Ratings based on 2,371 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very nice hotel, 15 min from Schipol

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Everything except it's distance to Amsterdam.
Cons: More shuttles to airport.
Location: There is a casino nearby, other than that it is fields.
We reserved a Quad room. The large, modern, white and gray room was set up as two singles put together to each make a king bed (2 kings in total) which was perfect for our family. The room was spotless, new carpet, wall paper, furniture and linens. The bathroom was like brand new with marble stand up shower stall and very deep soaking tub. There was not a speck of mold or dirt in the bath. The fixtures were Hansgrohe. The breakfast which was included was a large buffet with at least 6 kinds of bread, 8 types of cold meat, yogurts, fresh fruits, someone making fresh eggs and pancakes and a tuxedo clad staff to keep it clean and moving smoothly. The last breakfast room I was in like this was 27.50 euros per person. The staff throughout the hotel was helpful and pleasant offering to book side trips etc. If there was a downside it was the distance from Schipol and Amsterdam. They have a free bus which leaves every 40 minutes to the airport. It was a hassle to get back into the city once we were out there. It was about 50 euros by cab to the city one way. I would highly recommend staying there if you were using it only for the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from the netherlands

Unfriendly staff

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I stayed 3x in 3 weeks in this hotel. The hotel is nice. Nearby the airport good and free shuttle to the hotel. Good food and friendly service in the restaurant. But the staff at the check in counter are not friendly. Seems like they want to check you in as fast as possible to get rid of your presence. The lady talked to me very arrogant ;seems like she had a bad day. I just asked her why i had to fill the form because i was 5 days before in the hotel. She said if I come every week still i have to fill it in because i booked with expedia and not with the hotel by internet. Sound like she was not happy with my booking by expedia. I had my bag on the counter she said in a arrogant way: so if you dont take your bag i dont have space for you to fill the form. I had a room on the other side of the hotel. She didnt even explain me that i had to take 2 elevators to the room. Just give me 1 key for 2 persons and nothing else. Just like go fast to your room there are more clients to attend. Feel very sorry because the hotel is nice. But they have to train their staff to be friendly. Seems that they have enough visitors so they dont care to be friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty remote but all amenities are close

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Good transportation. Can be in central Amsterdam in 40 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anderson SC

EXCELLENT

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: everything except the transportation to and from the airport
Cons: transportation and TV
Location: NA
I have great experience with this hotel. 2 negative input is there is not other transportation aside from the shuttle to and from the airport. So if you want to go to the city, you have to wait for the bus which runs every 40 mins. You also have to time the train to the airport. So literally, you can lose about 1.5 hours a day just waiting for the bus. The TV is very outdated. They need to change it to flat screen. All the rest are excellent. Very big room. Breakfast is fabulous. Pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to schipol

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pleasant stay easy reach of airport/transport hub good breakfast quiet considering location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis near the airport

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast buffet, grounds, comfortable bed, Wellness center, bathtub, big TV, good Wifi
We had a great stay here! The grounds are lovely and spacious, the staff is very friendly and competent, and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. Our room was quite comfortable and tastefully decorated. The Wellness area was a wonderful treat (though there is just a regular steam room, not really a Turkish steam bath). Transportation to and from town was easy with the shuttle and airport train. We loved it there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol, UK

Lovely hotel and wonderful staff

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I stayed in Van Der Valk hotel while I was in Amsterdam with some friends and although I didn't spend much time in there the hotel in its self was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and shuttle were good.
Cons: Cleanness and general shape of the room.
Location: Location was great, very close to airport with shuttle service.
Room was not good for the rate charged ($100+ on sale per night!), it didn't have even a mini-fridge, cleanness was not at the best - i found bugs in the bathroom. The only good things I can say about the hotel were the breakfast - was great - and the shuttle service from/to the airport. I didn't try the other amenities of the hotel, so I don't know their condition, but I don't think I will give a second chance to the hotel for the price; even more than this was supposed to be a VIP Expedia hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Front Office Manager - Hotel Schiphol A4, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review and stay at Hotel Schiphol A4. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. We will contact our housekeeping manager about your experience to prevent this in the future. Unfortunately, we only have a mini-fridge in our suites. We hope we are able to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

Convenient Hotel with Great service

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Free shuttle. Good restaurant. Friendly staff
This hotel offer free shuttles to and from Amsterdam airport every 40 minutes. Free breakfast buffet is outstanding. The other restaurant also has great food with reasonable price. We came back to the restaurants several times. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near airport

Posted Apr 16, 2017
1. No shower cap, conditioner, body lotion, cotton buds in a 150 Euro/night hotel is strange. I asked at reception, and they said "sorry we don't provide it".. 2. A white-leather chair was visibly stained by coffee, easily cleanable by damp cloth.