Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Value For Money

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Excellent value for money. Twin room very cozy and comfy. Beds very comfortable. Bathroom on the small side, but functional. Staff friendly and helpful. The only downfall is the location. It’s in the Southwest of the city, and while there are great links (trams 1, 17, Metro, Sprinter train to airport) everything shuts down st midnight, which makes a late night in the city centre a €25-ish taxi ride, but to be fair, a quick cab ride over a 20-25 tram ride in the early hours was worth the price. The hotel cost outweighed this slight inconvenience. Would defo stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Bastion Hotels, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Kevin for sharing this excellent feedback with us! We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward welcoming you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Nice hotel. Clean, tidy and close to tram stop.

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Fantastic hotel for the price. Rooms clean and tidy and did not feel worried about items/money going missing. Smoking room indoors and park next door if your partial to a "special" smoke. Resteraunt is quite pricey (you would be hard pressed to find a place in amsterdam that isn't) but food quality was top notch. DONT PAY €14 FOR BREAKFAST there is a lidl just down the road that you could get a family feast for €14!! Overall, great place to stay and would recomend to any friends/family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Bastion Hotels, Hotel Management
Thank you very much Tom for sharing your feedback with us! Looking forward welcoming you again :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel for a short stay

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The interior decor, beds were comfy, toiletries were cute.
Location: There wasn't anything of interest to us nearby. We would take the tram to the city centre daily.
I stayed here for two nights, with a friend, and though we found the room to be clean and comfortable, the bathroom was too small. The main complaint is that the basin was so narrow and shallow and there was a shelf directly above it so it was a nuisance to use. The hotel is in a nice quiet part of town but only a short walk from the closest tram station, which we used daily to get around. However, on the first morning, my friend and I had just left the hotel when a man approached us asking for directions. As it was raining we moved to the edge of the pavement when all of a sudden two men ran up to us, asking to see identification. My friend and I were absolutely terrified but asked to see their ID because we feared they were scammers who might run away with our passports. One duly showed it to us but I was still uncertain. They wanted to see inside our purses and when I asked if we could do this inside the hotel because we felt nervous standing outside they refused to. We showed them our purses and that's when they said they were doing random drug checking. It is by far one of the most bizarre experiences I've had while travelling abroad. We did inform the woman at the front desk later that night who said something similar had happened some months ago to another guest, only his wallet was taken. I'm sure this is a great place to stay for those wanting a quiet space to work but that one incident is something we can't help but associate with the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC USA

The highlight of the hotel was the amazing staff.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The staff at this hotel was incredibly helpful. They let us check in early as I was not feeling well. When I needed extra blankets, they delivered them to our door. But this is really the extent of the positive attributes to this hotel. There was a bus and tram stop about a 7-minute walk from the location and from there an additional 25 minutes to get to Central Amsterdam. The location was highly inconvenient, located in a business district. While 30 plus minutes in the summer to get to all of the city's activities may have been more tolerable, im freezing rain and 30 degrees Fahrenheit temperature, it was most unpleasant. Also keep in mind, should you want to take Uber downtown, its about $35 USD each way. While we did not spend much time in our room, it was no bigger than a matchbox and you could hear the traffic all night long through the six-story window. It was also quite disappointing that as a married couple we were given a room with two twin beds, but at least the mattresses were comfortable. We did not try any food or beverages from the lobby, so there is no feedback on that aspect. The inconvenience at this hotel would prevent me from staying in the future or recommending it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, England

Good value hotel located in fashion trade centre

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Great value, clean and good size bedroom (bathroom a tad on the small size) Really friendly staff and overall a pleasant stay. Located in the Fashion district, the hotel is a couple of minutes walk away from a tram stop making trips into the centre a breeze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Very friendly staff easy location first room we had was dirty so the staff changed it straight away could not apologise enough was given umbrellas when it was raining and paracetamol when unwell hotel was quiet and relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Comfortable stay with some improvements required for absolute comfort in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
It was a pleasant experience. Hotel could have made consideration to refund one day's amount as I left one day early (I know it was a non-refundable booking though).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south london

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Good experience nice and friendly staff. The hotel was very quite and enough for a short break. The staff made my stay more enjoyable will definitely stay here again. The bathrooms are small but all that anybody would need..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Basic, but clean and that is all you need when you are just using it to sleep and shower. Staff very helpful.