Ratings based on 806 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Annex was uncomfortable to far from the main building right in road way, scary.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Puffin Inn

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The puffin inn has three sides the main hotel entrance, the back side towards mc Donalds and the Chandler inn down the block. I booked two rooms for six nights and when I arrived they showed me a crappy satellite view of the "other" building I would be in. Also they didn't put my rooms together they put one room on the very bottom and one room at the very top floor. The Chandler inn building is right by the end of the block. So if you come during the snow be prepared to drag your luggage through it. Once inside the Chandler inn building there aren't any elevators so you either drag your luggage up three flights of steps or your on the bottom level like I was. The building has one ice machine and a broken soda machine. Other thigh that it was clean and decent. I made the mistake of writing a previous review rage first night I came about the so-called directions and misleading building info. So the rest of the five or six nights of my stay my room keys never worked. Everyday at random times I'd have to go to the front desk and have them reset my keys for both rooms. Some of the staff are unprofessional and makes your stay uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run Away Fast

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pat at the front desk is terrible with no problem solving skills. The hallways stink and carpet dirty, the beds are worn and needs to be thrown out. However housekeeping are sweet hearts and very hard working
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Monte, Ca

Great hotel - my second stay.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Room was large, clean, warm and had every amenity that you could ask for in the price range. Staff are wonderful people.
Location: Location is convenient to the airport. My flight gets in around midnight. I don't want to drive in the dark through snow. This is perfect.
This is my second stay here. Was in the annex building last time and everything was great. Chose to stay here a second time because the hotel is close to the airport. My flight gets in around midnight and I don't want to be driving in the snow at night. Ended up in the main building right beside the lobby. The room was huge for something in this price range. Fridge and microwave. Two queen beds and a huge bathroom. Sink inside bathroom and another outside in the main room. Very clean. Staff here is fantastic. Breakfast is top notch as far as a continental breakfast goes. Insulation must be awesome. I had the A/C on in the room when it was below 32F outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Fantastic experience with this hotel eve things about it was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Nice staff. Had a great stay. Saw a moose at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Nice hotel, close to the airport

Posted Mar 17, 2017
I had zero problems here. It was clean, the staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairbanks, AK

Great stay

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The hotel staff were friendly (talkative when we wanted) and helpful even with my 8 year old boy who clogged their toilet and our dog and hamster. Our room was upgraded to a suite for 4 days in order for another guest to extend their stay in a small room for a few hours. They lost quite a bit of revenue in order to make it a pleasant stay for us and the other guest! Everything was clean and we enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Attending the Iditarod 2017

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Great location to restaurants, car rentals & airport
We were amazingly surprised with our stay. Stayed in the main building. Room and facility felt very much at home and met all our needs. Easy access to room. Breakfast was nice. Hotel is not modern but met everyone of our needs in every way. Would highly recommend to anyone on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saranac lake ny

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Very nice the staff was very helpfull and friendly.