Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nuce older tourist and business hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Close to city things.
Well kept older hotel that is probably best in Alaska, busy staff manages to remain friendly, personable, and efficient. We were there in Summer and fully enjoyed our stay. In winter, it would be even cozier, to stay here. I rarely give out 'five star' reviews but can do so here. Don't expect The Four Seasons. Do expect comfort, charm, and warm customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great downtown location - had a good dinner nearby at Glacier BrewHouse (make a reservation on OpenTable)
Outstanding hotel all around. Huge room that was clean and comfortable. Staff was super friendly. Got free parking and a room credit that we used on a very good breakfast. Ideal location downtown. We stayed here 1 night as part of a 17-day trip, and it was the best place we stayed at on the whole trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location, big tourist hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location and clean rooms, attentive staff.
Location: Downtown location, but as the town itself is small everything is in walking distance. Great place to use as a hub for day trips.
Easy check in, got an upgrade, nice views of Anchorage, everything close by. Interesting Capt Cook theme with large paintings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One Night Layover

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: decor
Cons: room service after midnight; many people arriving late i e after midnight cannot get anything to eat!
Arrived late and no room service available after 12:00 pm somewhat disappointing, but hotel was nice and clean
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Beautiful view of the ocean and distant mountains

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Good Location and nice view
Everything was excellent and we decided to stay there a week later when we returned to Anchorage.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in Anchorage

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: It was in a great location.
Cons: There needs to be a message by the coffee maker to let guests know they can only use the paper cups with it. They provide ceramic and paper.
Bed was very comfortable. Room was very clean. Shower/tub had a slow drain, coffee maker didn't work and toilet had a tendency to run.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A "going place" destination hotel.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: The hotel seems to be the "going place" in town. It's location is great.
Cons: The internet wifi was VERY spotty. So much so that shops in their hotel could not connect to the Internet to charge my Visa card. It rarely worked in
Location: Large mall close by. Museum close by.
Hotel location is excellent. Museums, mall shopping are close by. The hotel has many shops withoriginal native art. Food was good and reasonably priced. However, the Internet was very spotty both in the rooms and in the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston Massachusetts

Best in Anchorage

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Stayed days in both Captain Cook and Sheraton down the road - same price but Captain Cook far superior in every way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathtub faucet was not working well, would not become hot till you turned all the way and then become scalding hot.
Location: Very close to center of downtown, a walk away to the water front trail.
For the price, leaves a little more to be desired in terms of consistent condition of bathrooms. Service is really top notch though. Clean rooms otherwise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Cons: Exercise facility was small and hot!!!
Had heard that the hotel and restaurant were wonderful! Quite the contrary. The hotel room was fair at best, a bit noisy, duvet bad, and the restaurant was way overpriced for the food. I do not object paying for quality food but that it was not. The service at the restaurant was terribly slow - never any excuse for that - and it wasn't even full. Will try the Marriott next time around.