Ratings based on 2,022 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nokomis, Florida

Hotel right in center of Amsterdam.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The Hotels central locations made for ease of getting around this Bustling City. The rooms were quite and clean and the Staff was always with a smile and very helpful with direction or suggestions on where to eat or other activities. We would stay at Swissotel Ams again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel near Centraal Station

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Nice hotel in the middle of it all and a short 10 minute walk from Centraal Station. Room was not always so tidy and the little things added up like the tv intermittently stopping working (3 or more times in an hour), not cleaning the room daily, and not doing simple things like refilling the coffee but that being said was incredibly convenient for everything we had booked nearby in Amsterdam although staying in the Jordaan might be more appealing since there are better restaurants and slightly fewer tourists
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place --central location close to central too

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Unfortunately I arrived at 8:30am on a Sunday morning and had to wait until 2pm to check in, not what you want to hear after traveling for 10 hours! The cleaning folk have their closets outside rooms 211, 311, 411, etc. I was in room 311 and had to hear a slamming door every 5 minutes as she went in and out all morning long. Walls are thin and you hear noise from halls and other rooms. But if you're in Amsterdam to walk around all day and night and only come back to the room to sleep --it's fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel friendly staff great location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
A very smart hotel with friendly helpful staff, the room had everything we needed, the hotel is also situated 5 min walk from the train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful hotel in the centre.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
The Swissotel is perfectly placed in the centre, a direct short walk from the train station. We were greeted by a lovely, friendly lady called Aprilla who went above and beyond to ensure our happiness, thank you Aprilla! Despite being upgraded from a classic to a business room we decided to pay extra for the junior suite which was clean, spacious and had that wow factor for us with an amazing view of the square, sound proofing and blackout curtains. The hotel had a calm feel with the smell of essential oils drifting through the corridors. There is a comfortable restaurant called The Royal 98 where you cpuld must relax all day, the breakfast was especially good and they serve the best mojito I have ever had! Thank you to Aleesha (unsure if name is quite right sorry) who like Aprilla just made us feel so welcome and nothing was a hassle. 2 lovely ladies!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but noisy

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Location is great for city centre but room was very noisy (with a direct view of McDonald's). Also no bar in the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Friendly staff, Clean hotel and great location. A must visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to Amsterdam Square

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Really good location walking distance from all tourist attractions.
Cons: Bathroom door handle seemed broken.
Location: Very convenient location from Amsterdam Central Station. Red Light District, Anne Frank house, canals, and more walking distance away.
Great experience. Able to check in before designated time as room was available. Mentioned I was on business and was given a free upgrade to a business suite! Staff was very helpful and friendly. Really good location walking distance from all tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

Great stay

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
The room was comfortable and the service was excellent! The hotel is within walking distance of most important Amsterdam sights.
5 out of 5
by Lorena

Great cleaning service

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
It was great. The only thing was that the beds were not fully connected so it was hard to cuddle but everything else was great