Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Maybe not a 5 start hotel but...

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: breakfast; on a street with little traffic; creek out back; relatively quiet, peaceful atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing really. Had a hard time finding the hotel at first. Got rental car at airport, had no data on phone. My fault for not verifying directions.
Location: Down near the creek below the major roads. Pretty much everything tour-wise is within range.
This was a very comfortable hotel for our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend as well as stay there again if/when I return. This is not a luxury hotel, but it has everything you need. Clean room, morning breakfast and friendly staff. The breakfast if pretty basic (cereal, meat, eggs and bread), but it served us well. It was so tasty, we ate there every morning of our 5 night stay. It does have some trains across the street that come and go a few times a day, but this was no problem for us as we were out and about most everyday. We only heard the horns as we were leaving in the morning and couple of times as we where coming back for the day. Never heard a horn during the night. Since we were taking a train tour anyway, it was nice to have the depot located so close to the hotel. Nice, calm, creek out back. If I were a fisherman, it looks like a really nice place to fish. Normally, I don't write reviews, but my experience was so good there I actually miss the place now. That has never happened before. Again, there are no frills, but your basics are well taken care of and if I ever make it back to Alaska, I will not even consider another hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from juneau AK

nice --- my second stay here

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Close to the train station so be prepared for the whistles. Nice trails behind for short evening walks. Near to downtown Anchorage also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Airport shuttle and close to downtown and a good walking path. Clean and spacious rooms.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Walking path.
The hotel was fine. Great staff, clean, attractive, etc. but it is very noisy due to train whistles all day, all night and right there. The train station is across the street. We stayed there 3 nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Close to the RR station.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Close to RR station. Had a nice breakfast bar.
Cons: Just the ceiling fan
Location: It was within walking distance to the town. The shuttle ran early to late--very handy.
Only problem was the ceiling fan--the chain to control it was gone--we could not turn it off. It just ran continuously.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on walking path

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Airport shuttle. Clean. Nice rooms.
Location: Downtown and great walking path right beside the hotel.
Our original check-in was not good. The associate at the front desk was rude and gave no information. When asked a question regarding where the ice was she gave us incorrect information. However, after a terrible night in a room that had a ceiling fan rumbling and shaking our room beneath us, the staff the next morning was very accommodating and changed our room quickly. The train whistles blow all night and are very loud. The train station is across the street. Shuttle to the airport was good. We were able to leave luggage here and that was nice. Noise is the reason that we did not care for the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Flott opphold, rett ved togstasjon og gå avstand til sentrum
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parsons, KS

Kansas

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The ULU factory was right next door with free trolley transporation to the heart of town, which is within walking distance if you are used to walking 8+ blocks. The walk back from town is all downhill, that is a plus later when the trolley stops running. The trains run on either side of hotel so its perfect for hopping on it. Computer avail to print airline info. Breakfast adequate amount of fiber to get your day started. Really nice pool
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Franklin, TN

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Convenient to Alaska Railroad station; free tram to downtown at the Ulu factory a block or so away that helped tremendously.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saunderstown

Nice hotel next to the train station.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Location was nice; rooms were big.
Cons: It would have been nice is the breakfast could have extended longer as many patrons were still trying to eat as it was being closed down.
Location: It is right near the water and the Ulu factory with a free trolley; the visitor's center is a quick ride or walk from the hotel as well as good food.
It was easy to get to from our late night train, and within walking distance of great restaurants and the visitors center. Be advised that because it is near the train station, you will hear the train whistles as they run through the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels