Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Don't book if you want to use a good quality Spa!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
What a lovely hotel the Sofitel is. I brought my partner here to celebrate our anniversary. One of the predominant reasons for choosing the hotel was for the Spa facilities and quality that Sofitel has. We thoroughly loved the concierge staff who helped plan our excursions. However unfortunately our room was on the ground floor and was very noisy from the street, neither of getting a good nights sleep on the Friday or Saturday. Also the swimming pool was cold, the jacuzzi not working and the steam room also cold. When we explained this to the spa staff, she just explained that this was being fixed but previous online reviews I have seen have said the same thing! It was a shame nothing was done to make the weekend a little more special as I had already contacted to explain it was a special occasion. Very friendly staff otherwise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S Missouri

Posted Apr 14, 2017
It was a wonderful hotel and the location and views were perfect. The staff was one of the best ever. However, we did have issue with our room. The upgraded us to one of their best suites. However the upgrade was to the older section of the hotel and our bedroom was on a different floor. So we had to walk up and down every time. The original suite we had was given as an upgrade to my son and his wife. Their room was perfect. Had we had that room it would have been a PERFECT place. More?? More?? Survey wants more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

City hotel close to most sights

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. Lots of extra touches: biscuits chocolates in room every day for children. Spa and swimming pool with small gym.
Cons: Food in Bridges restaurant could be more varied. Portions very small even for Michelin star.
Location: Centre of Amsterdam so walking distance to most sights though we took taxis for the likes of Van Gogh museum. 25 minute walk away
City hotel with peaceful courtyard. Walking distance to lots of attractions . Travellers ranged from 6to 64
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saudi arabia

The best

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Very nice and friendly staff, location is excellent, room is big and comfort. Totally recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorks

Lovely hotel close to all what Amsterdam has to of

Posted Apr 2, 2017
From the minute you walk through the doors the hotel can't do enough for you, from offering advice for restaurants, to day trips to finding your way around, a totally wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Exceptional Hotel Experience in Amsterdam

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Hotel staff was gracious and took an effort to greet and acknowledge me. I ended up staying g in a beautiful suite in the hotel that was exceptionally comfortable and well-appointed. I highly recommend the hotel to other travelers looking for a comfortable hotel within proximity to all that Amsterdam has to offer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extra charge for City Tax?

Posted Mar 30, 2017
They charged me E11.14 at check out for City Tax. I thought taxes were included when I booked. Annoying. Otherwise fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Lovely hotel in central Amsterdam

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Amazing hotel, room was clean, massive bed and there was a TV in the bathroom!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel, would recommend

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Hotel in good location within walking distance of attractions, restaurants, bars. Rooms are comfortable and clean- go for canal view. Breakfast is excellent with very attentive and helpful staff. Concierge very good with recommendations and advice Reception staff generally helpful, welcoming and polite (not all!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Outstanding!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Classy, friendly, peaceful, stylish and the queen size bed was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in - absolutely superb.