Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Decent price, spacious rooms, heinous decor.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The layout of the suite with added sitting area provides a lot of space.
Cons: The decor is absolutely hideous! Mustard yellow bedspreads, mauve colred chairs, forest green wallpaper trellis with beige stripes....yuck!
Location: The location was great. Close to downtown, easy to get in and out of. Nice huge park across the street.
We chose the Clarion because of the price point and the space it provided. The suites give ample room and its great to be have the extra seating area when someone is sleeping. The location is really close to everything downtown. The decor in the rooms is quite depressing. Of course I dont expect much for $50 a night and Im only there to sleep and shower. I also know their brand goes for that "homey, grandma" look and feel but who in their right mind would have chosen these colors and furnishings? Mustard yellow, mauve, forest green/gold and beige...its like a goodwill had a sale. The traditional stucco exterior with the modern blue led lights....classy with a K! Breakfast was fairly decent and the staff were friendly and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
The host was very friendly and accommodating. When I asked for a different room, he did not hesitate to find me one. The room was quiet and bed very comfortable, with an extended suite that had couch and desk, refrigerator and microwave. The pool looked clean and water was warm, but i didn't get a chance to swim. The work out room was small, but had adequate equipment. The laundry room was clean and had three sets of washers and dryers. I only wished the cable TV would have had more channels. The location is downtown and close to all the restaurants. I would totally recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Fantastic Hotel, exemplary service.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Every time we spoke with a staff member their attitude was so helpful and friendly. They responded to any of our requests immediately.
Cons: Nothing! No complaints, no room for improvement, our stay was wonderful.
Location: Location is fantastic. Free parking in downtown! Walking distance to Mall, Museum, Ocean, parks. Easy driving distance to all other parts of town
I was concerned about booking this hotel because it was one of the lowest priced on Expedia. So glad I did! Our experiance at the Clarion was fantastic from beginning to end. We chose the hotel for the pool, so the kids could swim. When we arrived it was being cleaned, and wouldn't be ready for an hour. They gave the kids goody bags to help them wait, so sweet! Hospitality called our room to let us know it was ready 50 minutes later. Wonderfully kind service that really impressed me. The room was a suite, essentially two rooms, with two TVs, fantastic with kids. Room included microwave and kitchen sink, along with a decent size fridge. I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Anchorage before, and the microwave and kitchen sink is not standard, but very useful. The room was very clean, and smelt wonderful, as did the whole hotel. Bedding was comfortable, plenty of pillows. Windows opened, heat control worked and responded quickly. Location is fantastic. The pool was warm, clean, with an abundance of towels. Kids swam 4 times in 2 days! My Husband enjoyed the fitness suite. Breakfast was better than I've had at other local hotels, and I was again impressed by the service at breakfast. Staying at the Clarion was a pleasure. I've stayed in a lot of hotels, including 5 star hotels in London, and not been as impressed as I was here. We usually use the Dimond Hotel when we come to Anchorage, but the Clarion is far superior and a similar price, we'll be staying here from now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful and the price was the most bang for your buck.
Location: Many bars are in walking distance
The Clarion definitely impressed us. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Breakfast was complementary and the chef was very welcoming. For the price, you really cant beat this place. When i am in Anchorage again, I will be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to downtown. Free breakfast.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Competitive price, Decent rooms, free breakfast & wifi. Decent exercise room.
Cons: Maid service wasn't as good as it should be.
Location: Close to downtown.
Has a decent exercise room, reasonable rooms, nice breakfast. cleaning staff was inconsistent this trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Or

No parking,noise in the halls and over priced.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
This hotel is over priced and its very loud. There's no parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient clean hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We stayed here 4 nights and found the location convenient to downtown. From our window (9th st side) we had a lovely view of the mountains. Yes the rooms are not the trendiest but they served the purpose and were clean. Staff was welcoming and helpful. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel close to shopping

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking
Location: Downtown Anchorage close to shopping and restaurants
Nice hotel in downtown Anchorage. Walking distance to shops, restaurants, museum, coastal trail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Anchorage

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Downtown Anchorage
Large room in the heart of downtown Anchorage. Parking lot isn't covered and is shared with Benihana Restaurant next door so hard to find a spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good deal if the right price

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Its a nice place. Staff are very accommodating & pleasant to deal with. They let us check in a early & check out at 1.00. We appreciate that.