Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Hall with strange smell, but forgetting that, everything was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 4, 2016
hotel was clean, good location, staff was friendly and helpful. we will want to stay in Anchorage Grand hotel on our next trip to Alaska.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, United States of America

my trip to alaska

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: location and room comfort
Cons: train as i mentioned earlier that can be heard any time through the day
Location: great location near to almost everything
hotel is at a great location, you can walk to lots of restaurants, souvenir stores and other downtown places from it, room is comfortable, bed a little too soft for us but still good, very quiet location except for train near by that you can hear here and there through the day.staff was very friendly and helpful. we had a great time staying there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location with large rooms

Posted Sep 30, 2016
This was our third stay at The Grand. The hotel is somewhat dated, but very clean and the location works great when we are in Anchorage. The rooms are huge with a kitchenette and living room area, which is very comfortable. We would stay here again when needing to be near downtown. Great location for Fur Rondy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Excellent value for money

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Location: A short walk to all downtown facilities
I was positively surprised with the Anchorage Grand - I had stayed at a very shabby hotel for my first night, which was actually a bit more expensive than Anchorage Grand. Hotel prices in Anchorage are rather high overall. The Anchorage Grand was great value for money though! The rooms are large, very clean, with very comfortable beds and extremely helpful staff. Would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Close to train station and centre

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The noise from the trains didn't worry us too much. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel - Great staff - good location -

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: It was an apartment with full kitchen, not just a suite
Cons: Do not serve the Yogurt FROZEN - could not eat it Trains whistles 24 hrs
Location: On 2nd St - every thing on 3rd, 4th, and 5th St. So Great Location
Enjoyed my stay there Clean comfortable Helpful Friendly Staff Breakfast included but oddly delivered - in bag at the door in the morning - Yogurt Frozen - not edible in the morning Great cookies at the end of the day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Excellent hotel very close to the railroad station

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Comfortable suite, ktchen, separate sleeping area, staff, convenience to shopping and restaurants, museums, and continental breakfast.
Cons: Addition of bagels to breakfast.
Location: Just up the hill from the railroad, close to shopping, museums, and restaurants, visitor's center and Federal Building with free films,
We enjoyed being close to the train, though we were awaken many times during the night by train whisles, etc. This would not be a problem if you can sleep right thru it. Convenient to downtown shopping, museums, and restaurants. The suite was lovely, with a separate bedroom, full kitchen, small living/dining room, and 2 TV's. Room was neat and clean. Only one day that it was not cleaned, but we did not leave the room until after 12 noon, so the housekeeper may have needed to leave before then. Breakfast was outside our door daily--oatmeal, yogurt, granola bars, and mints. It suited our needs. Staff were very accommodating, friendly, and responded to our needs immediately. I would highly recommend this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks Alaska

They tried to double charge me

Posted Aug 21, 2016
They charge you double charge me and then didn't tell me about the hundred dollar pet and smoking charge for my room so that was the cost on top of what expedia already paid wasn't really overly impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Anchorage.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We liked the hotel. It was very accessible to what we wanted to do in downtown Anchorage. We could walk to most things, and we enjoyed the coastal trail for morning runs. The only problem with the hotel was the train that blew the horn at inconvenient times & disturbed sleep.