Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alaskan Experience

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Hotel is in midtown. Several restaurants are right across the street. It is not fancy but has character. For the price it was a good choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The NoTell Motel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Cheap
Cons: What couldn't
Supposed to serve breakfast. Nobody was available
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as the photos

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The only good thing is the late check in. The bathroom situation is lame - 2 single use bathrooms for a floor of around 20 rooms. The bathrooms were also quite dirty - not the toilets thank god. But I was much too afraid to take a shower. Our cab driver from the airport said there were bed bugs, so although I didn't get bit. The stigma was enough to make it hard to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by CB, Hotel Management
The 3 shared bathrooms are for 11 rooms. We thank you for the feedback regarding the bathrooms. When possible, we now clean the shared bathrooms hourly. As with all hotels sometimes we have guests that bring bed bugs with them. The second we find out there is a bed bug issue in a room we close it down, spray for bed bugs, then super heat it. We hope this addresses your concerns and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid but didn't stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I arrived at 2.20am, delayed by traffic and weather conditions from Denali to Anchorage. There was no one at the hotel to answer the door or phone. Expedia wasn't able to help either. On the contrary, they offered me to book at a different place for $100 more at my expense. All this at 2.45am in the morning with extreme lack of sleep. Here is what the hotels checkin policy said- Check-in policies Check-in time starts at 4 PM Check-in time ends at 2 AM Your room/unit will be guaranteed for late arrival. Read- "guaranteed for late arrival" I ended up booking another place for $110. Today, the hotel has charged my credit card. Promptly, disputed. Worst experience ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm sorry for your experience in Anchorage but you have misunderstood the nature of the "guarantee for late arrival". This means that, unlike some hotels, we will not resell your room if you do not arrive by a certain time in the evening. We hold your room for you until we close at 2am and only at that point do we charge you as a "no show" if you have not previously cancelled your reservation. We are open until 2am for late arrivals as per our policies, and if you had called us in advance to let us know about your late arrival we would have been happy to have someone on site to check you in even later than that. We are sorry that we were unable to have you to stay and hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as a guest in the future. Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Good for a one night stay, but any longer and you will need to find other hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anchorage alaska

Great place

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Nice quiet the only problem was the rooms are very hot
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, but you get what you pay for...

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: lobby decor
Cons: security
Location: Far from downtown but not a bad walk from bus stops.
During my stay, I expected low quality as it is a cheap hostel. The lobby area had cool decorations. The community kitchen was useful, but all my food was stolen and nothing was done about it. I stayed in one of the sleeping pods. It was as you would expect a sleeping pod to be. There were some shady characters who hung out in and around the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Bad service, no one was at the front desk waited for two hours to check in.. dirty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Unfriendly staff, bed bugs, inadequate heat trashy

Posted Nov 28, 2016
This place is a disgusting joke. Staff is unprofessional and disrespectful. They can't seem to figure out how to correctly take care of billing and are rude when they are confronted about it. In the end it isn't even worth the argument because it's so painful to try to get them to understand. The two different rooms I was in were both sub par, one of them might be considered acceptable when compared to the spenard motel but the other room might as well be right along side it, mice, droppings all over, woke up to construction at 1am for days after calling and complaining every time, then started at 9am instead for the rest of the stay, but I guess thats what you get when they have guests doing random construction. Bed bugs are vicious and everywhere. Heater didn't even keep room warm enough and I had to bring my own heater to keep warm along with an electric blanket. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this one unless you absolutely have to be here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novi, Michigan

Yikes! Dodgy!

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: to assist me. His card did not work and had to jimmy the door open with a credit card. Pros:The residents were very helpful, Mgmt refunded my $.
Cons: Bulldoze the building, start over. Provide toilet paper, bath towels and have 24 hour reception/front desk (keep it open).
Location: it's in Midtown - not a great area. However, the residents of this Inn were very helpful and they did not have to be.
1. Bath towels and toilet paper are not provided. You will be sharing a bathroom with the people that live on the property. 2. TV in room did not work. 3. No phone in room. 4. RECEPTION DESK/FRONT DESK IS CLOSED FROM 2 am to 10 am. 5. There is NO Emergency number to call in the middle of the night. 6. There are no phones anywhere (hallways etc)... 7. Building is locked in the middle of the night. Solo traveler to this Inn. Reserved the "POD" style room. Upon arrival at 1 am, my room was not ready. Was upgraded to a regular room with twin size bed at no extra charge. Was led outside and upstairs to the back of the building to my room. Key worked fine upon arrival. At 4 am I had to use the bathroom, grabbed my room key and went to use the bathroom. It was filthy and no toilet paper. Went back to my room, swiped key....nothing. swiped key again...nothing. I was locked out of my room. I had to be at a tour at 8:30 am in the morning and Front desk is closed until 10 am! It's a noisy place, residents are up and around all hours of the night (this worked in my favor). A female was very helpful, in trying to assist me and a couple of guys even let me use their phone to try to call the front desk (reception) but they do not have an answering machine/service or emergency contact number. The helpful female remembered that a maintenance manager lives ON SITE in the back in a TRAVEL CAMPER. She sent one of the guys down to wake the maintenance man up to assist