Ratings based on 1,230 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Very unpleasant stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, especially staff, unless the hotel believes rudeness and falseness should not be its hallmarks.
Location: Amsterdam is a great city and there are many wonderful things to do -- museums, canal tours, culture, great food -- just stay at a different hotel.
The staff seemed to go out of their way to make it an unpleasant stay, and the disappointing room only added to the negative experience. At check-in, the staff said that I was in error about having booked a room for four persons (two adults and two children) and had instead booked a room for three. They very bluntly stated that's all they would provide. They remained unpleasant, and even grew rude after being proved wrong (I provided the booking and receipt from Expedia that showed the room was booked for four). We ended up leaving a day early, and the hotel said it was no problem to get a refund but we would have to contact Expedia as we had pre-paid. Of course, Expedia was helpful and has a policy of providing a refund, but when Expedia's representative contacted the Best Western Blue Tower Hotel, the hotel reneged on their earlier statement and said that they would not approve a refund. This is easily the worst hotel experience I've had in many years.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NI

Ok hotel close to trams

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The location was fairly good and it was clean. Staff were pleasant.
The hotel was reasonable. Our room was described as a deluxe double but it was just a standard room and the room was not serviced on the second day of our stay. The hotel was close t a supermarket and a market with good fruit stalls. It was also convenient to bus and tram stops for access to the centre of Amsterdam.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Mariëlle de Wilde, Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review. Is it possible to contact us directly at info@hotelbluetower.com with more details what you expect with a deluxe room? We really hope to improve so we can meet all your expectations a next time. With best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

6

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
It is very nice hotel but not in a good place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast great. Front desk great. Housekeeping OK sometimes a bit earlier would have been better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very disappointing

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable
Cons: A lot needs to change, see my review, terrible place
Location: Not the best part of town, near a motorway but OK location if traveling for business.
We used this hotel for a recent business trip and arrived at 9pm to see that there were only two staff members on duty. There was no real queueing system and one staff member displayed no urgency. After waiting 15 mins, we were next in-line but it took a further 10 mins for this staff member to sort out a bike hire. Finally, after 30mins, we got to the front of the queue to realise that my colleague's room hadn't been reserved, he eventually got a room with 3 single beds, despite booking a double. As it was late and we had been travelling, we were keen to take advantage of the on-site restaurant facilities. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed on Mondays (nobody had mentioned this until that point). We were told, very unapologetically that the only place we could get food was a shop a 5 minute walk away... so we had crisp and peanuts for dinner, just what is required when tired and hungry after a log trip. After visiting the shop, we departed to our respective rooms... and my card key hadn't been programmed properly. I went down stairs, was greeted by the same rude member of staff this time bullying a very timid Asia girl that he wasn't going to honour the promise to change her room. He changed my card key with typical nonchalance and I finally got to my room at 9.55pm. Room was fairly nice, no fridge, no mini-bar, stains on the curtains and dodge air-con. Terrible start to a very important trip, wish I had booked something different which would've been cheaper!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Okay hotel

Posted May 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The room was quiet.
Cons: Fix things that are broken.
Location: The location wasn't great. It was a little scary area and there was nothing to do nearby. It was at least a 20 minute tram ride to anything.
The hotel was not in the best part of town. It was also at least 20 minutes from the city center. The hotel itself was hard to find. The condition of the hotel was not the best. Really dated. The toilet would run every time we flushed it. The handle to the door on our floor was broken.
1 out of 5
by Robert

Keep looking.......

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Complete rip off- property doesn't come close to what they're asking a night. We are contacting Best Western too. Queen sheets were ripped, blood on one set of twin sheets.Hairs on the other. Hairs in the tub and sink. Terrible water pressure.Tub was so scratched we had to put a towel down. Towels weren't replenished for all of us. Had to get them from the lobby. Coffee maker was broken. Two of the the three elevators weren't operating either. Very frustrating. The front desk wasn't very helpful at all- probably because we were prepaid. The only positive was the tv and cable were descent.
4 out of 5
by Shelley

Good place to stay

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
My only complaint is the wifi was terrible in the room. About 98% of the time it didn't work. Had to go to the lobby it get wifi to check on places we wanted to see or to check in for our flight. Otherwise, the hotel was great. It's further out but tram/bus stop is really close and easy to use.
4 out of 5
by Mathew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lauryn

Noisy

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
I was not happy with me stay as there was so much noise from the room next door and outside and for my four night stay I slept one night I was awake at 6 o'clock every morning due to noise levels I think I should've been informed there was construction going on across the road for starters the noise was indescribable and when I informed a meme er of staff I was told there's nothing really we could do after paying the price I did I was shocked the email I got for price was 346 and all of a sudden when I got there she told me it was 362? I would defintely not stay here or recommend it