Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MANCHESTER

EXCELLENT HOTEL AWAY FROM ALL THE MADNESS

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: NOTHING REALLY
Location: PERFECT LOCATION, EVERYTHING WALKABLE IF YOU ENJOY WALKING!!
WONDERFUL STAY AT THE CANAL HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION AWAY FROM THE MAIN CENTRE AND HUSSLE BUSSEL WONDERFUL STAFF, BREAKFAST A PERFECT START TO THE BUSY DAY AHEAD WALKING THE MANY CANALS WOULD RECOMMEND WITHOUT HESITATION
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chile

Nice and walkable area

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Nice hotel but avoid if you need elevator. Travelling with big bags or legs illness could be a problem. In a very quiet zone of the pretty Amsterdam offer a full buffet breakfast in a tiny but beautyfull room where they a have also a bar open to the canal in the back of the building. Some ac problems. There are portable devices with a hose through the window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iamsterdam

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We stayed here for a long weekend and it was a great place to base ourselves. We were only a tram ride from the train station and there were plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was plenty for breakfast. The complimentary bar was an added bonus and the free canal trip was not to be missed and a great way to see Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel location was great. Walking distance to all we wanted to see and do in Amsterdam! The staff is very friendly and the breakfast was delightful. I only wish it was warmer out so that we could enjoy breakfast on the terrace which overlooks a canal. The room was small, as all hotel rooms in Europe are, but it was very charming. I loved the decor, and my boyfriend loved the fan! I would recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overlooking the canal

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Good location. Great staff very helpful. Breakfast very good with made to order hot dishes. The hotel has its own boat and they offer free canal tours daily which is excellent.
5 out of 5
by Ron

Beautiful property along the canal.

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, this boutique property was wonderful! Would definitely recommend to most everyone. It is an old building, but rooms have all been renovated. The only drawback is for someone with a disability. One had to walk up this beautiful spiral staircase. Is not a problem if you are in good health. The staff is very friendly and we would definitely recommend this property. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Super hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Loved this place. Great friendly staff. Great location. Close to trams. walking distance to Rembrandt square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anes

Amazing place and hidden gem

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: You are a walk or a ride away from everything. A 8 minute walk will they you to the rijks museum and from there you just keep going.
This place is not well known because is in a quiet recidential area but trust me this is the place to stay! This place is very nice the staff is so on point and real. I'm very hard to please and this place just did it for me. I hope they read this because I'm coming back next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Nice location, good staff, room comfort an issue

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly service, good breakfast, canal view. Safe area and easy walking to many attractions. Historic building.
Cons: Badly laid-out room, no space around bed. Almost no useful storage in the room. Steep winding stairs to 3rd flooor.
Location: Nice part of town , close to lovely canal-side walks. Near the Heineken brewery tour and several tram lines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from LA

Close to everything - but not too close

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff. Location. Breakfast. Decor. Good wifi. Large bathroom (for Europe). Did we mention the staff?
Cons: It's an issue all over Netherlands, but it would be nice if they had AC. That said, when we asked for a fan, it was waiting when we returned.
Location: Walk to Van Gough, the Rijk, lots of great shopping, food. Tram is five minutes away, Metro is 10.
After a week staying close to the red light district, and all the touristy fun, we moved to the Canal Hotel and loved every minute of it. Fantastic staff, great location and wonderful room. We were lucky enough to get room 14 - with a balcony looking out to a canal. It was amazing. We loved the breakfast, the friendly staff, just about everything at the hotel. I'd highly recommend to anyone wanting to spend time at the Van Gough or the Rijks. Hotel felt like a cross between a boutique hotel and a B&B. In a good way. Very new, clean, well thought out.