Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MX

Nice Hotel, Best Breakfast Downtown

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: It is clean and very well preserved for an Hotel its size.
Cons: When it comes to staff it is difficult to improve. I would think is hard to notice if someone giving attitude to a guest with or without reason.
Location: Nearby you have a ton of souvenir shops, a small shopping mall, the museum and some restaurants.
I have to say that, although most of the staff was really nice and helpful, there where some rotten fruits, especially at 'El Cafe' dinning room, where an older gray haired woman seemed to be giving us the 'evil eye' our entire stay. At one point she waited on us and got half of our order wrong. Even though me and my companion ordered the exact same thing, one of us got it right and the other completely wrong. Now, in spite of this woman, there is no better place to have breakfast that 'El Cafe'. Now, sorry, but this has to be said. The room amenities: toilet paper. It was the kind you might find at a Marriott or a Taco Bell. Yes, the really thin one, the one you have to use four times the usual amount to get the job done. Other than those two 'inconveniences' I have to say that I enjoyed my stay at the Captain Cook. Everything downtown is at walking distance, including a small shopping mall, the museum and a lot of souvenir shops. And as I said, there's no better place to have breakfast at, than 'El Cafe'. We tried other places like the famous, and extremely expensive 'Snow City Cafe' with poor results.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OR

Convenient to walk downtown

Posted Apr 1, 2017
It's clean and somewhat updated, but better stay at other newer locations. Plus you have to pay for parking each time you leave the hotel and that adds up. Old and outdated TV and I thought the beds were suppose to be doubles but they are more like twins. Great views.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view but needs some improvements

Posted Mar 24, 2017
First room I stayed in had someone's belongings in it and hadn't been cleaned. I was moved to another room, but the heat was on so high that even with windows open and ceiling fan on full blast I could not get comfortable. Otherwise, hotel is beautiful and especially loved the women's spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tomah wi

Beautiful hotel with amazing view

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Loved this hotel. Fantastic restaurants great shops and an amazing steam room. Room was wonderful. I will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Let's Rondy!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Stayed for Iditarod cerimonial start and had a wonderful time downtown. Show up early for a 15-30miniute wait at the open air cafe during breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage

Retirement party

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Several years since I stayed at the hotel. Staff was very friendly and professional. Room clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We enjoyed the beautiful view from our room. Nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to a lot of popular restuarants

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Good stay when you're with a small group. The only bad thing about is the party policy. They'll give you no warning before kicking you out even if you're being quiet. Ohh you'll have to pay addional $25 for parking if you're staying during the winter. Other than that it is one of the best hotels in Anchorage to stay with a small group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The Hotel Captain Cook is a world class, stellar hotel on every level; food, professionalism, comfort, warmth, friendly, helpful, etc... A BIG shout out and thank you to Ryan at the front desk and the security team for ensuring some personal items I'd mistakenly left in my room, made it to me the next day in Juneau! They went out of their way to take care of me and I appreciate them immensely. Warm Regards, Ann Bachand
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels