Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Oregon

It's an experience!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Xaviera's B&B is a jump back in time to her hey-day as NYC's infamous madam. Portraits adorn many walls and just meeting her is an experience. Her husband, Philip, is very knowledgeable and helpful about the area. We stayed in the Garden Chalet (limited wifi reception). The other rooms are upstairs. We were looking forward to this part of our trip, and were under-whelmed, but if you're looking for a "different" night in Amsterdam with a basic breakfast this is your spot! FYI, she very strongly likes to be paid in cash.
4 out of 5
by Bryan from Aurora, Ontario, Canada

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place with lovely people. Decor is a bit odd, and the bath and shower were shared, but a very nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Melbourne

Great Location and host

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very welcoming and accomodating hosts in this B&B. Location was great with trams very close by. Room was as expected/depcited and clean. Recommend
5 out of 5
by MJ from London

Very comfy & hospitable

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
Nice to be ins somewhere nicer than a sterile hotel room
5 out of 5
by Terry from Florida

Great Visit!

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels
For the open minded traveller, this is a great stop in Amsterdam. Nothing else was available under $500, so we gave it a try. They let us check in early (10:00 am) when our River Cruise ended. Phillip was extemely helpful in how to get around, restaurants, bicyles, Windmill tour etc and provided transport to the airport. Essentially, this is a full services vacation stop. It is an easy tram ride from the Central Station, and is in a very nice quiet area of the city, just outside of the Ring Canal designating the city center. It is a short bike ride to the wonderful city park, and most of the Museums. We got the room which is detached from the main house and has a bathroom with shower. Though it is fairly small for the American traveller, it was neat and comfortable. Breakfast was adequte, but not gourmet. It was fun meeting Xaviera, and overall made our short visit to Amsterdam a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Gold Coast QLD, Australia

John & Suzanne's world trip

Posted May 17, 2013
Pros: the hosts and the comfy bed. breakfast
Cons: sharing a bathroom
Location: out of town a bit. a quiet area. close to transport and good dining.
Xaviera's is a bit left of centre. Do your research as It is not for everyone. Eclectic and a tad cluttered. Remember you are staying in somebody's home, complete with pets. Hosts are very welcoming and we loved our stay. Sorry our stay was short and we crammed in so much as we did not get to lounge about and interact more with Xaviera and Phillipe. They gave us some great tips for dining and getting about. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by joel ruet

An amazing insider's view to Amsterdam

Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Overpriced Ecclectic B&B

Posted Sep 29, 2010
We expected a fairly large room, but it was tiny. The shared bathroom was ridiculous. I've never seen a smaller sink before. I could barely turn around inside the bathroom. There was hardly any storage space in our room because Xaviera had left lots of her clothes in the small closet. All we really could do in this room was sleep. Furthermore the B&B was pretty distant from the city center. We had to take the Tram every time we wanted to go to town. Overall, this B&B was way overpriced and we wouldn't recommend it.