Ratings based on 1,036 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to tram and metro. Not expensive.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Good. Only overflowing shower border and wet floors after shower. Otherwise very clean and spacious room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

A student life at a tourist price

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Positives..staff were friendly, the gym is really great, Loved the rowing machines. Internet is fast.
Cons: Cleanliness in cafe, price should come down. Coffee/tea making in the rooms. New mattress. Better healthier food in the cafe like a few salads!
Location: Not much to say that's positive, I wasn't happy with location, too isolated. Tram is very close however
I was attracted to this hotel by the crossfit style gym, and reasonable price, the cafe looked decent and the reviews were very positive. The hotel is as it says "student orientated' and you see many of them around mostly on their computers, playing ping pong, working etc. I liked the fun 😜 Young vibe, but this place isn't priced at youth hostel prices. It's in the same price bracket as the Ramada Apollo nearby. My big issue with the student hotel is it feels as if it's run by students. The bed had a big body cavity in it, the sheets were frayed on the edges. Low shower pressure, no amenities. Hallway smelled like marijuana for 24 hours. Cafe is dirty, no one wiped off the tables that I could see, you bus your own plates which is fine, but you don't feel the love, the care. It feels understaffed and had that hostile vibe, cheap food, and not enough staff. Location is 'lonely' there is really nothing (walking distance) around that part of town food wise. If you don't like the cafe you need to take a tram 10 minutes at least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for students/explorers

Posted Feb 14, 2017
If you're spending the weekend exploring Amsterdam, this hotel is perfect, it's reasonably priced, has a team stop right outside to take you to central Amsterdam, and all of the staff seem fluent in English which made things really helpful. Comfy bed, lovely staff, great vibe; if I return to Amsterdam i'll be sure to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Great facility, games room and reasturant. Location was a little out from amsterdam but great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great place just outside of Amsterdam city centre

Posted Jan 25, 2017
I would fully recommend this place - it is a bit outside of the city centre but not by much; the tram and train connections are so easy. Especially easy to get to and from the airport. The area is quiet and the facilities available are awesome. Breakfast was decent. Comfy beds. Clean rooms. Shower not amazing but still fine. And really nice friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great hotel for its price!

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Great hotel with the tram nearby (only a mere 3 mins walk from the hotel !) to get to town. Room came with private bathroom with a bathtub. Only downside was that room service is done on alternate days. Otherwise, it was a good experience with the hotel. Checkout was smooth with Nabil :)
4 out of 5
by Jenna

Trendy and good Accessible to the city centre

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable hotel at a good price. Very easy to get to the airport and to the city centre with good transport links at the doorstep. The room was perfectly fine only issues were that our TV and lamp didn't work and the room itself was a bit bare. Regardless of these slight flaws I would go back for the value for money.
4 out of 5
by Olena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Best hotel near Amsterdam!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Me & my boyfriend stayed at the Student Hotel Amsterdam West for 9 nights. The staff was smiling and helpful, the room was ready on time. As they said it would be, our room was cleaned every 2 days and it was enough. The restaurant of the Hotel (the Kitchen) is not too expensive and everything we ate was really tasty. We didn't took the breakfast option. The only thing inconvenient was the bathroom. We only had a small shower and even if we were extremely careful, there was always water everywhere on the floor. Overall we enjoyed it very much and would recommend it for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Modern Hotel with great facilites

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Modern, Comfortable, Friendly Staff, Clean
Cons: To be given fresh towels everyday
Location: Not much near the hotel however tram is right outside and is easy to use to get to the centre.
Me and my boyfreind loved are stay at the The Student Hotel. Staff were very friendly and let us check in early they also gave us a free room upgrade which was lovely! Due to arriving on a holiday we were also given chocolate which was nice. Are room was nice but basic however this was all we needed as we didn't spend much time in the room. The bed was very comfortable. There was building work being done near which you could slightly hear but did not wake us up or cause any issues. Only issue with are room was the bathroom smelt a bit damp. The hotel is suitable for all ages and would be great for families too. Would have given 5 stars but choose 4 due to location. The hotel isn't very close to the center but it was however very easy to get to by tram that were very frequent and took about 20 minutes. The tram was also cheap and is great to get a ticket for to help get around Amsterdam. I would definitely stay at the Student Hotel again however I would properly spend the extra money and stay in the Student Hotel that is located in the centre.