Ratings based on 662 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Great hotel staff. They made us feel welcome and went the extra mile to make our experience special. They delivered flowers and other great treats for my daughter for her state gymnastics meet. 😊
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, United States of America

Nice hotel in general, close to amenities

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great deal on a room during the winter season... in the 3rd tower. Meaning the rooms weren't in the best shape. We were awakened at 8 am by housekeeping knocking and then entering our room. We had arrived late check in (11pm) the previous night. Disappointing to have been awakened that way. No fans in the bathrooms?! Seriously? And, in this modern age, we have a room with barely any outlets and only 1/2 that worked. Lastly, our white sheets had several brownish stains. Looked like vomit that even bleach couldn't handle. We did enjoy our room service and the proximity to the downtown amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best View!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: View! Updated and clean!
Cons: Staff attitude at Crow's Nest! Bar was full and the restaurant wasn't. Was told we couldn't sit at a table and order drink,appetizer,dessert until 10p
Location: Rosita's Boutique, I buy from there everytime I go to Anch.
Wanted to stay someplace clean with the best view in Anchorage when my best friend decided to come up for a couple days. We stayed in a Jr.Suite, had the best view of Mt.Mckinley. The room was updated and clean, plenty of room for us to visit in the living room facing Mt. Susitna and McKinley. When our visit was cut short and had to check out a day early, I was given a refund on the last day, no questions! I grew up in Anchorage and have ALWAYS STAYED HERE WHEN IN TOWN!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhinebeck, NY

A great hotel in an unusual city

Posted Nov 19, 2016
I had a chance to spend three nights in the Cook, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I do travel on business quite often and stay at a wide range of quality hotels. From that perspective, the Cook really stood out. Fabulous amenities. Good restaurants. Great location. Do spend some late afternoon time in the roof-top bar/restaurant. Gorgeous views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lynnwood, United States of America

Great downtown location, near shopping and restaur

Posted Nov 16, 2016
My first time there, loved the whole experience from this fine hotel . It's got class that most others don't in Anchorage. Clean comfortable rooms, good dining choices, a great bar and some souvenir and clothing shops as well. I will definitely return on my next visit to Anchorage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Elegant yet truly Alaskan.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
We got a corner room and it was awesome! The room layout was convenient and the furnishings are comfortable. I'd probably rent it as an apartment if it was available... :-)) The bed and pillows were top notch, and we got a great night's sleep. The from desk folks are friendly, accommodating and helpful; plenty of places to hang out with friends, and eat or drink. Close to shopping, and the valet parking is definitely very useful. Will go there again..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I stay at hotel when affordable

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, the charcuterie plate with wine! I'm required to write an essay of how many words for this?!?! Who's stupid idea was this??!
Cons: I like tipping for room service to the person who delivers, usually $5, but to find out I am charged $3.50 and 20% for room delivery?!?! I was hoping to find more available foods, like sandwiches. I went to the coffee shop 30 minutes before they closed and there was nothing, and even when I stood there looking around, the person working there was engaged in a conversation with a customer, and after a couple of minutes never asked me if I needed anything, so I left.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Fanciest hotel in downtown anchorage

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Fancy, friendly staff, right in the heart of downtown anchorage
Cons: Room size
Location: The Captain Cook is right downtown near shopping, nice restaurants, and beautiful views from the port of anchorage.
The room we chose was smaller than expected but tidy and comfortable. Staff was very accommodating and polite and everything you could need was offered within the hotel. A breakfast voucher came with the purchase of the room which I did not know about at the time of purchase so that was a nice surprise. Would stay here again in a larger room because this one was overpriced for its size even with the markdown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Fabulous view of the bay

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Great location! Walking distance to lots of things and special places to see. We were there just after summer season but before winter so not too much happening. Lots to see just in the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
It is alway my favorite place to stay in Anchorage. Always has been and will always be!