Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice Hotel Minutes from Downtown

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location to downtown, lots of parking.
Cons: I asked for a slightly later check out time and they refused.
Location: Fairbanks is a town, not a city and there isn't much to do after 11PM. The only good bar here is Big I Pub
Checked in to pleasant staff. Although they gave accurate directions about bars and restaurants they didn't give any specifics,
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Anjan, thank you for choosing Extended Stay America - Anchorage – Downtown for your trip to the area. We are glad you liked our closeness to Downtown and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and will be used to improve our service. Thanks for being our guest. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anchorage

Does not feel safe for single person.

Posted May 15, 2017
Not enough lighting in parking lot with lot behind building. Need a security guard to walk people to front door at night from parking lot. Drunk guests arguing in hallways. Bedding is old. TV reception poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during your visit. We take the safety and security of all of our guests very seriously and have policies and procedures in place to ensure those. On rare occasions we have guests who do not adhere to the property rules concerning noise, resulting in a negative experience for our valued guests. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make sure we are more consistent in our service levels. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope you will visit us again, so we can restore your faith in our hotel. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

On The Corner

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, quiet
Cons: Check in time.....plane arrived at 5 am but had to wait until 3 to check in
Location: Shopping mall was near by, Walmart, and several places to eat within walking distance
Hotel was very clean and quiet and easy to find. Close to shopping area and not too far from the school.......Room was a lot bigger than expected, fridge, and microwave!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mitchell, thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown. We are happy that you liked our well-kept property, convenient location and your well-equipped room as well. However, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused while you were here. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to have you back with us soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The location was nice
Cons: Everything
When I went to check in, my reservation wasn't on file. My room was dark and smelly. The toilet didn't flush well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Frances, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at the time of check-in and with your room. I will share your feedback with my team to check what went wrong and to ensure this does not happen again. Please visit us again so we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where I needed to be

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The checkin wasn't till 3pm and when I finally did check in I got a terrible parking spot because I was told I couldn't get it any earlier than 3pm and yet others had checked in earlier. The first room they put me in the A/C was broke and the room wouldn't cool down, so they switched me rooms and there were people in that room so they had to find me another room. For the price it wasn't the best place to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. I assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify why we failed so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. We hope to have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

extended stay anchorage

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: great location to downtown federal building and Merrill field. Easy access, like kitchen. pool was closed.
Cons: pool open and put back the hot tub
Location: great location to downtown federal building and Merrill field. 5th ave mall nearby.
great location to downtown federal building and Merrill field. Easy access, like kitchen. pool was closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the very nice review of Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown. We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable experience and that our convenient location was perfect for everything you wanted to do on your trip. However, we are sorry for not meeting all of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope our hotel will be your preferred choice the next time you visit our area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Not anchorage

hotel employees &/or management

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: smoking rooms & THAT IS IT!
Cons: Change is the one female employee, I think she was a samoan lady. Because that was the only lady at front desk.
Location: Mall, plenty of shops, food & drinks, City Center park in middle of downtown, rent pedal bikes, there quite a bit of things to do.
I had a great check-in experience, the guy at counter was really nice, polite and helpful. SInce I knew I was arriving so late (3AM) I made the reservation for that whole day & the next. (2nights). Well I got woken up with a phone call @ 11:30am from a lady at the front desk and telling me "check out time is 11am, I know you got here very late so we were giving you a little extra time, but it's check-out time" ME: "um, no my check-out isn't until tomorrow! I reserved this room until tomorrow!" The VERY RUDE lady (b****) started arguing with me until I finally told her "I made & paid for this room thru expedia, as checking in on the 2nd and check out the 4th of April, Is it the 4th today?" She then was even more snobby and told me I'm sorry ma'am" and then just hung up on me. I was so angry that she sat there and just argued with a me, THE CUSTOMER!! I know there is all kinds of people out there that they have to deal with, but when you work at a place where customer service is something that EVERY employee & manager should be standing there with a smile, greet you, and be HAPPY to HELP!! I WILL NOT stay here again. Because besides for that, the room was dirty, I don't think the maid service even vacuumed or wiped anything down. There was so much dust, dirt, probably food pieces and who knows what else on the carpet. Colored pencil and side of bed next to window, blood or something that looked alot like blood on the back-inside of toilet paper holder. Extended Stay Downto
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about the rudeness of one of our staff members. We are extremely concerned with this behavior, and we apologize for this disrespect. I will definitely speak with her. Be assured that we will reinforce our training to ensure such incidents are not repeated. We truly value all of our guests and want them to feel that we care about them. Kindly consider this an isolated incident, and we ask that you allow us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to this area. Sincerely, General Manager 
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Only thing there was no coffee pot in room and tv channels made buzzing noises, in room 409
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are glad your overall stay was a pleasant one. However, we regret your disappointment. Coffee makers along with other kitchenware are available at the front desk, and we apologize if it was not communicated to you at the check-in. Your concern about the television will be addressed to the Engineering team. We hope that you will choose us again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Cons: Location
Location: Watch the crackheads
This used to be a decent part of town. It has been taken over by drug addicts. Flat scary place after dark!
1 out of 5
by senecca

NEVER AGAIN!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi did not work my week stay there. Pool and gym was out of order the entire time. One day a week maid service available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that you were inconvenienced by the WiFi and some of our amenities being out of order. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.