Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane WA

A really nice place.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Quality of the service.
Cons: Lots of folks stand outside the entrances and smoke. But there are no ashtrays or garbage cans around any entrance that saw. Odd.
Location: Right down the street from the Catholic church, and just six blocks from Nordstrom. Easy.
I would highly recommend the Hotel Captain Cook. When I checked in I was asked what type of view I would like. Having never been asked that question, I wasn't sure what to respond, so I left it up to the person helping me. I was given a room in Tower 3 that faced the mountains and Cook Inlet. Great way to start a two-night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The staff was super friendly! Good price and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
It was foggy so darn no view of sleeping lady not much you could do about that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always Wonderful

Posted Dec 12, 2016
I love staying here! It's always wonderful, no complaints ever! Great food, Great Staff, Perfect Rooms! The Cubby makes a great cup of coffee in the morning, and also has one of the best breakfast burritos I've had! I will stay here my next trip to Anchorage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Great hotel staff. They made us feel welcome and went the extra mile to make our experience special. They delivered flowers and other great treats for my daughter for her state gymnastics meet. 😊
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, United States of America

Nice hotel in general, close to amenities

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great deal on a room during the winter season... in the 3rd tower. Meaning the rooms weren't in the best shape. We were awakened at 8 am by housekeeping knocking and then entering our room. We had arrived late check in (11pm) the previous night. Disappointing to have been awakened that way. No fans in the bathrooms?! Seriously? And, in this modern age, we have a room with barely any outlets and only 1/2 that worked. Lastly, our white sheets had several brownish stains. Looked like vomit that even bleach couldn't handle. We did enjoy our room service and the proximity to the downtown amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best View!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: View! Updated and clean!
Cons: Staff attitude at Crow's Nest! Bar was full and the restaurant wasn't. Was told we couldn't sit at a table and order drink,appetizer,dessert until 10p
Location: Rosita's Boutique, I buy from there everytime I go to Anch.
Wanted to stay someplace clean with the best view in Anchorage when my best friend decided to come up for a couple days. We stayed in a Jr.Suite, had the best view of Mt.Mckinley. The room was updated and clean, plenty of room for us to visit in the living room facing Mt. Susitna and McKinley. When our visit was cut short and had to check out a day early, I was given a refund on the last day, no questions! I grew up in Anchorage and have ALWAYS STAYED HERE WHEN IN TOWN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Rhinebeck, NY

A great hotel in an unusual city

Posted Nov 19, 2016
I had a chance to spend three nights in the Cook, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I do travel on business quite often and stay at a wide range of quality hotels. From that perspective, the Cook really stood out. Fabulous amenities. Good restaurants. Great location. Do spend some late afternoon time in the roof-top bar/restaurant. Gorgeous views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynnwood, United States of America

Great downtown location, near shopping and restaur

Posted Nov 16, 2016
My first time there, loved the whole experience from this fine hotel . It's got class that most others don't in Anchorage. Clean comfortable rooms, good dining choices, a great bar and some souvenir and clothing shops as well. I will definitely return on my next visit to Anchorage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Elegant yet truly Alaskan.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
We got a corner room and it was awesome! The room layout was convenient and the furnishings are comfortable. I'd probably rent it as an apartment if it was available... :-)) The bed and pillows were top notch, and we got a great night's sleep. The from desk folks are friendly, accommodating and helpful; plenty of places to hang out with friends, and eat or drink. Close to shopping, and the valet parking is definitely very useful. Will go there again..