Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, but you get what you pay for...

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: lobby decor
Cons: security
Location: Far from downtown but not a bad walk from bus stops.
During my stay, I expected low quality as it is a cheap hostel. The lobby area had cool decorations. The community kitchen was useful, but all my food was stolen and nothing was done about it. I stayed in one of the sleeping pods. It was as you would expect a sleeping pod to be. There were some shady characters who hung out in and around the place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Unfriendly staff, bed bugs, inadequate heat trashy

Posted Nov 28, 2016
This place is a disgusting joke. Staff is unprofessional and disrespectful. They can't seem to figure out how to correctly take care of billing and are rude when they are confronted about it. In the end it isn't even worth the argument because it's so painful to try to get them to understand. The two different rooms I was in were both sub par, one of them might be considered acceptable when compared to the spenard motel but the other room might as well be right along side it, mice, droppings all over, woke up to construction at 1am for days after calling and complaining every time, then started at 9am instead for the rest of the stay, but I guess thats what you get when they have guests doing random construction. Bed bugs are vicious and everywhere. Heater didn't even keep room warm enough and I had to bring my own heater to keep warm along with an electric blanket. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this one unless you absolutely have to be here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Stayed in a "pod" - was pretty cool

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I stayed in one of the hotel's "pods" which was tucked on the side of the hotel. The pods were sort of like a hostel and shared a communal living room, which was a little messy when I stayed there, but it didn't matter to me. "Pod people" also share a kitchen and bathroom. It was a little cluttered-looking with everyone storing things in communal rooms, but I feel like that should be expected if you're staying in a hostel. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful. They found me an extra blanket when I asked for one, and were always very friendly. I had some trouble with my booking - seemed like their computer system wasn't happy with me prepaying on Expedia. The staff cleared it up with no hassle on my part, but my room key stopped working after the first night due to the computer error. They replaced my key right away. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience and saved a ton of money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't stay after I got there.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Location: I didn't stay due to the conditions of the hotel.
After lugging my bags up to the room--no help at all--the room was extremely hot, fire alarm kept beeping, no microwave, no refrigerator, towels had stains on them and could only find one plug in--by the bathroom--to plug anything in. The building was run down and not in a very visitor friendly area. I decided to not stay there and went to another hotel. Very disappointed in the whole experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Opinion: Beware of Bed Bugs

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: In my opinion basic repair &maintenance to electric, water fixtures in each room, and address the Bed Bugs and tell people by law there is a problem
Location: There is a nice coffee kiosk around the corner on Arctic Road.
In my opinion: Ok, it started with two police officers working with the people in my original room. Since the shower was making a loud dripping sound, I asked for another room. When I went upstairs, there were rooms being treated for bed bugs through heat machines. They told me my room was not impacted yet. The shower took a long time to get warm, and the handle is backwards. The light switch is upside down. In my opinion: On a positive note, the staff were friendly and more than accommodating. The issues above are really major, in Alaska the hotel, motel must tell you if there is an outbreak of bed bugs. I was not told in advance, I arrived late stayed in the one room, took a cold shower and left. Overall, not a happy visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nightmare

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: None
Don't book this "inn" based on the pictures folks!!! This is a bit better than ... carton boxes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado springs co

My Alaska Trip

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Management
Location: Every thing is about 45 min away but the most beautiful drive
I had not TP in the room and was sitting in the bathroom when found out this. There was no remote for the TV. Under the bed has not been cleaned in a long time. It's a very nice location and cut motel. I thing it need better manager and little upgrades could be a great place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

This is a good hoStel, but not an Inn

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: Staff name tags, managerial training, someone on staff 24 hours a day, a continental breakfast that is actually that, clean rooms.
Location: You are centrally located, but you will have transient people walk by the front and in the back lounge of the hostel. The staff sometimes deals w them
My wife and I are teachers we live in the bush. I've stayed at this hostel (not hotel) twice, only because summer in anchorage is ridiculously overpriced. I chose this place because it was the cheapest place listed under motels/inns. Advertised as an inn, it is a defacto hostel in everything but name. When we got there, the place had the usual hallmarks of every hostel I've been to: the cheap, imitation decor, vaguely European youth working poorly at random chores, and rooms that do not meet even a cheap motel's level of cleanliness. My first trip I paid $130 a night for a small room with basic amenities and a decent flat screen TV. The shower was nice and the highlight of the room. Though, the entire bathroom had a mildew smell that didn't dissipate. Staff-wise, no one wears uniforms, nor are they ever at the front desk. The manager is the owner's girlfriend and she has the customer service skills of a hitman. She barks orders at the staff and argues with guests. She will yell at anyone who (correctly) calls the place a hostel. I was forced to sleep there once more because I didn't want to sleep in my car but didn't want to pay for a full priced room. for $30 I stayed in their "tube" style room. At least in Japanese tubes you have televisions and a comfortable bed. The tube was an uncomfortable, painfully hot coffin with a camping cot. I wish I had stayed in my car. I would recommend this place to anyone who values price (and only price) over comfort and quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OREGON

its a hostel and a nasty one posing as a a hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: tear it down
Location: NO
Horrible stay the room shown on your site is a total fake its from a previous time when this was a nice place. When I went to manager about a change in room or discount I was told my room was the best avaialble it was dirty broken lamps no bulbs seats had cushion vovers but no cushoins all in all disgusting place I expect Expedia do do something about this and I better be getting compensated by expedia. or this statement and all my pictures will be posted to every vacaiton booking site I can find with EXPEDIA TrAVEL posted across the top
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Very dirty and extremely poor maintenance

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness and hotel maintenance really needs improvement.
We booked the hotel (after going through reviews, of course) but it wasn't at all like what we had expected. The room smelt like urine when we walked in. The bathroom floor was flooded (we had to use towels on the floors because they didn't have another room available for us to switch to). There were bugs on the bed and behind the curtains. When we spoke to other residents of the hotel, they had similar complaints, and one gentleman actually took a picture of the insects on his pillows (I imagine he will be writing a review of this place as well). The kitchen was not clean, and the stove had grease and dust stuck to it and the exhaust. I realize that this isn't a 5-star hotel, but I expected more for what I had paid ($80/night), at least a clean, DRY bathroom floor, and clean sheets to sleep on. I would definitely NOT recommend staying at his hotel. There are MUCH better options for $10-20 more.