Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Pleasant small hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable room
Cons: Customer service
Location: Great location in regards to downtown Anchorage or getting out of town easily.
This place is a nice basic hotel conveniently located in the middle of Anchorage. Easy to get to from the airport and not far from pretty much anything in the Anchorage area. Our room was just what we were looking for: clean, a comfortable bed, good shower. The common area and kitchen area were great as well. We sat out on the back patio enjoying a beer at the end of the day talking with some other guests. The one somewhat unpleasant aspect of our stay was the owner. She isn't the greatest with customer service. That being said, this place satisfied all the things we needed especially for the price. Would recommend to anybody.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Review

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Chair in room. screen on window.
Location: Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Easy to get to downtown and near the airport.
No one on the front desk when I arrived. Missing light blubs over sink. Chair in room very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Nice, relatively inexpensive hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: location in mid-town is okay. easy to get to downtown and to the airport.
Location: Located on a main street with shopping and dining nearby. A lot of ethnic restaurants are within an easy walk.
Checked in and was shown to my room. I found the room to be comfortable and quiet despite having a balcony with tables just outside the window. My room had a private bathroom so it cost a little more, but the convenience is worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Such a great idea, with such great potential

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The unique idea, the local/non-chain eclectic concept.
Cons: Sheets, pillows, bathroom could be cleaned, community shower needs a vent, and the pods definitely need some refreshing.
Location: Japanese massage across the street, Asian restaurant, laundromat, quick mart... Also found out from locals that you can hire humans on the street...
We were so excited to pull into this Inn, however it ended up being not as exciting a place as it seemed it could've been. Firstly- I don't recall making a reservation for a hostel, and I think that needs to be advertised better. But it wasn't the hostel-factor that ruined it for us, it was the possibly dirtiest bathroom I've ever come across in a hotel/hostel, the non-matching super cheap sheets that felt like they hadn't been washed, the super low roll of toilet paper with no replenishment, and the incredibly greasy kitchen. Also, we had been talked up quite a bit about a waffle breakfast, however there was none because they ran out of batter. The worst part about it all, was how we were double charged (through Expedia and then at the hotel), and had a really difficult time being understood by the hotel staff why we should be refunded. Now I am waiting for a refund that is supposed to come from Expedia... but somehow I don't think it's going to come.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was surprisingly nice!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Simple but comfortable. A little noisy on street side! I don't think there is air but it was upper 70s and I was fine!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks

Posted Jul 16, 2016
good stay. Quiet. Upstairs room. No one in the lobby when I checked out at 630
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Stranded us at the airport at 2am in the morning

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Cons: Reservation system. They need to honor their reservations.
We were travelling with 2 young kids and arriving late at Anchorage around 1:30am. Though I called them several times (including 3 times on the date of arrival) during the prior week reminding them about late arrival, they had given away my room to someone else. We were stranded at the airport at 2am in the morning because the hotel was full.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Quirky little hostel type hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Liked the room with the antique dresser and bed. Room was spotless.
Cons: remove moldy grout in bathrooms and either retile if necessary or regrout and then maintain.
Location: Good location close to midtown if you are doing business in the area. Can walk to good dining, shopping, library.
Though I enjoyed the room, reminds me of B&Bs in Europe, the bathrooms were another matter. Grout was moldy and there was always a moldy smell. Entering the lobby the first night I was overpowered by the smell of Febreze, which always says to me you're not cleaning, you're covering it up. Disappointing as I had stayed here several years ago and it was spotless and wonderfully quirky, not your big chain type hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, AK

Just what I expected, PLUS

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Funky. Location. Cost.
Cons: some upgrades...an alarm clock (or clock on the wall). a screen in the window..though I had no problem with skeeters during my stay. mark the office
Location: west 36th. Dominos and Asian eatery directly across the street. Walmart and movie theater close by...as well as near the library.
for 1/2 price of the going rate....this place was GREAT. Perfect for me. Bring your own alarm (I did) or I am sure they could give you a wake up call. I got a classic room (right next to the 60$ cubbies) and it was more than I expected. Open room with a double bed (THREE pillows!!) clean sheets, a large table with a funky almost lawn chair, a nice size TV with remote, a lamp with a water stained shade, a dresser with 5 small drawers and 2 open cubbies, a funky green minny couch and a sink with mirror. hardwood floors were clean. The small bathroom had a toilet with no TP holder and a shower. the shower head dripped, so i put a part of the Curtin up to the shower head (held there with a rubber band) and problem was solved. I heard the couple next to me come in and get settled, but heard no TV or dialog thru the wall for the rest of the night. I could hear when they took a shower, until I shut my bathroom door. There is road noise, but that stops as the evening progresses. Minny mall across the street has a Dominos and a Asian eatery and the Walmart (*and movie theatre) are only a short walk away. It is a bit run down....the top slats on the blinds for the one window next to the door were dirty, but the bathroom was clean and so was the shower. Well worth the C note for a nice place to myself to relax and watch some TV, get cleaned up and get a good nights sleep. Cool lamp shade. no so cool old light fixture with open wires...fresh towels with soaps and shampoos
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to re-brand as hostel or co-op

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Outer appearance, overall community-oriented philosophy
Cons: If I had come in under the name of a hostel, the accommodations would have matched my expectations. If they want to be 2 star or above, need change.
Location: Not too far from the acclaimed Moose's Tooth, and some laundromats / shops, but generally does not seem to be the "best part of town."
When we first arrived at Qupqugiaq, I was pleasantly surprised by the unique exterior and relieved to be reaching our destination. Upon checking in, I was slightly disconcerted by the directions provided to park in a place where the security cameras could see our vehicles, but appreciated the honesty nonetheless. We did our best to overcome this initial impression... and then the impression left by the broken glass on the back door, the strange hallway, the stains on the chair in our room, and the surprise that we didn't have a private bathroom associated with our room (I guess I didn't read carefully enough on Expedia). I focused on some of the unique interior design and on some the interesting drawings and sentiments expressed through the entire set up. But the experience just kept leaving us with a strange feeling and eventually led us to leave with a bit of urgency. In the morning, we looked forward to breakfast and ended up searching for a clean spoon, being disappointed by the sparse array of food and cleanliness of the breakfast area and kitchen space... etc. There was no apparent or obvious staff to bring up questions to while we came down for breakfast around 8 am, and the staff was moving about the Inn in somewhat odd ways to warn guests of check out time as it approached 11 am. Overall, it was an OK place to get a few hours of sleep in and a shower... and they are clearly making efforts to revamp the place... but we didn't have the most positive experience (or on