Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not terrible

Posted Jan 5, 2018 on Hotels
The breakfast isn't too good and mostly is just loads of bread.. go before 8am or there may be no food left and they take awhile to bring out more.. at one point we had to wait ages for food and then ages again for clean cutlery as there wasn't any left! Overall it's a good hotel for exploring amsterdam as you hop on the free ferry and you're right by central station which is great. You have to request a hair dryer and things like a kettle and then pay deposit on these..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
The Botel was simple but great. Breakfast buffet a bit of a scramble but thats free food for you. Novel experience staying on a boat, I'm still swaying a bit! Reliable and regular ferry link from hotel to Central Station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Dirty hotel rooms disgusting and staff very rude

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Would never stay again woykd not recommend anyone to it dirty staff very rude
4 out of 5
by Shaun

Nice little novelty stay

Posted Dec 26, 2017 on Hotels
Nice Hotel for what it is, if booked as a novelty for staying in a cabin on a boat and not expecting it to be the Hilton. You also get free river trips from the centre to the NDSM-PIER which is nice! Could benefit from tea and coffee facilities in the room...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Nice hotel,shame that one member of house keeping barged her way in our room and accused of us for smoking in our room when we hadn’t we had been out on the deck smoking where another member of house keeping saw us smoking the manager threatened to kick us out and would not listen to anything we had to say we didn’t get kicked out but just made the rest of our stay uncomfortable but it would not stop me going back to stay as the rest of the staff are lovely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Student digs

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The rooms are small and dated but suit a purpose. It is great getting breakfast included but it is absolutely mayhem. It's all compact and loads of people. There is a good selection of breakfast just the kitchen can't keep up. It's novel staying on a boat but I think overpriced for what you get.
4 out of 5
by C M

Posted Nov 29, 2017 on Hotels
a fun place to stay on a budget
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Amazing trip would stay again

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the botel, unique experience, love the fact that the ferry is free to and from the botel, really easy to get to, ferry takes you back to the train station which is only 10 min walk to the square. The free breakfast was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017
Thanks a lot for your kind review, hope to see you again on the Botel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK.

Getting tired

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Location and cost.
Cons: Getting a little tired in appearance, the mattresses certainly are. Complimentary Tea and coffee in the rooms would be ice.
Location: Didn't really do things locally but the Flea market was worth a visit. The vacant storage container homes are worth a sneaky peak in the windows .
We've stayed on the Botel before, enjoyed the experience and decided to go back. This time we found ourselves in a room with non movable single beds which were extremely uncomfortable, so we didn't get a lot of sleep and started the new days crippled. Be prepared to hear your neighbours snoring amongst other things. Cosy en-suites where you can easily shower, poop and shave at the same time. However the shower was both hot and powerful, just the thing to massage some life into your back following the nightly battle with the mattresses. Breakfast was plentiful , but you had to be quick off the blocks once the bacon, sausages and eggs were put out as the hungry hoards attacked the long awaited replenishments. If you enjoy bacon cooked to within an inch of its life, this is the place to be. Joking aside it was adequate to set you up for the start of the day. All the staff seemed pleasant and helpful. I like the position of the Botel ,it's relatively quiet with some bars and restaurants. There is a fantastic flea market on Sunday, 5 euros to enter but just leave yourself enough time to get round it all. A short free and regular ferry trip gets you into the centre of the fantastic Amsterdam - watch out for the bicycles though as the do not stop. All in all its not a bad place but after spending 52 long, hard years on this planet , I probably need a little more comfort. However I would recommend the place to my 4 sons. All in all I would
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice expeerience, but 5 days without internet,

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: medium low
Cons: baths rooms, services on board
Location: it is not so bad , but I prefer another location
First and last time in this hotel , too expensive for what you receive