Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
21% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful Hotel - apathetic staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: A lot. Cleanliness, fix the showers and actually give the customer what he paid in advance for,
Wanted a room with 4 single beds got 2 singles and a double Shower was broken and there were ants in the room. When I asked for the guy at the desk to sort the shower he came down with a drill and did nothing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Good breakfast and coffee machine. Terrible beds. Stains on ceiling. Cold room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The location is ok but the room was small uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tehran

Good Hotel with a Great Location

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a comfortable stay at Sphinx hotel. They staff were friendly and we specially liked the location. Rooms were clean and we enjoyed staying there.
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Wales

Sphinx hotel

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room was on third floor,no lift. We asked for double bed,didn't get one,the room was tiny. Wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harwich UK

Well sited to City Centre

Posted May 9, 2016
Cons: Tea & Coffee making needed in rooms
Clean & Tidy rooms well worth the cost of stay, Good Customer service on arrival
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Amsterdam is an expensive stay, and all about tourism. So this is a way to cut the bill. Clean enough, with decent staff. For me a better choice because I like to use my money to tdo things and get out of the hotel all day anyway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Sep 16, 2015
As a group of lads we booked this last minute and just wanted something cheap as we did not plan on staying in the hotel much. After reading some of the bad reviews we were a little anxious to what the hotel was going to be like. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised, the hotel was clean and the receptionist was friendly. Pros: The breakfast was good and there was lots of veriety Free tea/coffee/hot chocolate from the drinks machine downstairs You can rent bikes from the hotel (which they actually didn't charge us for) Rooms were cleaned every day and new towels were provided Cons: Few stains on the sheets Few insect bites All in all I would recommend this hotel to any group that want a cheap holiday.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Osvaldo Efigenio from San Jose

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
In general, Ámsterdam was far more expensive than Brussels, my next destination after my visit to Ámsterdam. That applies for the hotels specially. If I compare this hostel (US$110 each night) with a real hotel that I stayed in Brussels ($80) and the quality of both (much much much better the latter) I feel that I was robbed in Amsterdam. The Sphinx Hotel is just for having a place where to leave your luggage, have a breakfast and nothing else. Try to spend as Little time as posible there.