Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Marginally better than hostel

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Check out. And the pleasant staff.
Cons: Refurbishment
Location: Right in downtown, above a huge gift shop which played amphlifed loud music from 8am to 8pm, close to the railroad station (10minutes walk)
We booked 3night based on the good rating,and found it well below. The hotel is very old and not well maintained, room is tiny,not even have towl rail in the bathroom,no sound proof at all. Breakfast is cold and poor, used paper bowl to have cereal !!! Hotel is opposite Hard Rock cafe which palys loud musice till late. Unfortunately we stayed during USA's labor day long weekend,music stopped at midnight, then funny peopel cruising in noisy vehicles around the block till 3am, this happened all 3 nights, we only can have 4 hour good sleep everynight. In short the hotel is way over priced for what you get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Pricey stay at historic older hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Hotel is right downtown. Historic old hotel charm.
Cons: No parking, only options are park on the street or an open lot a couple blocks away. Most room views are of a concrete wall, so check first.
Location: Right downtown so easy walking access to everything.
Good place if you want historic hotel charm and downtown access. Very pricey for what you actually get at the end of the day. If you want more modern luxury, there are better options right next door.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: ロケーションと朝食、フレンドリーなスタッフ。
Cons: お湯の温度が低いので改善が必要
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unable to sleep here due to street noise.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel was quaint, the staff friendly and the rooms comfortable (except for the noise issue).
Cons: Needs noise abatement improvements.
The most important thing to me when staying in a hotel is being able to get a good night's sleep. I stayed in this hotel in August on a Saturday night. My room faced the street and the noise was unlike anything I have ever experienced at any other hotel. From 11pm to 3:30 am there was constant loud noise from folks out partying- it sounded like New Year's Eve, but still going at 3 am! It also sounded like drag racing was going on outside my window. Obviously, Anchorage does not have any law enforcement when it comes to excessive noise at those hours. I know the hotel cannot control this, but they should not put guests in rooms where the noise level cannot be reasonably managed.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aspen, CO.

Favorite hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Beautiful large rooms, new furniture, great beds, great staff. We like this hotel better than all hotels in Alaska, it was charming. We stayed at what is rated the best hotel in Anchorage the week prior - The Captain Cook, but found the rooms cold & plain there. So happy we booked the Historic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Very small room with less than comfortable bed. Staff was great!
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Evan from Freehold, NJ

Historic but....

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
This is a historic building and i expected it to be a bit more modern than how it was. No air but a fan. Hard to control a temperature. No screens on the windows. It on the main street so if your room faces 4th you will be awake until 11pm with music. Very annoying.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida Keys

Great staff!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Friendliness of staff, ambiance, cleanliness and location
Location: Close to summer marketplace, great restaurants, bike rental and Coastal Trail
Everyone was extremely accommodating and friendly. Although our room was small with no view, it was very clean
4 out of 5
for Couples
by stephen from Perth w.a

Ghost tour hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
Close to city center convenient for restaurant s easy to find when cruising next to drop off/ check in point, is a tourist attraction in it's self . Would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

historic and central

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Cons: plenty
Old hotel with limited facilities but very central - staff freindly