Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with Great View!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: quietness
Cons: allow to have air-conditioner during night time
Location: next to a museum no shooping mall and restaurants nearby
It is not near Amsterdam Central station,but near tram station, so it is still easy to go to tourist points! You can even enjoy its quietness! The room is big and clean, it also has good view, but there would be no air-conditioner during summer, so it is quite stuffy when you have to close windon during night time. The staff has good manner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darmstadt

Nice hotel in East Amsterdam

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Location
We spent five nights at the Tropen Hotel. It is directly located next to the Tropen Museum and has a tram stop right in front. Therefore, it is perfect for a city trip. The hotel looks a bit old from the outside but the room we had in the 10th floor was renovated. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast buffet was good. It is right next to the Osterpark which is beautiful for a walk or run. If we visit Amsterdam again, we will surely stay there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Good overall but bathroom is uncomfortable

Posted Jun 29, 2016
This hotel has been converted from either an apartment or student hospice building. The room was ok size but prolonged and narrow so not most convenient. For two people it would be ok but for us three it wasn't enough space with an extra bed in the way. The beds were doubles at best. Mattress and pillows were ok but not great. There was a Nespresso expression machine which was nice. Also a safe and kettle. No fridge. The bathroom and toilet rooms which were separate were the main letdown. Both were very small. It was ok for toilet. For some reason they didn't install a shower curtain or door and all splashes went to the floor and it was always full of water. Overall the location was good and hotel was good. It was clean enough but could be cleaner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Nice hotel close to park, room needed redecorating as flaking paint on ceiling was quite bad. Overall we were happy with everything else
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Don't stay here

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing really. Perhaps location.
Cons: Badly needs investment and refurbishment. Or reduced cost. This is a hotel that has stopped caring about guests.
Location: A couple of very good bar/restaurants nearby. Tram service into town is good - number 9 tram passes right bye the hotel front door.
Very disappointing hotel. Overall badly needs refurbishment, from the old-style lift to the furniture and decor and wobbly beds in our room. Very small toilet, you had to back in. After the first day both of our room cards stopped working so we couldn't get in to our rooms. Over priced, didn't resemble the photos on Expedia. You wouldn't go back having been there once.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from osaka

立地、部屋に満足。

Posted Jun 10, 2016
トラムの駅がホテルの前にあり、とても便利でした。部屋も清潔で必需品も揃っていて満足でした。湯沸かしポットやセキュリティボックスも部屋にあったので助かりました。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice part of town

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable.
Only there for two nights. Spent most time touring on bus and boat. Park next door nice. Many restaurants and bars nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2016
War ein wunderschöner Urlaub so wie immer in Amsterdam
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel

Posted May 26, 2016
Overall It was a pleasant hotel. Staff was friendly and everything. The only thing that I was not to pleased with was the lay out of the room. In my room at least the bed was located right next to the door which was kind of difficult especially when my fellow guests came back to their room after midnight. You could hear everything that was going on in the hall way. No matter the noise level. (Especially the couple having fun a couple rooms over . haha) But I mean for its price and the location I was pleased. There was tram line that ran right in front of the hotel and you could get anywhere from there. Also they offer breakfast at the hotel but you're better off taking the tram to Centraal Station and getting something to eat in any of the countless eateries around there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, easy to walk to the city centre

Posted May 25, 2016
Clean and bright rooms, easy to get to from the tram and some great restaurants across the road