting frame and a dirty bathroom and hardly enough space to walk around the bed or get through the door. We complained and were given another room at the very top of the hotel . There was no lift and the stairs were very steep we had to drag our luggage up them . The room was better but had no phone and we were only given two small hand towels to use every day for showering
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stevenage, UK

Close to everything friendly staff

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Lovely break away, cute hotel, could do with a bit of renovation but was clean and tidy. Walls a little thin could hear neighbors 'enjoying' their stay!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location, walkable to almost all tourist attractions within Amsterdam. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Unfortunately, our room had very poor ventilation. Combined with the hot temperature outside, lack of A/C, our room made our stay very unpleasant.
While hotel location was very convenient, the lack of ventilation in the room led to unbearable hot nights, moldy smells in the bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Good location

Posted May 17, 2017
The location of this hotel is excellent close to everything. The rooms are tiny and there is no elevator. No air conditioning or fans in the rooms. The reception staff are excellent and very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value for money

Posted May 11, 2017
Foyer and bar ok. Room had no facilities. Curtains screwed to wall at top so could not be opened. Room tatty and dated. Shower head loose so couldn't position it, no water pressure, tatty and dated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Simple hotel, great location, friendly hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Ideal for the traveler who wants a simple hotel that is clean, friendly, and safe and doesn't need the amenities of a modern hotel. It's very small and very old. From the old style reception and bar to the tight staircase and tiny rooms, it's a true old-world Dutch hotel that is very affordable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great location but that's it.

Posted May 1, 2017
Location was great close to Rembrandt square with lots of lovely cafes to choose from. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in serious need of updating. It claims to be an authentic old hotel but it severely lacks the basics. There are no tea making facilities, we were given 2 hand towels for bathing which were tiny. We were on 4th floor and the stairs are very steep with no lift to help with cases. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet, sink and shower are all in one room with a curtain pulled over to hide the shower so water everywhere. Dampness evident and sockets did not work. No space for cases and looked dirty looking. It is more like a hostel, no reception after 11pm and no breakfast. Bed linen not changed in 4 days, and left without towels one day. would not recommend staying here unless you are on a very very tight budget.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel very near centre.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Room was clean. Room was quiet. Bedlinen was clean. Near centre of city
Cons: Very tired decor, room needed improvement.
Location: The hotel is right in the centre of the city 2 minutes walk to pubs and restaurants, and on a pretty and quiet canal street.
Our room was at the top of the house, up 5 very step flights of stairs. The curtains did not draw so had to be taken down off the hooks to have any daylight. There were four single beds but only one bedside light so it was very dim and impossible to read. It was cold, no heater. The electric sockets were broken. It was very basic the other rooms we peeked into looked much better. This room is probably mostly used by groups of young people, and not so suitable for two middle aged sisters. I think the owners may be doing up the hotel bit by bit and had not got as far as our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Unpleasant little room, if you just want somewhere to crash this will suit you fine. You get what you pay for and that's why it was so cheap. A Mean uncared for wee room. Sound proofing in rooms non existent, take ear plugs oh and a towel and soap, these are not as one might expect. TVs and table lamp didn't work.