Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great for family stay

Posted Aug 21, 2016
The only hotel we have been to that provides connecting rooms for families - really excellent for a good night's sleep on comfy beds. Clean, quiet. Last year when we stayed we did get free breakfast for the children and not this year, so that was more expensive than expected. Lovely gifts for children on arrival. Great location. If we travel through Frnce again next year would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by La Réception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Angers Centre Gare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by Dietmar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hopewell Junction NY, USA

Comfort in the walkable part of Angers

Posted Apr 19, 2016
This is a nice hotel. It is clean and comfortable. The staff were polite and professional. The breakfast was good. I do not recommend the attached restaurant. This Mercure hotel is within convenient walking distance from the train station and a vibrant, upscale, shopping area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Great location in city. Not easy with large car to get around but possible. Minutes walk from anywhere you want to go in city. Very pleasant staff. Very good restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas from Kenilworth

Pretty Good, but No Car Park

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two nights (Sat - Mon), on a very good rate for bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable and of a good size, although getting ready for redecoration. The aircon was turned off in October, so the room was hot until we opened the window (ok as we were at the back, but would have been noisy in the rooms at the front of the hotel). The breakfast was also of good quality and plentiful. The hotel is only five minutes walk from the historic centre, and with a tram stop outside the hotel if needed, so it's a good base for tourists. We booked through hotels.com, and my gripe is with them, because their website stated that the hotel had a private car park (the hotel's own website states, correctly, that parking is in a public car park). We have quite an expensive car, so a secure car park was a key consideration when booking, and we were very concerned that we had to leave our car in an underground public car park about 300m from the hotel. Out parking cost EUR 25 two days in this car park, when hotels.com had said it would cost EUR 14 in the Mercure's own car park. The hotel was apologetic, but said the misrepresentation wasn't their fault.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Good location: close to the chateaux, shops, the most beautiful park.
Cons: Get rid of the room I stayed first night. Preposterous for the 4-star hotel to keep that kind of room.
My review is mixed. First I was given a terrible room. Very small. Not even a single star has that kind of room. The first night we stayed in this terrible room. They should get rid of the room totally and I give the staff person who assigned this room the lowest rating. The 2nd and 3rd nights were good. Antonia listened to my complaint, and agreed to what I say, and assigned a nice room for the 2nd and 3rd nights. She simply gets the highest rating. Antonia: 5 The thin woman who assigned the first night's room: 1
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Alex from Livingston, UK

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Helpful friendly staff, convenient location and excellent restaurant attached.
5 out of 5
by John from Dun Laoghaire Ireland

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
A good central based hotel for touring around the area. Also reception were very helpful in showing us how to get to the various shopping centres.