Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Nice and Economical Hotel in Great Location

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: I have said what I like about the hotel in the statement above.
Cons: We love coffee, so we brought a single-cup coffee maker and our favorite blend to supplement the coffee provided with the room. Used it only a little.
Location: One of our favorite restaurants in Anguilla is the Straw Hat, which is a short walk down the beach (or a very short drive).
My wife and I have stayed twice at Anacaona. Went went back because we enjoyed it so much the first time. It is a great value for the money; the staff is very nice; the rooms are very comfortable (we love the view from our balcony); it is an easy and pleasant walk to probably the best beach in Anguilla; and it is close to some of the best restaurants on the island. We look forward to going back again and strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

A Trip to the Beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Good value.
Location: Excellent West End location. Three top restaurants nearby - a beach walk away - Blanchard's, Straw Hat, and OceanEcho. Very close to Best Buy grocery.
Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Pleasurable greeting and welcome, delicious breakfast, and a short walk to Mead's Bay Beach. We visited 10 beaches on Anguilla and Mead's Bay is the best - Shoal Bay East a close second. We chose this location to be near Blanchard's restaurant and what a treat this trip has been!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

A good value in an expensive local

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Anguilla is an expensive place and you get what you pay for. The hotel isn't on the beach. The restaurant only serves breakfast. And the property could use a little work. But compared to the price of the other hotels on Meads Bay I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget.
5 out of 5
by rise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Meads bay is a beautiful location.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Meads Bay Area and beach access. Staff were great.
Cons: Rooms could be improved or upgraded to make it more comfortable to stay.
Location: Located right on meads bay with multiple beach options and restaurants.
Although not on the beach the access to it is good and the staff provides beach towels. Hotel needs some maintenance ... Very basic and I am not accustomed to paying such a high rate for a mid level hotel, but it is high season . The staff were superb and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Nice hotel, easy walk to beach. Staff is lovely.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location, view from room, staff.
Cons: Grounds and facilities.
Location: The Four Seasons is right next door, amazing hotel bar with gorgeous sunset view. Lots of great eating establishments within walking distance.
Hotel is a bit rundown, but a good value for the money. Rooms are very roomy and have terrific view of ocean even though they are one row back. Grounds have seen much better days, you can tell this hotel used to have amazing gardens but are now neglected. The staff was lovely and always accommodating. The hotel restaurant, Firefly, has also seen better days but he food was great. Anguilla is a beautiful island with pretty beaches, very laid back. Many half built and 3/4 built buildings (literally hundreds) that have been abandoned, more than the usual for the Caribbean, so it would be interesting to know what happened with the economy. Restaurants on the island are great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Very nice, clean & staff was very friendly

Posted Dec 16, 2016
I loved everything about the hotel but just know there are no activities. No food or snacks after breakfast is served. Two pools and the beach is right behind the property!! If you are planning to walk it at night bring a flashlight as it can be a bit dark and scary to and from the hotel. There is a great shack with food until 6 & community drumming beach side but other than that this hotel is a great value for a safe, clean & friendly stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Anacoana

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
In comparison to others in the area it is a terrific value. The location is good, Parking plentiful. Restaurant was good and quite reasonable. Access to the beach is challenging, in that it is not sign posted. Maintenance is lacking both on the grounds and in the facilities. There are quite a few safety hazards (too many "trippers"). Trippers are surface level changes that can be anywhere from 1/2" to 2" in height....so you have to be very careful. The walkways are not well lit so here again at night you need to proceed carefully. The lights that would normally be lighting the walkways are inoperative and are laying on the ground. The pool was cloudy at times indicating a lack of Chlorine. As John Arbuckle says "You only get what you pay for". Regards, Phil Nace
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

A decent enough hotel but tired and worn.

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Location in West End was great for getting to a lot of nice restaurants and other beaches and sights. Sunsets at West End beaches are beautiful.
Cons: Lots.
Location: Go to the beach at Meads Bay. Visit cool beach bars (Elvis, Johnno's, Roy's, etc.) at Sandy Ground. Scuba dive with Shoal Bay Divers.
First off, the staff were very friendly and helpful as far as they could be, but we didn't get a feeling of their going above and beyond what is expected. And the property is just a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on Anguilla -- at Meads Bay. That said, the actual condition of the property is just very tired and worn. It was probably quite a boutique place once, but now needs a big investment to bring it back. You don't get this from their photos but, once there, you start to see this close-up. Its not one glaring bad thing but lots of small things: broken screen slider in the room, AC too cold with no way to modulate it, low-end uncomfortable bed, light switches that don't appear to serve anything, knobs that come off the closet door, poor lighting in the room (loose bulb fixtures), many areas in need of paint, loose railing on stairs (safety issue), grounds in need of work, holes in the restaurant deck canopy, pool in need of cleaning, and roosters roaming the property and crowing at all hours (especially early morning -- before sunrise). I guess you get what you pay for, but this place wasn't exactly cheap either (actually, everything on AXA is $$$). We ate at the hotel restaurant a few times for breakfast/lunch and it was pretty good. All in all, Anacaona was a decent base of operations for getting out to see and experience the island. If you want higher end (and you'll pay for it) check out Viceroy, Cuisinart and Malliouhana -- all stunning.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels