Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Off the path, expensive and dirty... enough said.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: It' close to the grocery store I guess and in a quiet part of the city.
Cons: It needs updating and correct information on Expedia.
Family stayed three nights. This is not a hotel at all. You are better off booking something far cheaper and better quality through another website if you are looking for an apartment. I would not recommend this stay at all. 1. You have to communicate with the person via email or call them; there is no front desk. 2. We stayed in the "penthouse"... there is no view really in a 4 story building 3. The bed sheets were thread bare and smelled, holes in the comforter, no kitchen towels for dishes, no washer but a dryer for some reason, three glasses, two plates... all for a condo that supports to serve 5+ people. 4. Also the number of beds in incorrect. There are NOT two doubles and two singles. There is one King and two doubles. We didn't have enough beds for my family and they tried to charge me extra for a roll away that was dirty. It was roomy but not worth the price at all. It's just very worn and dated. Honestly I've stayed at hotels that were nicer in Paris for less.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't return my phone calls to return my deposit

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Great to be staying with the locals. Room is spacious.
Cons: The towels smelled like standing water.
Location: Great to be with the locals. Transportation to the tourist areas are convenient
When you get there, there isn't an actual front office or desk. You need to wait for someone to let you in. This is fine, but when something goes wrong, you have to wait for them to call you back or return an email. They charged me a deposit for the room. Which is normal. When when it was time to get the deposit back, they first wanted your entire bank account info to return the money, as what the email said. When you try to call every number they gave you to get in touch with the people that work there, it is impossible. I still have not heard from them since we left and it has been a month so far. They will not return my emails or phone messages. I want my deposit back. We left it in great condition. If there was anything wrong with the room, they should have told us. As of right now, I have not received any calls from them. They probably took my money. the deposit was $500 EU = to about $600 US. I had to call my cc company and they are investigating the charge. Unfortunately I have to wait 30 days. I am still trying to call them and nothing!!! I think they scammed me out of my deposit!!!
5 out of 5
by Michael from Essex

Visseringstaete Pent House Apartment *Excellent*

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
The apartment was everything we expected. We were slightly concerned about the negative reviews but felt they were massively exaggerated. The minor down points would be that there is not a reception and having to wait for someone to call and meet you feels like a pain when you have arrived and just want to get in, however we managed to get checked in earlier (1 Hour) than we were supposed to. Advertised was an iPod docking station but this was not there and the coffee machine wasn't working properly. On the positive side, the welcome host was very friendly and helpful, the apartment was very spacious, had pretty much everything we needed and we were all more than satisfied with all the facilities. The beds were comfy, we used the iron, TV, cooker, shower etc etc and really did have everything we needed. We do not have any plans to go back to Amsterdam at the moment but if we do then we all agreed that having an apartment as opposed to being in a hotel was the right choice and that we would be more than happy to look to staying again here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice apartment

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Great place clean tidy just shame iron and ironing board was broken,and the back door/window leaked but wouldn't put us off staying there again
1 out of 5
by heather from Raleigh

Worn, misrepresented, remote, overpriced apartment

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
DO NOT BOOK THIS APARTMENT! It's not a hotel, it's a remote, totally overpriced apartment. Hotels.com markets this as a hotel, with "breakfast for a surcharge" in the "lobby" and "concierge service." It is completely misrepresented. We arrived past midnight to an unmarked building in a residential area. No one was there to greet. Someone answered the phone with "hello." He told us to wait in a garage. A few minutes later a man walked by us and opened a door. We asked if he was the owner and he nodded. He finally spoke when he asked us to fill out paperwork and pay him 30 euro city tax. When he left, we felt unsafe. It felt shady. On the morning of check out, someone banged on our door and asked how we got into the apartment. He never identified himself. The apartment is worn and dirty. There were clothes in the armoire (see pic). No bottled water. Most of the electrical outlets don't work (see pic). The wifi is terrible. No hand soap in the bathroom. Towels worn and mismatched. Box spring cover is ripped (see pic). Furniture is dirty (see pic). Holes in the floor under the carpet. Many of the lights don't work. No city or canal view. No bathrobes. This is represented as a "luxury" apartment. It is large, but not luxurious. There are definitely better options for places to stay in Amsterdam, especially for 379 euro/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great apartment in safe, quiet neighbourhood

Posted Apr 19, 2015
good transport links into city (bus/ tram). supermarket in walking distance. Great living space with all mod cons. there was one less bed that the booking said but the sofa was big enough to sleep on. Be aware that there is no manned reception and we couldn't contact anyone on the number given which meant waiting in the street for an hour so phone/ email in advance if you can to arrange an exact arrival time. When the employee arrived to let us in, he asked for a 500 euro deposit which I hadn't known about. I refused to give my credit card details to a third party and he seemed OK with that and it wasn't mentioned again. Once we were though- it was great :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Home away from home

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Clean furniture it looked a little dingy
Location: Easy walk to most everything.
Had a great time. Locals are friendly. Location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Excellent place to stay

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Exceptional standards and comfort. Also very good meet and greet service. Close enough to centre if you are happy to walk 15 mins along the very attractive and direct route. We preferred it to cab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great appartment.. Only 10 mins from the Dam.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Great times just one negative that a second double bed wasnt provided. Just double check all the details before you confirm. But I would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Should have been a 'Wow'

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the modern layout and stylish furniture.
Cons: The level of cleanliness, more staff required when the apartment is left mess. Management could do with attending a 'Customer Service Course'.
Location: The location was good, lot of bars, restaurants, shops nearby. On a good, regular bus route for town.
Arrived at the arranged time of 3pm to be told that it was still being cleaned. Returned at 6pm, to find the entire floor sticky, old food deposits inside the oven, leftover food in the cupboards and worst of all, vomit on the balcony table and floor. When complaint was made to management, I was told that there had been a stag / hen party and that the cleaner had had a terrible time, especially with the heat of the day. He did arrange for the cleaner to return, which he did. He cleaned the balcony table, which I was extremely grateful for..