Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

No frills just good service

Posted Nov 2, 2017
A very nice hotel, well placed in the area, a 15 minute walk / 2 min drive to Andovers centre. Staff were extreme professional and polite at all times, a credit to this chain, and that was refelcted across all departments from reception to the staff in charge of the breakfast buffet, they could not be more welcoming. I would certainly recommend this hotel, spotlessly clean, friendly staff and cord table beds in a fairly spacious room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Character hotel in rural location close to town.

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Wotif
Cons: Food
Friendly conscientious helpful staff. Hotel improvements currently taking place. Restaurant food was average, although breakfast was good. Older hotel with nice character and feels rural but not far from town. Some rooms very spacious others were on the small side. No fridge in room which would be a plus. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
excellent and helpful staff, but a smelly room, very 'budget' facilities and an average breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Raymond

Good clean hotel, but with hard mattress on bed.

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
A good clean well presented hotel with good service. However, the bed mattress was very hard which made sleeping difficult.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a family room, no bedding for extra bed, bedding was brought fairly quickly, breakfast was over cooked and of poor quality. Family room was next to events room and wedding was on so very noisy
4 out of 5
by Gillian

I will stay again

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet room, lovely size, bed comfortable. When I asked for some more milk I had the option of having a small jug-much nicer.
5 out of 5
by SHIRLEY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Robert

Receptionist made a serious error of judgement

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
There was nothing wrong with the hotel as a basic place to stay. However although bed and breakfast was clearly stated on the booking with Hotels.com the hotel said this was a mistake and no breakfast was included. They intimated that this was a frequent mistake made by online booking agents. Not a good start! Things got worse on the second day of our stay when a man tried to walk into our room at 8.45 am. He was very apologetic but said reception had given him a key. When I mentioned this at reception when checking out the receptionist apologised but said she had given the man a key because he wanted to leave something in the room early before he used the room that evening. She warned him not to use the key until the other guests, us, had left. If we had been out having breakfast he could have entered our room and taken our belongings. When I pointed this out to the receptionist I got another apology. But this is seriously bad practice. I wonder if this has happened before.
5 out of 5
by Martin

Polite & helpful

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed for 1 night and found the staff some of the most helpful and polite I have come across, I enjoyed the food in the evening and had a good breakfast in the morning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean comfortable stay.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Quiet location with all facilities we needed.
Cons: Entrance from main road,but understand there is an issue with highways?
We had previously stayed here in May 2016.Since then they have been upgrading the main building and have decorated and re-carpeted the building across the car park.We got a really good deal for 2 nights and were very happy with the comfort and cleanliness.Staff all very pleasant and helpful [Dave ] on reception!We were visiting friends in a nearby village and also ate out in the town which is only a short stroll away.