Ratings based on 717 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown restaurants

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Loved proximity to coastal trail and train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room average. Found lower rate after paid

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Safe in room did not work- instructions unclear. Never got it to work. Pool only 17 yards long, seems short for workout
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for the feedback. We will work on the areas you pointed out and look forward to seeing you visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Wonderful hotel. Comfortable beds. Fabulous staff. Friendly people!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Great Hotel!

Posted May 30, 2017
Great location. Very helpful and courteous staff. Really enjoyed our stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Hi Hank, Appreciate the review. It's alway nice to see we hit our mark. Until next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Older, but still nice

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The price, the room, the staff, the facilities, and the breakfast/lunch cafe.
Cons: It could use a remodel, it's circa 1960's decor. The prices on the non-cafe restaurants could be balanced to the food quality.
Location: In one corner of downtown Anchorage, near several other hotels and dining establishments.
My wife and I stayed in the Captain Cook for 4 days and 3 nights in a Junior Suite. It was huge and well appointed, with two TVs, a couch, and a large king bed. While a little dated, the facilities were very good. The little breakfast/lunch cafe served quality options that met our dietary restrictions (try the reindeer sausage), though the rest of the dining options seemed overpriced for their quality. The hotel is located very much near 'downtown' Anchorage and within convenient walking distance to several tourist locations, shops, and better restaurants (Orso's was amazing). The hotel staff was extremely helpful, courteous, and obviously accustomed to dealing with large volumes of customers (as this hotel is often frequented by night-time cruise-line stays). The sprawling facilities, rooms, and options within the hotel were good, though my wife and I preferred to leave the hotel for our stay for touring. All in all, highly recommended for the price and quality combination.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
terrible experience; could not take a shower before dinner engagement because of sediment in water. Was told to let water run for 15 minutes, 2 hrs later still dirty left water running , came back 3hrs later was clear but no one cleaned the tub and sink. No offer was made for compensation until I complained again at checkout where they offered $30.00 which was offensive to me since the room was $350 and I had hosted the dinner at their restaurant the previous night for $710.00.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

It's supposed to be the nicest in Anchorage

Posted May 17, 2017
What a let down. I paid for the Deluxe King room. The 'Deluxe' is worse than standard rooms I've stayed in at less expensive hotels. Very dated and needs to be remodeled. The 'King' bed is literally a queen. When I questioned the size of the bed, the management told me it's a special 'Hotel King.' It's a queen. The reasoning for the size was so the cleaning staff could get through all the rooms in one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Soldotna, AK

Nice landmark hotel in center of Anchorage, AK

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Liked the central location within 3-blocks of Nordstroms, and the Anchorage Center for the Performing Arts, where we attended an evening performance.
Cons: The hotel needs much better quality control of Housekeeping's work.
Location: Very close to many restaurants and bars, major shopping stores, and performing arts center.
One major disappointment was poor Housekeeping work on the 11th Floor, Tower 3. The bathtub contained some kind of blackish deposit/debris, which we removed with a washcloth. The bathroom floor was also dirty. Behind closed curtains, the window was open, which we did not notice until the next morning ... it made for a noisy night from traffic, seagulls, and airplanes from the nearby ANC Intertational Airport. Very troubling for my wife who is a very light sleeper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Nicely maintained old time hotel.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Nice clean room. We only stayed one night, enough for Anchorage.
Cons: The hotel was fine, the city sucked.
Location: I guess the location was decent. After walking around the city watching the derelicts and riff raff we had lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe.
First time in Anchorage for us. My wife had worked here back in the 70's and remembered the hotel. It was old but well maintained. I would recommend it if you have to go to Anchorage. BTW, the city itself is an absolute zero. Not a place I would recommend anyone to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very welcoming staff and room. Beautiful view.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: It had the most beautiful view of the sunrise on the mountains when we woke up! The staff were great, everyone of them we came in contact with.
Cons: Better signage for the parking garage.
Location: ? we only stayed one night.
We arrived late at night, but we were welcomed as if it was midday. Very accommodating staff. Nice room! Very quiet. The only problem we had was that we were unable to find the parking garage. We drove around the hotel three times and finally decided to use the Valet.