Ratings based on 2,059 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairfield county, ct

Excellent hotel on Dam square.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Very nice hotel and excellent quality as always expected by swissotel. Staff was very polite and helpful. Can find anything wrong with it.. book well in advance to get better rates!! Tram station is right outside hotel. Close to everything!! Location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

standard 4* hotel in convenient location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: location for sites and central station
Cons: all fine
perfectly functional, standard 4* hotel in a convenient location - not much more to it really
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent central hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Our experience at swissotel was amazing. The building was lovely and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel couldn't be more central, we could look out onto dam square from our luxury bed. This hotel definitely made our stay in Amsterdam that much better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the city center

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Comfortable. Great location. Nice front desk staff. Shower that falls like rain from the ceiling!
Cons: At first our bathroom floor was less than clean, but they fixed it right away and made sure we were satisfied.
Location: Dam square has meeting spots for free and paid guided walks. Close to shopping, canals, train station, restaurants, red light district.
Our hotel was right in the heart of things. We could quickly walk to Dam square to meet up with various walking guides. Breakfast was available at the hotel but was pricey. We chose to stop at the local grocery for fruit and then visit the wonderful Backeri der Waal for fresh croissants. Who souls believe they had a whole grain, seeded croissant? Fabulous! The concierge arranged our taxi to our cruise ship and was accommodating in every way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Not great value

Posted May 21, 2017
I booked a premium room and got a handicapped room which was all that was avail that day with a view looking into other rooms , for the last 2 nites they changed my room to a basic room beds were not comfortable not great value for 600 cad dollars felt ripped off
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location and so clean

Posted May 7, 2017
Couldn't find a fault with our stay. Reception staff very helpful. Clean room. Central location. A*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nokomis, Florida

Hotel right in center of Amsterdam.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The Hotels central locations made for ease of getting around this Bustling City. The rooms were quite and clean and the Staff was always with a smile and very helpful with direction or suggestions on where to eat or other activities. We would stay at Swissotel Ams again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel near Centraal Station

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Nice hotel in the middle of it all and a short 10 minute walk from Centraal Station. Room was not always so tidy and the little things added up like the tv intermittently stopping working (3 or more times in an hour), not cleaning the room daily, and not doing simple things like refilling the coffee but that being said was incredibly convenient for everything we had booked nearby in Amsterdam although staying in the Jordaan might be more appealing since there are better restaurants and slightly fewer tourists
4 out of 5
by joanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location but Room for Improvement

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Not quite the experience I had expected of Swissotel. The location is great on the popular Damrak and the service is helpful. However, the guestroom is so small that there is hardly room for moving around. My wife was was terrified when once locked inside the cafe toilet because of a faulty lock and was only released through the help of other guests.