Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota / Colombia

Fabulous experiencie, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Facilities, staff, location, food.
Cons: The rooms are a bit small, but the rest is so good that you don't care.
Location: Its in the middle of the old city, just the perfect spot.
This is a place you must stay in if visiting Oaxaca. Everything is good about this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfecto

Posted Jul 12, 2016
La atención del personal excelente. Desde antes de la llegada me atendieron muy bien sobre unas dudas que tenía al teléfono y hermoso hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long beach, CA

Uniquely beautiful ex-convent

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: I found every detail compelling; the artwork, the friar tuck monks who light the candles at dusk, the trio elegantes who play guitar in the morning,
Cons: 100% positive!
Location: The blocks surrounding the hotel are filled with so many interesting stores, museums, galleries and restaurants, everything is within walking distance
This is the area to be in in Oaxaca, next to the Santa Domingo cathedral and plaza. We visited during the period when the teacher strike was occurring and were thinking of canceling our trip. I am so glad we decided to continue. The hotel and the surrounding blocks were welcoming and open for business. At no point did we feel unsafe. There were many festivities taking place in the first week of July, so though the situation with the teachers is unfortunate and sad....there is much to do, appreciate, and enjoy. The hotel is gorgeous, in many ways mirroring the Santa Domingo chapel complex in design. The gardens are lush, the pool area perfect for relaxing, the room comfortable and relaxing with vaulted ceilings, exposed wood beams, marble bathroom, high windows... a beautiful blending of historic and modern elements.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a former convent

Posted Jun 25, 2016
I like the hotel But I found the reception staff not friendly,seeming annoyed by my questions
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Ruido por boda no dormí

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Voy a poner mi queda de expidió en trip advisor . El hotel no me dio factura porque pague por repudia e pifia se lava las manos y no factura. Pero no i forman al principio
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Oakland

3rd stay

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Fantástico
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely historic building- great location

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Right in the heart of Oaxaca- walking distance to all the sights and markets. Cool and dark stone passages with brilliant colored flower gardens are a very romantic combination.
4 out of 5
by Anette from København

Fantastiske værelser

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Super service indtil check out da var der ikke meget hjælp at hente. Meget støj fra andre gæster lige uden for værelset, som lå lige ud til pool område med bar!! Stort rum reserveret til privat arrangement så man måtte guides gennem hotellet udenom. Ultra cool at der var rejsebureau på stedet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Beautiful hotel in the center of Oaxaca

Posted Apr 11, 2016
This hotel is a must stay! Worth every penny, it is in walking distance of so many of the attractions in the center of Oaxaca. Clean rooms, attentive staff, this once convent, then jail now hotel is so worth the experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Calm and elegance in the center of Oaxaca

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: I liked the calm and comfort of the rooms, the general ambiance, the service, the fine restaurant, the courtyard café, the wifi and the location
Cons: The rooms would benefit from having a few more electrical outlets for computers.
Location: All of central Oaxaca is within walking distance
Originally a monastery with high ceilings and massive stone walls, the hotel has multiple courtyards hosting immaculate gardens that keep you cool even in hottest part of the day. The interior rooms are calm and marvelously quiet in spite of the hotel's excellent location in the heart of Oaxaca. The staff is friendly with the obvious commitment to hospitality one used to find in the great European hotels. The bathrooms could be modernized but are perfectly comfortable. On weekends the exterior rooms on the first floor are a little too close to the action in the streets and you should book an interior unless you in the mood to party all night long. For its historical uniqueness, its calm, its fine restaurant specializing in fresh local food, and its warm and charming service, I would have no problem awarding this hotel five real stars.