Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotkand

Breakfast atrocious

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Accommodation clean but very small. Breakfast was very disappointing - no choice!! After staying at other local hotels this was a real let down.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Brilliant staff

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The staff here can not do enough to make sure you are having a good time. Good pub very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Spacious, clean and comfortable enSuite

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Great Breakfast.
Cons: creaking floors in room 2
Location: Near to the water. Good selection of pubs and restaurants. Regular buses into Dundee City.
I found the hotel Staff to be courteous and attentive at the various stages of my stay from administration at check-in and check-out, to carrying my luggage up the stairs to my enSuite, to staff who cooked my breakfast. I was impressed with breakfast of which there is a choice of cooked as well as cold. The room is impressively spacious, clean and all necessary facilities are readily available. The enSuite very comfortable with good carpeting, bed and the pillows. If possible I would avoid the room with creaking floors, which was slightly unsettling. Once I did have to request thorough cleaning of the room and bathroom. Staff were genial and did excellently in attending the room for the rest of my stay. Also, when I returned for another stay they remembered tea which was a favourite of mine and made sure it was available. The hotel is located in Broughty Ferry suburb near the sea, with a good selection of pubs and restaurants, and near bus stop with regular buses into Dundee City. I would recommend this hotel, which is also a pub, to a friend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect pub with rooms

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Friendly staff, warm welcome, good food, great beer and well appointed room. Parking close by can be awkward but the road is quiet - so loading the car is not a problem. The Tay estuary is 100 yards away and the walk along the promenade is delightful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Geeat restaurant and nice bar below.

Posted May 26, 2016
No en suite toilet but room was large enough with two bed that were not very comfortable. Parking on the street.
5 out of 5
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the water

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Good atmosphere and splendid choice of beers
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Plenty of pubs and resturants and close to the river
Great atmosphere in the bar on the two evenings we stayed here. We were unable to get a dinner table as this resturant is very popular you need to book in advance. This was not a problem as there are quite a few resturants in the area. I would suggest that more attention to detail is required in the cleaning department ie vacuum around the edge of the carpets and some tlc in the bathroom would bring the otherwise nice decor up a notch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible old worldly charm

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Excellent stay, clean and comfortable room friendly staff and locals amazing traditional Scottish breakfast included which sets you up nicely to see all the sights beautiful setting by the sea
5 out of 5
by Angela Mary from Derry, Northern Ireland

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
I had a most enjoyable stay. Staff were so friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by Ron from Florida

Christmas visit to family

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hotel, my room was very spacious and had been recently remodeled. Bathroom on the small side but spotless and with a good shower. Food was local and fresh. Bar was filled with locals and had a lively atmosphere.