Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fairbanks alaska

Dirty rude unhelpful lying hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Breesy walkway infront of rooms, french vanilla coffee creamer.
Cons: Shampoo carpets, hire better staff, owners tell the truth and do things in a timely manner
Location: Right downtown, near some big theater.
Very dirty and outdated with disgusting carpets that turn your feet black instently. Breezy walkways to rooms that serve as your balcony. Rude offensive staff. Unqualified store manager. Lying managers that dont do things they say when they say or in a timely manner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mid town location. not very walkable.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Rooms were fine. Clean comfortable etc. no amenities in the immediate area. Walkable shopping etc. no views and near a busy highway. Location good for business traveler not tourist.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

The elevator had a horrible smell, beds lumpy

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff was great.
Cons: Update your hotel. Change beds.
Location: It was a good location. Everything that I needed was close.
This hotel is not on the level of most of the other Best Western. There was not breakfast, beds lumpy, elevator had the smell of gas. The beds were so bad that my daughter and I got very little sleep. The room was very warm and I couldn't keep the AC on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was good

Posted May 13, 2016
The hotel was clean, things were in walking distance, not as close as downtown though but you could grab a cab fairly easy. Staff was very nice and helpful. There's laundry on-site. The elevators need some updating, they don't feel completely safe. There's a business center and ATM, TV, big fridge, microwave. Overall it was a good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Under construction/remodeling.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location.
Cons: In room heating/AC
Room was great. Large space. Unfortunately, we did not know the hotel was in the throws of remodeling. The noise began at 8:30 am. Also, the heater/AC in the room was very loud. We did inform the front desk when checking out that the heating/AC system desperately needs attention.
3 out of 5
by Brian from Surprise, Az

Old and Needs updating.

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
My door closed but didn't appear closed there was a gap. The bed was somewhat comfortable. The welcome bag was a bit of a disappointment. They had an employee bring up a small bag of Doritos, peanut butter crackers (that were crumbled and stale) and a bottle of water without any of it being in a "welcome bag". For the price of the stay I would have expected something better. I am also somewhat health conscious about what I eat. The breakfast I would go somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White City, OR

Inexpensive Mid-Town Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: The best feature for me is that it is near my client's offices. Also the hotel and restaurant staff were very good and exceeded all expectations.
Cons: The elevators need a major overhaul and/or replacement.
Location: It is located at the corner of the New Seward Highway and 36th Avenue. The Sears Mall (with numerous stores) is about 8 blocks away.
The Best Western Golden Lion is located in mid-town Anchorage. This hotel has been in operation for a "guesstimated" 30 plus years. The hotel staff was great. However, the facility is showing its age a bit. During my stay, one of the two elevators was out of service and the working elevator was suspect since it rattled and groaned every time it was used. The food in the restaurant was very good and priced appropriately. The menu was somewhat limited, especially for dinner. The hotel is near several other restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Pamelia

Clean and quiet

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean, quiet and comfortable room. Great nights sleep on very comfortable bed.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Juneau Alaska

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel would not honor our Medicaid vouchers would not adjust until I got on phone a d called Multi people's then the said I had to pay for one night and then would take vouchers for the other two we are for out of town and was there for medical reasons. Totally unprofessional this was booked 3 weeks prior
3 out of 5
by Yongdong Z.

ok hotel but without a pool for my kid

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Orbitz
hotel was ok but my kid did not enjoy it as much since there was no pool for him to enjoy some summer fun when we were there. Breakfast was good but included in the hotel charge.