Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Mar 2, 2018 on Hotels
The hotel close is to everything in Angouleme but the hotel could do with some refurbishment. Interesting pink bedding with purple walls and dim hallways. The walls are thin and I had to move rooms due to TV noise from next room. The biggest asset of the hotel is its central location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy French hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2018 on Hotels
City centre hotel that was comfortable and had original decor to make it an interesting stay. Very little outside noise.
4 out of 5
by Donald

Great location, very helpful staff.

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were excellent and very helpful when we arrived as discovered an error in the booking. Room was very comfortable with a nice view of the square. Breakfast was usual French affair.
4 out of 5
by Graham

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
A rather quirky hotel. Bed not comfy but service good. Good stop off on our way north.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great service, charming, BUT...

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Fun and funky, great staff
Cons: A/C and ceiling fans!
Location: Several great restaurants, shops and bakeries nearby
It's not on the hotel listing, but this hotel does NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING!!! If the weather had been average for the time of year it would have been tolerable, but a heat wave over 100F/38C and no A/C made the room unbearable. They did provide a fan but that did little to help. The staff were extremely wonderful to deal with and the hotel itself was charming and in the heart of the old part of the city...we happened to be there during an annual music festival, an unexpected surprise. Breakfast was terrific and there was a great restaurant next door (Chez Paul) as well as a yummy bakery just up the block. Word of advice, DON'T try to drive here! The small streets are difficult to navigate even with GPS and parking anything other than a micro car in the garage will be a chore.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Angouleme Visit

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived early and was accommodated. The desk clerks were welcoming and helpful. They spoke English very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We could not stay at all, as you always block book the Hotel for the Rampart weekend ! You have already booked for 2017 !!!!!! I have seen it with my own eyes! We have stayed several times over the last few years and would love to come again !
4 out of 5
by Ian from Boston

Convenient and good value

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel du Palais is very conveniently located in the heart of Angoulême's old city. The room (and bed) was comfortable, but does not have air conditioning and a light in the bathroom did not work. The breakfast was very nice.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Birmingham

Certainly not a boring chain hotel.

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
What the hotel lacks in modern facilities it aims to make up for in character. It succeeds in all but the rooms (mine anyway). The decor was tired, and an attempt to modernise by painting everything the same colour had only partially succeeded. Despite its faults I had the best nights sleep I have had in a long time, the breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. If it weren't for the parking situation in the town centre, which certainly can't be blamed on the hotel, I would happily stop here much more often. But if you want a quaint hotel right in the centre of town I would recommend the palais
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located nice staff

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: the ambiance, the staff and the location were the things that I liked.
Cons: Ok as is.
Location: Center of town lends itself to many restaurants, stores and shops nearby as well as parking available on the street as well as in the hotel.
A nice building located in the historic district, the Hotel du Palais has a very old French feel, a nice very helpful staff, and a nice breakfast room. There is underground parking and easy access to other squares on the hill where the old city is. It is easy to walk out to whatever you may want and come home to the hotel in a few steps. I recommend it.