Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tallahassee

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Really everything.
Splendid all together ,including a great breakfast that everyone seemed to enjoy.Great staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Decent stay

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Clean n comfortable. Walmart within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sufficient

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Midtown location. Stained carpets. Expected newer amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Jeannette, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are right in the midtown area as you observed - I hope the location suited your needs! We desire to exceed our guests expectations - and I'm sorry we did not meet yours. I apologize your carpet appeared stained, we will work with our housekeeping staff to take care of it immediately. We look forward to exceeding your expectations should your travels bring you back to Anchorage. Warmest Regards, Jeannette/Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Big rooms.
Location: Not real close to much. Had a great burger at Tommy's.
Nice big rooms, outdated furnishings, smoke smelling room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2015 by Tony, Hotel Management
Hello, I'm glad you enjoyed our large suite style rooms! They are large and spacious. Our hotel does have the Marriott standard SpringHill Suites retro look - I apologize the rooms seemed outdated. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel and do monitor that quite closely. I am so sorry that your room smelled like smoke. We will certainly ensure our housekeepers are aware. We hope you will give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations next time you are in Anchorage! Safe Travels, Tony Sauceda General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

great hotel. Amazing breakfast

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: breakfast
Cons: get BBC News on the TV
Location: great
great hotel. Amazing breakfast. great hotel. Amazing breakfast. great hotel. Amazing breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho Falls Id

Nice visit to Anchorage for the first time

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff seemed to be like all Alaskans we encountered ... friendly and caring to make our stay special.
Cons: Nothing except the slower elevator maybe.
Location: Handy for us and just walked to the Moose Tracks restaurant nearby that had been recommended by tour people.
We just stayed an extra couple of nights in Anchorage after a great cruise.The location was good for us between downtown and the airport. The hotel shuttle was willing to run us both directions which was great. Room was just what expected and the AM breakfast was more than continental on the weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
This hotel needs updating. I normally enjoy a retro hotel, but this hotel needs a makeover. Other hotels in the area are much nicer. After spending the first night in Anchorage upon our arrival, I rebooked the additional night at another hotel. This hotel did not meet my expectation for a Marriott Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Jeannette, Hotel Management
Hello, As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. The SpringHill Suites has been updated to Marriott's new standard package - which as you observed - is slightly retro. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations! Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Anchorage. Safe Travels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Never again

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Check in was slow. A man was in lobby women's bathroom changing clothes. One of the employees said that try to keep locals from using bathrooms to bathe and change clothes. Lobby was dirty. But beds were comfortable; bathroom clean. Soiled carpets in room. Close to airport. Would never recommend or go back. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Jeannette, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the beds and the rooms. However, It appears we fell short when it came to your experience in the lobby of the hotel and I'm sorry we disappointed you. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Anchorage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Hotel was nice close to dining and walmart for those last minute things you need before a cruise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Beware the Wi-Fi

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, room
Cons: Base internet service shouldn't be called "high speed" - it's not. And if it's too slow, I should be able to upgrade without waiting for 24 hours.
Hotel was fine; clean rooms, updated, staff was pleasant, etc. It was my first trip to Anchorage, so I wasn't prepared for the high cost of fairly ordinary rooms in summer. I don't blame the hotel for this; it was probably typical of this kind of hotel for the area. What baffled me was the wifi setup. I know that some hotels offer free slower wifi, and charge for faster wifi. But this hotel's log-in menu offered "high speed internet" as the base service, and a deluxe faster version for $5/day. $5 is certainly not a deal breaker, although I'd rather just see it included in the base hotel rate, than to feel nickeled and dimed. Anyway - I thought I'd try the base service to see how it was, and it was dreadfully slow. Like 0.18 Mbps. Definitely wanted the upgrade. Too bad - once you choose the base service, you can't change your mind for 24 hours! So I basically had no internet, and I had work to do. My complaint is not only that you should be able to upgrade any time - but also that they called the base service "high speed" when it is nothing of the kind. I spoke to the manager on duty in the morning, and she didn't seem to understand the problem, telling me the technician needs to be called. But if you read other online reviews for this property, horribly slow internet speed seems to be a consistent issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2015 by jeannette, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our property, rooms and staff. I apologize for the confusion with the internet. I will call our internet service provider and have them change the upgrade ability. We have recently upgraded our speed, to enable our guests to enjoy truly high speed internet. We look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to Anchorage! Safe Travels - Jeannette