Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Homer

Close to the train depot

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The proximity to the train depot was all this hotel had going for it. The entry way is inconvenient to access from the parking spaces, and there isn't enough "drive-way" space to facilitate more than one vehicle unloading at a time. The first room had demo work being done to the bathroom and should have been out of order. The second room had the temperature set at 80° and took a long time to get comfortable. The building itself conducts noise a little too well to be conducive to sleep, running the fan on the AC unit is a must for drowning out the sounds of other guests. Bathroom fan sounded like an airplane trying to take off while dragging its nose on the ground. Guest services rep didn't seem terribly concerned over inconveniences. Serves the same tired old continental breakfast fare as every hotel you've ever begrudgingly woke up in after a night of something like sleep on a past due mattress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Hotel close to downtown

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The staff and the décor was pleasant to look at.
Cons: The cleaning of the room could have been a little better.
Location: Close to downtown where there are a lot of shops and places to eat. The famous Ulu factory is within walking distance.
The hotel is close to downtown, but it is close also to the train station. The hill you must go up and down is very icy in the winter. The room was clean, but I found items on the floor left by a vacumn done, and the toilet had a habit of running all night. The breakfast was good and a nice variety. The staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Maybe not a 5 start hotel but...

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: breakfast; on a street with little traffic; creek out back; relatively quiet, peaceful atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing really. Had a hard time finding the hotel at first. Got rental car at airport, had no data on phone. My fault for not verifying directions.
Location: Down near the creek below the major roads. Pretty much everything tour-wise is within range.
This was a very comfortable hotel for our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend as well as stay there again if/when I return. This is not a luxury hotel, but it has everything you need. Clean room, morning breakfast and friendly staff. The breakfast if pretty basic (cereal, meat, eggs and bread), but it served us well. It was so tasty, we ate there every morning of our 5 night stay. It does have some trains across the street that come and go a few times a day, but this was no problem for us as we were out and about most everyday. We only heard the horns as we were leaving in the morning and couple of times as we where coming back for the day. Never heard a horn during the night. Since we were taking a train tour anyway, it was nice to have the depot located so close to the hotel. Nice, calm, creek out back. If I were a fisherman, it looks like a really nice place to fish. Normally, I don't write reviews, but my experience was so good there I actually miss the place now. That has never happened before. Again, there are no frills, but your basics are well taken care of and if I ever make it back to Alaska, I will not even consider another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from juneau AK

nice --- my second stay here

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Close to the train station so be prepared for the whistles. Nice trails behind for short evening walks. Near to downtown Anchorage also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Airport shuttle and close to downtown and a good walking path. Clean and spacious rooms.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Walking path.
The hotel was fine. Great staff, clean, attractive, etc. but it is very noisy due to train whistles all day, all night and right there. The train station is across the street. We stayed there 3 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Close to the RR station.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Close to RR station. Had a nice breakfast bar.
Cons: Just the ceiling fan
Location: It was within walking distance to the town. The shuttle ran early to late--very handy.
Only problem was the ceiling fan--the chain to control it was gone--we could not turn it off. It just ran continuously.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on walking path

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Airport shuttle. Clean. Nice rooms.
Location: Downtown and great walking path right beside the hotel.
Our original check-in was not good. The associate at the front desk was rude and gave no information. When asked a question regarding where the ice was she gave us incorrect information. However, after a terrible night in a room that had a ceiling fan rumbling and shaking our room beneath us, the staff the next morning was very accommodating and changed our room quickly. The train whistles blow all night and are very loud. The train station is across the street. Shuttle to the airport was good. We were able to leave luggage here and that was nice. Noise is the reason that we did not care for the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin, TN

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Convenient to Alaska Railroad station; free tram to downtown at the Ulu factory a block or so away that helped tremendously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saunderstown

Nice hotel next to the train station.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Location was nice; rooms were big.
Cons: It would have been nice is the breakfast could have extended longer as many patrons were still trying to eat as it was being closed down.
Location: It is right near the water and the Ulu factory with a free trolley; the visitor's center is a quick ride or walk from the hotel as well as good food.
It was easy to get to from our late night train, and within walking distance of great restaurants and the visitors center. Be advised that because it is near the train station, you will hear the train whistles as they run through the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Why I chose Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: please read the above.
Cons: given the realities of hotel overhead and rather short tourist season, I don't see any substantive changes possible--not at this price.
Location: Downtown Anchorage=not much to offer in my opinion other than one very good museums. Denali is biggest draw. Local flight over the park/Alaska Range
Our family has stayed here on 5 occasions when traveling to and from Denali. The staff is helpful and courteous. The shuttle is very helpful for in town short hauls. The rooms are quiet and clean. The breakfast is adequate. Beds are comfortable. The hotel's location is handy. The bus and train connections to and from the "Park" are easy to access. Of course, unless one is staying miles out from downtown, there is the noise of the trains as this was the hub for tourists going north and south (Fairbanks-Seward) . This sound does not last long into the night in our experience. It was not disruptive to our rest.