Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Smelled like smoke everywhere.. could be cleaned up a little better and updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by tammy@ghalaska.com, Hotel Management
The GuestHouse Anchorage Inn team deeply apologizes for your negative experience during your stay with us. The issues you have mentioned will be addressed and handled. It is our mission to provide our guest with a positive experience, and in your case, we are deeply sorry that you were not pleased. We wish you the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Reasonable Anchorage hotel near Downtown

Posted Nov 28, 2016
This is a decent hotel on the eastern edge of Downtown Anchorage. Parking is generally easy, considering being in the middle of the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with convenient access. Includes breakfast at the excellent diner across the street. Overall a good value for Anchorage, which can be expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Tammy Wanner, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review. It makes our team so happy to know that our guests enjoy their stay. We hope that a return visit with us is in your future. Again, Thank You.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tijuana, MX

Really accesible hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016
All the staff was really nice and approachable, willing to give you tips for the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Tammy Wanner, Hotel Management
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. Our team works hard to make sure our guest's stay is as perfect as possible. Have a Merry Christmas and we hope you visit again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for shopping but bedbugs

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Bedbugs never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Bed bugs have increasingly become a problem in the United States. Reports of these pests are not only in hotels, but also homes, cruise ships, apartments, movie theaters, retail commercial stores and offices are just to name a few. We take bed bugs very seriously and take every precaution necessary to make sure that these uninvited pests are immediately eliminated prior to being reported. American Pest Management has helped us prevent these bugs with their monthly inspections of the Hotel, the installation of bed bug monitors and mattress and box spring encasements on the beds. These encasements prevent the bed bugs from making our bed their home. It addition, our housekeepers keep a watchful eye our for any signs of these unwanted pests. We would greatly appreciate any information you can provide on where and when these bugs were encountered as American Pest Management advised that we were pest free the day prior to your review. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Tammy Wanner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Clean, bit noisy but not bad. Will stay there in the future if I am in the area, cant beat the price. Breakfast was very good, served across the street at a restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by tammy@ghalaska.com, Hotel Management
We love to hear feedback from our loyal guests. Next time you come see us or call for your reservation we can make sure you get a quiet room. If you’re a Hello Rewards members we can actually update your profile to alert us to give you the quietest room. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you back here with us soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay here again

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed many places in downtown anchorage and never been more disappointed. The room looks nothing like advertised. It was barely larger than a walkin closet. There was literally two feet on either side of the bed to the wall. The bed was so uncomfortable that we barely slept either of the the two nights we were there. The front desk staff was more interested in ordering their dinner than checking us in. The room was excessively noisy from sirens and traffic outside all night long. Our room back to an alley that had several homeless drunk people loitering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service. It is our regret to hear about the problems you may have experienced with your reservations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we look forward to hearing back from you very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff.
Location was perfect to where my activities were and staff were more than accommodating with my requests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Shawn, Hotel Management
That's what we like to hear, we try our best to accommodate every guest that walks through our doors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were very satisfied with our stay!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff was the best part
Location: Great location, malls and shopping nearby
Clean rooms, very friendly staff. Always helpful and accommodating
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by tammy@ghalaska.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Our staff loves to see comments such at these showing there hard work is paying off. We hope to see you on your next visit to Anchorage!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget only

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was terrible breakfast was good workout room was minimal and old
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for your review and bringing your concerns to our attention. We appreciate any and all feedback so that we may continue to improve our product and service. We're sorry to hear that your stay was less than a pleasant one and that your bed did not meet your expectations. We are definitely looking into it and will take care of it if need be. If there is anything else we can help you with don't hesitate to contact us directly. We hope when you are in the area you will give us another chance to make you a satisfied customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to good food and shopping

Posted Oct 5, 2016
I've stayed here before and had a good experience. I prefer the street view instead of the parking lot view but the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and efficient
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by tammy@ghalaska.com, Hotel Management
We love to hear feedback from our loyal guests. Next time you come see us or call for your reservation we can make sure you get a quiet room. If you’re a Hello Rewards members we can actually update your profile to alert us to give you a room facing 5th Avenue. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you back here with us soon!