Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, broken room

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff is friendly and professional, but not exactly responsive. Upon arrival in our room we found out our phone wasn't working. We called the front desk with a cell phone to report the broken phone and was asked "do you want us to fix it?" Yes. But no one showed. The shower and tub were dirty. The shower needed to be rigged to get it to work. The room was okay and they just need a maintenance person to fix things up. It's not good that they book rooms in this condition. The business center and exercise room were sufficient to get things done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted May 5, 2017
Love that the entire facility is smoke free. The continental breakfast was having technical difficulties the first morning with the toaster and waffle maker but the rest of the mornings were fine. They have pet rooms which is nice because we were traveling with a puppy, I was just shocked at the lack of respect that others with pets have. There was poop everywhere, as if no one bothers to clean up after their pets. (This is not the facility's fault)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Nice hotel close to railroad station and downtown

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Customer service is top-notch. We appreciate that the hotel welcomes pets. Room was very comfortable. Cleaning was not completely thorough, though.
Location: Close to Alaska Railroad station. A good walk to downtown, uphill.
My family stayed here on a trip to Anchorage and found the hotel to be as accommodating as we have always found it. Pets are welcome here. Morning breakfast, with sausage or bacon and eggs, many bread and fruit choices, yogurt, and waffles is very nice and well presented. My family had many heavy totes to bring with us to the train station, and the van driver was most helpful loading them onto the courtesy van and unloading them--above and beyond what one would expect. Newspapers provided daily. This hotel has excellent customer service, and is reasonably priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

"The Last Frontier", but not in a good way!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Front desk was fine checking us in.
Cons: Cleanliness. Clean with attention to detail. A quiet time so people stop yelling in the hall and kids stop running and playing outside doorsways.
Location: Have a car or transportation to get to town. I wouldn't advise walking in that neighborhood. "Park at your own risk" was posted in the parking lot.
While we were driving to the hotel location, we were concerned because it looked like a docking, warehouse business area. The hotel was in a desolate area to say the least. They said they recently renovated the hotel, but only the hallways and foyer looked like anything had been done. We had a new chair, but the other 2 chairs were covered in pet hair, fur, dander and stains., The floor was full of crumbs, hair and dirt. The bathroom was a dusty mess with stains around the toilet and tub. The fan had so much dust in and around it that every time we used it, it hissed and wheezed like an asthmatic. We brought our hypoallergenic dog and she had so was covered in remnants from the last pets that I had an allergic reaction. If they would have cleaned properly it wouldn't have been an issue. The cleaning carts don't have vacuums on them. They don't pay attention to the basics and even left us a have filled bottle of "complimentary shampoo". The jacuzzi has been closed for two years but they continue to list it as an amenity. Really?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable, esp for the $$

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Salt water pool was nice and good temp, rooms are spacious with a mini fridge and microwave in the room. There is a surprisingly large and varied gym, although we didn't get a chance to use it. Bathroom was kind of small, especially since we had wet swimming clothes hanging in there. There is a nice continental breakfast also. The only drawback is that you could hear trains in the distance a couple times in the night. There was one loud train but it was about 8pm. It actually seemed quiet because there is very little road traffic. Overall, it was great for the kids AND adults and the fridge and microwave and breakfast saved us lots of $$. We will probably use that hotel from now on in Anchorage. Also, it's only about a 3 minute drive to "downtown" strip. You can walk also, but it was COLD while we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Clean room, convenient amenities, and the best thing about it is the location...right on Ship Creek, for the summertime anglers, across the street from Fur Rondy events for wintertime visitors, and walking distance to downtime for anytime of year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The staff was very accommodating and the location was next to a nice trail and close to town but not in the middle of it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

One major complaint

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed everything about our stay except where we were located..
Cons: Something about the noise in the exercise room
Location: We went to the Fur Rondy and it was very convenient
We were put in a room that was right above the exercise room, at 5AM in the morning someone started running on the treadmill, although I admire their zeal, I do not appreciate not being able to sleep. I would recommend the place to anyone just be sure you don't get room 216..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and front desk but hotel dated

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Could look at Fur Rondy snow sculptures outside the room.
Cons: Just update with paint, carpet, doors, etc. Needs to be "freshened up" a bit.
Stayed here about 15 years ago when the property was newer. Obviously it has aged and that is beginning to show, especially in the rooms. Nothing that paint and some money to update can't fix. After turning the faucet on in the sink, it would not turn off. They were quick to send someone, but had to turn the water off overnight to get it to stop running full force. A plumber fixed it the next day and they gave me a discounted rate on the room. Can't ask for more than that but had to use bathtub water to brush teeth. Lobby and breakfast area look great and front desk is very helpful and courteous. Overall good hotel and pleasant stay. Beautiful location in Anchorage. Perhaps corporate should invest some money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Nice hotel close to Downtown

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Great place, very clean, and quiet. Walkable distance to shops and restaurants.