Ratings based on 1,960 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Great hotel, right on the Dam square.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Shower was great, double headed shower and both ran without loss of pressure. Bed was just excellent. The staff are great. Close to the action. Clean!
Cons: The smell of lemon cleaner near elevator on second floor is a bit strong. Room service menu could use a bit more fluffing.
Location: Dam Square, Madame Tussauds, Ripleys museum, Red light district, all foods and shops within 5 minutes walk! Tram out front, bike taxi too.
Arrived and asked Karena for an upgrade and due to the length of our stay she was happy to make us comfortable and upgrade our room. We also requested king mattress and more harder pillows and they were all there promptly as was promised. Outstanding staff all very professional. Room service isn't as diverse as an American or Australian hotel but with all the cafes, coffee shops and food outlets on the road it didn't matter. Starbucks is 1 minute away so coffee wasn't a problem. It can get a little noisy due to proximity to Dam square, but the bed comfort kinda compensated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf

Zentrales Stadthotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Das Hotel ist fußläufig vom Bahnhof zu erreichen, man muss sich nur durch die ganzen Touristen kämpfen. Der Empfang war sehr freundlich. Unser Zimmer befand sich (ein Glück) nicht zur Straßenseite. Dass Bett war sehr bequem und groß. Die Lage des Hotel ist für eine Sightseeing-Tour ideal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, staff wonderful

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, condition, and a new restaurant next door Royal 98, exceptional food we received a 20% discount on our meal. Very pleased
Cons: nothing.
Location: Dam Square, wonderful location
We were upgraded to a newly renovated classic room on the 2nd floor. Exceptional!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

datos del hote

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: ubicacion, amabilidad del personal
Cons: el tema de las luces si apagabas ya no se cargaba el telefono
Location: centro de amsterdam, miles de lugares para comprar, shopping area, supermercados, tren super cerca, tram en la puerta
muy bueno, centrico, el personal super amable, no habia secadora de pelo en mi habitacion .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, a little worn around the edges.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly. Hotel seemed secure (card operated elevator). Location is great, close to the National Monument, short walk to Centraal Station, and most of the downtown sites.
Cons: Rooms were small (not atypical for European hotel rooms), the furnishings were fine but a little dated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Fantastic staff, centrally located, great choice for a minibreak.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Excellent location

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: close to all nightlife, shops and Dam Square entertainment
Situated right in Dam Square its an ultimate location. Rooms even the refurbished ones are typical European in size very small, but modern, clean and very comfortable. Good work desk for business, and good size shower .Excellent pod coffee machine complimentary. Staff very lovely and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Harold Kluit, Hotel Management
Thank you for pointing out the very convenient location of Swissôtel Amsterdam and the various amenities we have to offer. We hope these made your stay more enjoyable. Lastly, we hope you choose to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Harold Kluit General Manager Swissôtel Amsterdam
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Position and staff helpfulness
Cons: Facilities were not fully operational - no restaurant nor bar open
Location: Great for exploring
Superb central position- very easy for exploring. staff were friendly and helpful. Great location, right on the Square- close to all major sights and very easy for transport links too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Harold Kluit, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and mentioning our wonderful location. We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon with our newly renovated restaurant. Kind regards, Harold Kluit General Manager Swissôtel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, canada

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Stayed for business trip. Location was perfect for the conference. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room is little small but has all the amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Harold Kluit, Hotel Management
We are always very pleased to read such positive reviews regarding our guests’ experience while staying with us. Our hotel staff is very dedicated to making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We strive to make all stays a memorable one and will make sure to do so the next time you stay with us again. Lastly, I would like to thank you for writing this review. Kind regards, Harold Kluit General Manager Swissôtel Amsterdam
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

The Square

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Great location to walk around and see all the sites in this beautiful city