Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks

Nearly Ruined Vacation

Posted May 6, 2017
Poor customer service and lack of professionalism on the part of front desk staff during check out almost stranded us 400+ miles from home with no money and no room to stay in. Easily preventable or fixed problem nearly cost us our jobs back home. Because the hotel didnt inform us that the $100 deposit we were surprised with at check in would take 3-5 business days to return to my account (NOT immediately upon checkout like they said at check in!) we had to call friends back home to borrow money to leave the city. Extremely rude and unhelpful staff. Incredibly disappointed, will not come back or recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel slightly off the beaten path--whic

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location, price and very quiet.
Cons: Hotel met my expectations and then some
Location: Adjacent to downtown Anchorage and train station. Neighborhood setting. Unique hotel for Anchorage.
I am a local who had to stay here for a night due to construction at my house. Very good choice at a good price! Close to downtown but still in a quiet, neighborhood setting. Off of the 'hotel and food chain row'. The rooms were spacious and nice with an extremely helpful front desk lady. Would easily stay here again and would heartily recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AK

Nice hotel close to railroad depot

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Great room, very spacious. Loved the full kitchen. Fast WiFi. Plenty of television. Did not visit the business center. Free news paper and continental breakfast. Only problem was no ice machine or cube trays. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Sally

Clean and Quiet, BUT...

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was a nice, quiet, older "no frills" place which was fine. The pros were: I got the room I requested, everything was clean & in working order, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet, and there were fresh cookies upon arrival. I was told they were "half full" but I literally never saw another guest. How they could improve: provide coffee filters in the room, some cheap napkins would have been nice in the kitchenette, too, and while the continental breakfast of yogurt, granola bar, juice(box) and instant oatmeal was just fine for the price paid (if you want a hot breakfast, go stay at a B&B) I was given a yogurt past it's "best by" date all three mornings. But here is my one BIG gripe: the last night of my stay I was up sick most of the night. I couldn't function to do anything during the day prior to my 5pm flight. When I called the front desk and explained this and asked for a late check out I was told I could stay until 11:30 or they'd have to charge me, and if it was past 1pm the charge would be an entire night's stay. Well, thanks a lot. Again, the hotel was NOT bustling, and if it was a matter of how late housekeeping stayed, they could have easily waited until bright & early the next morning to clean the room. My opinion of the hotel went down after that.
5 out of 5
by Edward

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
check-in very easy - friendly desk personnel
4 out of 5
by Justin

Comfortable large room with kitchen

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Spacious room with separate living area and nice kitchen. Close walking distance to downtown Anchorage! great deal
5 out of 5
by Joshua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Next time, I'll pass!

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel because it said online that there was an airport shuttle. When I called to be picked up, there wasn't one. I checked in late due to arriving in Anchorage around 11:00pm. Everything went smoothly at check in. Around 1:3am, I got a phone call asking me to come to the front desk. It had turned out that when I got checked in, the lady who did so, checked me under the wrong name. We needed to reassign key cards, etc. I also got charged 4 times for my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big Rooms, High Quality, Low Price

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay at Anchorage Grand and both times I've been very pleasantly surprised, as have the other guests with me. Big rooms, full kitchen, living room, separate bedroom, and everything is high quality. Walls are not thin, furniture is not creaky, and windows have good curtains for the summer sun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Orbitz
My short stay was very good. Hotel staff was very accomidating, room was very clean& comfy. only thing wrong was our yogurt we got for breakfast was expired by a couple days. Other than that, it has an amazing view, its in a great spot& easy to get to, i will definitely come back to this hotel!