Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Staying in a historical fort was a treat. It's also centrally situated to historical sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful pousada

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The view, and peacefullness
Historic pousada (hotel) in a beautiful island. Well worth the visit for 3 or 4 days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael

So close yet so far

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
This is a gorgeous property in an excellent location close to the town center...about a ten minute walk. The room was very nice. There was only one issue which ended up being pretty significant. Our air conditioner did not work for our entire stay. What is just as disappointing is how it was handled. Immediately as we noticed it was not working the hotel staff came to the room and verified it did not work and simply stated they were sorry. No suggestion that another room may be available no suggestion as to how it may be fixed or when it may be fixed just that they were sorry and that I should tell the staff the next day that it doesn't work. The next day I was told that we were the only one who had complained of this and they would try to see if something could be fixed. When my wife and I spoke with all of the other guests at breakfast it turns out that none of them had air conditioning as well. I was disappointed that we had been lied to and that this was clearly a hotel wide is shoe that was not likely to have been rectified anytime soon. This wouldn't be a huge deal except when we slept with the window open the winds were so high that IT band the metallic shutters on the balcony all night long so we achieved extremely little sleep. It really is disappointing because the primary function of a hotel is to be able to go somewhere to sleep and it's a shame that we couldn't achieve this because so many other aspects of the hotel are just excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Happy Choice

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The Pousada was much as expected from other reviews. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location beautiful and convenient. Only complaints were that the bed (queen?) was uncomfortably hard and the coffee at breakfast tasted like instant (which it probably was). Ask for an expresso if you want coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great locaton

Posted Sep 21, 2016
nice hotel in a great area. room in old part a bit dark and smelly. try to ask for new part
5 out of 5
by Kelly from England

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was excellent, all staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. The service in the restaurant was top standard. All staff spoke good English. Superb hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderfull

Posted Jul 20, 2016
loved it, will go back again, next time we will stay longer.
4 out of 5
by John from Boulder, CO USA

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
We really liked this hotel. While the room felt completely modern, it was still cool knowing we were staying in an old castle. We got a seaview room, which was great. The ocean here is beautiful. The service was good. Very friendly. The location was great -- right next to the town, the marina, hikes, etc. The breakfast was so-so. I guess it's a smaller hotel so maybe I shouldn't have expected much but we stayed at some nicer hotels on this trip that had awesome breakfasts so we got a little spoiled. Overall good value though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
This is a unique hotel built within a 1600's era fort on the ocean - what's not to love? The rooms are impressive and very comfortable. Their only drawback is a lack of wifi in the rooms. The wifi in the lobby/restaurant area is fine. The location is great and it's only a short walk to downtown Angra. We would definitely stay again.