Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Anacoana

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
In comparison to others in the area it is a terrific value. The location is good, Parking plentiful. Restaurant was good and quite reasonable. Access to the beach is challenging, in that it is not sign posted. Maintenance is lacking both on the grounds and in the facilities. There are quite a few safety hazards (too many "trippers"). Trippers are surface level changes that can be anywhere from 1/2" to 2" in height....so you have to be very careful. The walkways are not well lit so here again at night you need to proceed carefully. The lights that would normally be lighting the walkways are inoperative and are laying on the ground. The pool was cloudy at times indicating a lack of Chlorine. As John Arbuckle says "You only get what you pay for". Regards, Phil Nace
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

A decent enough hotel but tired and worn.

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Location in West End was great for getting to a lot of nice restaurants and other beaches and sights. Sunsets at West End beaches are beautiful.
Cons: Lots.
Location: Go to the beach at Meads Bay. Visit cool beach bars (Elvis, Johnno's, Roy's, etc.) at Sandy Ground. Scuba dive with Shoal Bay Divers.
First off, the staff were very friendly and helpful as far as they could be, but we didn't get a feeling of their going above and beyond what is expected. And the property is just a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on Anguilla -- at Meads Bay. That said, the actual condition of the property is just very tired and worn. It was probably quite a boutique place once, but now needs a big investment to bring it back. You don't get this from their photos but, once there, you start to see this close-up. Its not one glaring bad thing but lots of small things: broken screen slider in the room, AC too cold with no way to modulate it, low-end uncomfortable bed, light switches that don't appear to serve anything, knobs that come off the closet door, poor lighting in the room (loose bulb fixtures), many areas in need of paint, loose railing on stairs (safety issue), grounds in need of work, holes in the restaurant deck canopy, pool in need of cleaning, and roosters roaming the property and crowing at all hours (especially early morning -- before sunrise). I guess you get what you pay for, but this place wasn't exactly cheap either (actually, everything on AXA is $$$). We ate at the hotel restaurant a few times for breakfast/lunch and it was pretty good. All in all, Anacaona was a decent base of operations for getting out to see and experience the island. If you want higher end (and you'll pay for it) check out Viceroy, Cuisinart and Malliouhana -- all stunning.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel reasonably priced for season

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Great price for location and time of year
Cons: Older facility could use some updating
Business stay only one night but the staff was excellent, management was very engaged.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Beautiful hotel, short walk to Mead's Bay

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Very charming hotel, a quick and lovely 5 minute walk to the beach. If you're looking for luxury, the Viceroy is next door, but if youre looking for a quiet spot with beautiful pools and gardens, Anacoana fits the bill. The staff was very friendly and always around to offer assistance. The standard room was nicely decorated and had a view of the ocean. the spa was a great surprise, highly recommended. For the price point, it is a great deal for those not looking to spend $1000/night in Anguilla.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel close to beach with excellent staff!

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Anacaona is a beautiful boutique hotel with just a short 5 min walk through their lush gardens to the beach. We had a cute room on the top floor with a gorgeous view of the ocean and garden. The staff really made our experience truly enjoyable. They were so accomidating and helped us with any questions/reservations we had. We will definitely be staying here in the future when we visit Anguilla and hope the same amazing staff is there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bom, mas com restrições!

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
Passei 5 noites no Anacaona e achei o hotel mediano. O quarto com varanda para o jardim tem cortinas pequenas, que deixam o seu interior devassado (para dar um "jeitinho" prendi umas nas outras com clips para papeis, que por sorte tinha na bolsa), sem contar que não tem black out, o que faz o quarto ficar totalmente claro com o nascer do sol. No meu quarto o ar condicionado (modelo split) apresentou problema e no meio da madrugada começava a fazer um barulho insuportável, que nos acordava assustados! O hotel não é pé na areia, tem-se que andar uns 100 metros por uma estradinha de terra até chegar na praia. Contudo, é importante destacar que a hotelaria não é o forte de Anguilla, a não ser, é claro, que se queira cacifar hotelões como o Cap Juluca e o Viceroy (valores exorbitantes). Também senti falta de alguma atividade noturna para os hóspedes, uma vez que Anguilla não tem nada para fazer de noite, só restaurantes. Para quem vai passar uma ou duas noites por lá, até indicaria a hospedagem, mais do que isso não mesmo!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing little place

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Nice quaint hotel about a half block from the beach. Nothing crazy but good staff, nice room and cool little outdoor courtyard.
4 out of 5
by Koka

The best beach vacation

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Orbitz
I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was one of the best beach vacations I've ever had. The beach there was breathtakingly beautiful. The ocean was perfectly clear. I could have stayed there forever. It was especially nice because there weren't many people on the beach so you can have a lot of space & water for yourself. As for the hotel itself, I liked the fact that it's rather a simple, casual hotel, perfect for a laid-back vacation. The room amenity was very minimum, but again, that was totally fine with me. I spent most of the day on the beach anyway. One tiny complaint I had was that there was no coffee in the room although there was a coffee machine. The staff said they ran out of coffee. However, there was a large supermarket near the hotel so I bought coffee and etc. there, which was convenient. I also wish there were a table or desk in the room to work on my laptop. All hotel staff members were very nice and pleasant. I would definitely like to stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super location

Posted Aug 11, 2015
A very enjoyable stay. Great location, only s few minutes from the beach. A few small issues prevent me giving full marks. Unfortunately, on arrival the safe and AC were not working. Problems that were rapidly rectified by maintenance so not really a big issue. The WIFI was terribly slow and kept disconnecting. on one occasion we came back to the room to an absence of towels. The housekeeper had gone to lunch so this took some time to resolve. Not much fun as only discovered this after getting out of the shower! All of these problems could easily be avoided so definitely potential for improvement!