Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Quaint hotel in downtown location.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Small and cozy hotel with nice rooms great continental breakfast and friendly staff. No hotel parking, so plan to spend $25/day on public parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

I Broke Down and Went Cheap

Posted Dec 16, 2016
I broke down for $ reasons and stayed a week at an Anchorage B&B while in town for work (off season), which I never do, and payed the price. What I got was a small basement room, with bath, in an old house. It's that simple. Some people think these things are quaint, me? not so much. Never again. Old cramped properties are just that, old and cramped. Time for the owners to sell and let the ultra prime location get developed into a well designed 21st century boutique hotel or mixed use mid rise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy Friendly Place to Stay

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We've stayed at Copper Whale numerous times when we spend a weekend in Anchorage. Our favorite is the Romig Room with its fireplace and view of the ocean. The location is near the trail along the water, and the center of downtown is a few blocks walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are always happy to have returning guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel central to downtown Anchorage

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, view
Cons: Some of the furnishings (sofas in rooms mainly) could use some updating. But still very comfortable.
Location: Take the trolley tour.
I highly recommend Copper Whale Inn. The staff were highly professional and helpful. I loved the breakfast buffet, as they consider all people. The bread was local and excellent (so rare). They even had greek nonfat yoghurt! All the rooms are sufficient, while some could use a tad updating but very comfortable and charming. I have no complaints and highly recommend this inn for your stay in Anchorage!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and suggestions. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experiences. Come see us again if you are ever back in Anchorage!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

lovely except for our rooms

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Expedia may have been to blame for choosing cramped downstairs, unattractive rooms (2 2-night stays) uncomfortable bed, no view. windows opened horizontally onto shared deck, so shades had to be pulled all the way down for privacy. Strongly suggest asking for upper level room. Common area breakfast/sitting room was lovely as were outside gardens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
We are sorry your room was not to your liking. We do have a variety of room options, including larger queen rooms facing the Cook Inlet and upstairs rooms with more privacy. We are glad you enjoyed the common areas and the gardens and hope the rest of your stay was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Good location lots of space bike rental right in front
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We hope to have you stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quaint boutique stay

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: very different and wonderful décor with nice waterfall outside. Also there was a nice snack and lounge area to relax.
Cons: A smaller less noisy fan
Location: Right next door to one side you can rent bikes and the other side is a 4 star restaurant to walk to. Also down the street was the water to go enjoy
Our stay was nice and it was very cute. Comfy bed and accommodations with friendly staff that took us right in before check in time. They even made us a breakfast bag to go to meet our early train as we would miss their breakfast. With the window open, it can get street noise but they had earplugs on the nightstand for you. There was also a fan in the room if you got warm. We'd stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Comfortable B&B - Close to downtown

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Location (right off Tony Knowles biking/walking/running trail) and near downtown restaurants Price (cheaper than Captain Cook) Attitude of ownership
Cons: Availability of parking??
Location: The downtown area of Anchorage is walkable from the Copper Whale. This makes the restaurants and downtown entertainment available very easily.
We added this hotel at the conclusion of the land portion of an Alaska cruise. It was about one block away from the Captain Cook Hotel (THE premium hotel in Anchorage) and actually has a better view for most rooms. It was also about $100 cheaper per night. The breakfast (included) was an upgraded Continental and was tasty and adequate. The best thing here is their flexibility; we had a late night flight and they were willing to keep our bags (without cost) for the whole day until we picked them up at 8:30 at night. They were very friendly and willing to please.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy to know you had a nice stay. Come see us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

great location for many anchorage attractions

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: I loved that we felt we were in a bed and breakfast amongst all these towering hotels
Cons: our tv did not work
Location: location could not have been better; centrally location to many walking sites and with the free shuttles to the zoo etc our stay was great
Staff made us feel very welcome. Comfy general living room/snack area for us to have a filling free breakfast or just to relax with tea and fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review. As always, we hope to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay for our guests. I apologize for any inconvenience with the TV. Often they simply just need to be reset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great staff!

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Free wi-fi, comfy rooms, great staff, free breakfast, close to dining and tourist activities
Cons: Shuttle would be nice.
Location: Great restaurants, shopping.
Nice family type place, free breakfast, great staff and walking distance to great restaurants and activities resources.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by info@copperwhale.com, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear you had a good stay! We hope to see you again in the future.